We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary surprise”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This trip was a surprise from my husband. We have not had a getaway in 5 year so we were overdo for a private getaway with no children. We booked a King deluxe room with a sun room and a two person whirlpool. When we arrived on Friday, October 25, 2013, at appx 9 pm we were looking forward to filling the whirlpool with hot water and enjoying a really good soaking after a long drive. When we starting running the water it was cool and then moved quickly to cold water. Calling the front desk, she said that she was sorry but that with others taking showers it causes the water to be used quickly and the temps in the broiler room to go down to in the 80's and recommended me to just continue to try about every 15 minutes to see if the water heats up and if not just to call them back but that there was nothing that could be done. SO not only did we not get to sit in a hot tub we did not get to shower. This occurred both evenings, so if we wanted a hot bath we needed to get it in at 6am or before 5 pm. Other than that we enjoyed our room and stay but very disappointed not to be able to use something that we paid for.

Room Tip: Be sure to find out if their broiler is able to heat up the water to accommodate the hotel and all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sturner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    110
    45
    27
    20
See reviews for
125
110
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We came as a group from Greenville, SC. The trip was about 3.5 hours and just about right when driving LBCs (little British Cars). There are many shops for the ladies to visit and a great variety of places to dine. Hotel staff set up a room connecting to a large patio. We a co host wine and cheese party before going out for a meal.
Only negative factor on this trip (outside the hotel's control) is road construction by NC State Highway Dept.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Meadowbrook at various times of the year. For fall, think their regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoweegui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolideas, Manager at Meadowbrook Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Keeoweegui--We host lots of car clubs at the Meadowbrook Inn! Thanks for the great review! BTW--your cars were sooooo cool!
The road construction on Highway 321 (2 blocks away from our location) is a huge project. (The state is turning this into a 4-lane road that should be safer and even more beautiful than it is now.) It's been amazing to see hillsides moved to bring in two more lanes! The crew has been trying to work with visitors and locals by keeping the road open--though it slows traffic a bit. At the Meadowbrook we've been fortunate that we haven't had the appearance issue of road construction here on our property--we still have our beautiful grounds and streets.
I'm glad you liked downtown Blowing Rock--it's absolutely charming, isn't it? Nearly all of our groups love to park here and walk the 1 block to downtown.
It was a pleasure to work with you and your group, and we hope to see you back again soon! Drive up any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
314 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in a king deluxe room. Great location, easy to walk to the attractions on Main St. Large, spacious bathroom. Bed was OK, but the pillows were small and uncomfortable. Decor is in subtle shades of gold and brass, many visitors commented that it looked dated.. There is a "balcony' with 2 chairs and a table but it is walled in. The view is over more parking and another resort. The resort and dining areas are lovely. The morning breakfast was very bland - canned fruit cocktail, cottage cheese, baked eggs (dry and tough). The biscuits and sausage were the hits of those attending. The staff ran out of mini muffins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeofGratitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolideas, General Manager at Meadowbrook Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I'm so glad you like our location! As you said, it IS very easy to walk to Main Street. In Blowing Rock, parking is often at a premium, and staying at the Meadowbrook can alleviate the frustration of trying to find a parking spot. Because we're located right on Main Street, our property looks out over our own grounds and up to the beautiful hills outside Blowing Rock. That seems to be a part of the give and take of location--walk one block to downtown, but some rooms overlook the property next door.
The balcony you mentioned is actually a Sun Room and is not marketed as a balcony. It's just big enough for two, and it looks out over the hills (It's a 2nd floor room.), though it does also overlook our next door neighbor. The Sun Room is a great place to have a cup of coffee or a glass of wine while looking at our beautiful fall colors! In the winter, it's wonderful to open the French doors in the room, sit in the Sun Room, and enjoy the warmth of the sun and the fireplace while the snow does what it wishes.
The color palette of our Deluxe King rooms is earth-tones--brown, rust, black, cream, and gold. The mountains were our inspiration for these choices. We try hard to maintain our traditional style of furnishings in a time when chain hotels are using all white bedding and going to contemporary interiors. We want to maintain a boutique look at our independently-owned property.
I will share your comments with my management staff. We make our decisions, in good part, from ideas our guests have shared with us.
Thank you, too, for posting photos of the room you stayed in! We appreciate your review of our property. Please come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Blowing Rock is our favorite NC mountain town and we've been there many times. This was our first stay at Meadowbrook Inn. It's well located, a very pleasant walk of about two blocks from the heart of town. The huge grounds provide a private, quiet retreat. The room was spacious and pleasant. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Their breakfast was adequate, but the room left something to be desired -- in the basement with no windows. They have very pleasant dining space nearby and I'm not clear why they don't use it for breakfast. However, there are very good breakfast options in town. We spent three nights at Meadowbrook and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basecampd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolideas, Manager at Meadowbrook Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay both at the Meadowbrook Inn and in our beautiful town of Blowing Rock. It is soooo gorgeous here right now! The weather has been perfect with the turning colors of the fall leaves and our Carolina blue skies! The Blue Ridge Parkway (just 5 mins. away) is going to be spectacular!
You asked about the location of our breakfast room--our building is earth sheltered. That is, it is built into the side of a gently sloping hill over the 3.5 acres of our property. When a guest enters the building on the 1st floor, it will seem that they are on the main level. When they enter on the ground floor, it will also seem like they've just entered the main floor. We like to keep breakfast in the same room from day to day so guests can easily find it and feel at home. Our other event spaces, which do have beautiful views, are regularly used and set up for weddings, meetings, charity fundraisers, and religious retreats.
Thank you again for staying with us! I'm going to share your comments with my management team; they really listen to our guests' suggestions, and they truly appreciate compliments about our property and our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed there for one night in August 2013. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room so spacious, clean and nicely decorated for an affordable price. The front desk staff went out of their way to be courteous and helpful. In the morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast. I would definitely recommend this motel for its convenience, cleanliness and courteous and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Meadowbrook for a long weekend getaway. Room was very nice and spacious. Enjoyed the enclosed sunroom/balcony. This was a great location and an easy walk to downtown for shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was good but nothing fancy. We had no problems with our AC. Hotel and location were very quiet and we were able to relax. Enjoyed feeding the ducks in the morning.This was our our first visit to the area and we intend to go back in the future and will stay at Meadowbrook.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here twice for Respiratory Care Conferences and both stays were enjoyable. Pleasant check -in with very friendly management. Buffet meals were tasty and meeting facilities were adequate, if a bit cramped. Great and really pristine pool. Great restaurants are all within walking or a short driving distance. Rooms can be noisy as in most hotels depending on the number and type of guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidek1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Inn & Suites

Property: Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Address: 711 Main St, P.O. Box 2005, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8278
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowbrook Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowbrook Inn is located within walking distance of the heart of downtown Blowing Rock, NC, which is the "Southeast's prettiest town", according to Southern Living magazine. Enjoy the short walk to downtown restaurants, shops, boutiques, festivals, and parades.Blowing Rock's 3,600 feet elevation means great summer weather and plenty of wintertime activities. The town is a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Moses Cone Manor, Grandfather Mountain, Appalachian Ski Mountain, Appalachian State University, and to the neighboring town of Boone.Our facilities and the surrounding area make the Meadowbrook Inn the perfect location for family weekends, social gatherings, events, weddings, conferences, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowbrook Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Hotel Blowing Rock
Meadowbrook Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing