We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem in the heart of Blowing Rock”
Review of Azalea Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I spent two nights at the Azalea Garden Inn. The first night was spent at the cutest cabin with incredible landscaping surrounding it. Clean, comfortable and well located. This place is a great location to really enjoy all that Blowing Rock has to offer. The second night was spent in one of their inn rooms which was also clean and comfortable. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you try to get the cabin if you want a little extra romance!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busternc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had a delightful day there and would recommend it to others. We are seniors and felt our money was well spent on a spacious and clean room. The KNoll's take great pride in their property and made us fel right at home. The grounds are spectacular as are the paltings. I wish we had know of this on prior visit.
The owner's wer glad to help with dinner ecommendations and were spot on for what we wanted and we wer able to walk to it. Great location easy 5 minutes walk to the center city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailbetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

It's certainly not an inn or a B&B! (There is coffee on the patio in the morning.) I can only echo the previous reviewers. If you are a gardener, you must stop here! And this is surely the cleanest motel in the world. Even the carpet is immaculate. If you want a nice breakfast, walk up and across the street to Knight's, which opens at 7. There is a lovely shaded patio with WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaylilyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We spent two nights at the Azalea Inn in a lovely room (up he stairs). It was beautifully decorated, very clean and had a very comfortable bed. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. There is an outside area - under cover - with lots of seats and tables which enables one to rest and meet other quests which we loved. The gardens are magnificent and so colourful. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here but I believe it is incorrectly categorized as a B&B. It is a small motel. There is no breakfast, although complimentary coffee is available.

This is an average-looking motel where the owners have taken the trouble to add some nice touches. Most of its rooms are in a strip on the first floor with parking right in front of your room. No steps.

Flowers abound in front of the rooms and in a nice garden seating area across the parking lot. Many guests were sitting outside in comfortable chairs and swings. We had a picnic dinner in this area. We saw others eating or just having a glass of wine. The flowers are so abundant that one guest was taking many closeup photographs.

Most of the guests were "seniors" like us. There is no pool so kids might not enjoy it.

Our room, number 14, was the last room on the end. It was large and quiet. Two queen beds were comfortable as were two "easy" chairs with ottomans. The bathroom was clean and adequate.

One thing missing in our room was a good desk work area. My laptop lived up to its name. Or, I stood with the laptop sitting atop a chest of drawers. No wi fi was available but I was able to connect to a nearby hotel's wi fi.

There was a nice common covered porch area where several guests gathered to chat and have coffee in the morning.

Our rate was $104 plus tax which was about right for the area.

There are some special accomodations available such as a two-story log cabin located in the same area as the flower garden. We did not investigate this.

All in all, this was a good value place that was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Senior60+
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Driving the Blue Ridge Parkway, we stopped in Blowing Rock. We decided to stay at the Azalea Garden Inn. What a charming place. We got the last room (by the stair way), and loved our stay. Room was comfy, clean, and cozy. The staff is wonderful, as are the owners. The gardens are to die for. Beautiful and enchanting. If you are a gardener you will love it (even if you are not). They also have a little cabin, perfect for honeymooners. We will definately be back.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank valleylass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This place is truly a gem. The Inn is meticulously maintained. The grounds are beautiful, and the location can't be beat. No need for a car once there since downtown is two blocks away. Superior Small Lodging is a good way to describe this place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#10 of 16 in Blowing Rock
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Garden Inn

Address: 793 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8278
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Azalea Garden Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing