We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of Meadowbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meadowbrook Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel in 2007 and it was wonderful. Everything was over the top. Great beds and quiet room. This stay our room was in the hotel they own behind the main hotel and it was definitely not the same experience. The service we received was good at check in. The bed in the room was also good. The entry hall and elevators had a terrible odor in them and it was on all the floors. Our room was very noisy, you could hear all the doors close and also noise from downstairs, plus the air conditioning was noisy and ran constantly. I would recommend if you make reservations with this Inn that you request the main hotel and not the poor kept building in the back, which we paid the same amount as we would have in the nicer building. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowbrook I, General Manager at Meadowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our Front Desk staff and our beds! Many of our guests prefer the Main Building for its age and charm - some people ask, if possible, for the same room number on each of their visits! Others of our guests prefer the Annex Building, which is newer and more contemporary; I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your stay there! I'm going to investigate your concerns with my Maintenance and Housekeeping managers. The Annex rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs and required metal fire doors. We have recently replaced the carpets in the hallways. The rooms on the second floor of this building are undergoing a beautiful renovation. Our air conditioning system is controlled by guests, and the air conditioning fan in each room can be set to "Constant On", "Auto On", or "Off" with a switch on the thermostat. We staff the hotel 24/7, and our staff is there to help our guests with any issues, from air conditioners to noise from other guests. Please don't hesitate to ask for assistance; we'll be happy to take care of you. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice location, but hotel is in disrepair. Several issues with room. Bed too soft. Room Too loud. Hotel in this location should be much nicer. More like a super 8 off the Interstate, than a mountain resort property. No refrigerator. Room too dark.

Room Tip: Don't get in the annex at bottom of hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChasJhsn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowbrook I, General Manager at Meadowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

I'm glad you like our location in Blowing Rock - a 1-block stroll to downtown & being next door to two great restaurants is a luxury! We appreciate your response, and we apologize for anything that's made you dissatisfied. If you've stayed here before, you'll notice that, just this year, we've painted the exterior of both our buildings, resurfaced the parking lot, renovated our Ballroom and Lounge, and are upgrading rooms in the Annex building. We've renovated our air conditioning system to reduce noise and increase efficiency and upgraded our WIFI. Our mattresses are manufactured to our specifications in SC, but we have bed boards guests can request; these create a very firm feel to a mattress. If you choose to stay here again, please let us know if you'd like this or a refrigerator. 1/3 of our rooms come with refrigerators, and we can bring a refrigerator and/or microwave to any room on request. We do understand your concern with lighting, and that's something we're working on. With the new mandates for 10% immediate electricity reduction, we've had to install compact fluorescent bulbs, which produce fewer lumens. We're using the second "better" generation of these bulbs now, and we're still not satisfied with the results. Please know that our staff is here to help make you comfortable during your stay - we love to take care of people! Thank you for your comments; they'll be shared among our management team. I hope you enjoy your future visit to Blowing Rock, and if there's anything we at Meadowbrook Inn can do to help you, please don't hesitate to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Meadowbrook; first time was our wedding in April of 2010 ~ which we would highly recommend! People still talk about the the food, the staff and the accommodations!!! The hotel was beautiful then and was in the same pristine condition this last visit. You can tell when a place makes an effort to maintain the rooms, lobby and grounds to the same high standards. We were not surprised that our visit was once again a delight! The only suggestion would be to discourage people from using the stairwell, as our room was right beside it and the noise from the traffic was noticeable. Otherwise, a wonderful place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from stairwell, would recommend the first or fourth floors ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazyred43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowbrook I, General Manager at Meadowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for coming back to stay with us at the Meadowbrook. We're glad that you've had a good time both times you've been up to visit. It's nice to know that our repeat customers notice the improvements--we'll pass your compliments on to our Housekeeping, Maintenance, and Landscaping staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Congratulations on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here with my three teenage children. While the room was comfortable, and the hotel space was very well kept and the gardens were beautiful, I will agree that the AC was extremely loud. It kept all of us up. The breakfast was ok but since it was free, that made it even better. My kids enjoyed the pool but the hot tub was broken and unsightly. The walk to town was easy and quick. I would definitely stay here again but agree, bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezwriterNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Walk to town from here and visit all the quaint little shops. A must if you stay here! The room was clean and comfortable. The toiletries offered were upscale from your average offerings. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were flat. The A/C was loud, so I had to sleep with a pillow on top of my head. I got earplugs for the second night. The building is concrete, so you don't get hardly any noise from your neighbors. The pool was nice and clean. The fitness room is conveniently located overlooking the pool, and is well equipped. Breakfast was better than your average continental offering. Biscuits and gravy, eggs, spinach / egg casserole, sausage, toast, oatmeal, juice, milk, fruit, cottage cheese, coffee, bagels and cereal. Would I stay here again? Yes. But I know to bring ear plugs.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Drove up to Blowing Rock on a whim to escape sweltering temps in Charlotte. We did not have a reservation anywhere. The new Holiday Inn was full, and they directed us to the Meadowbrook Inn. Our first impression of the hotel made us hesitant to stay here - we are used to more up-to-date facilities and name brand chains. After considering our options, we decided to give the place a try, since we were only staying one night, and the price for the room was under $100, including breakfast.
Our rooms were in the main building, facing the annex building. The decor is decidedly outdated, with dark green carpeting, brass lamps and dark, heavy comforters. There was a large flat screen TV. Bathroom was basic, with sink in an alcove outside of toilet/shower area. That being said, it was spotlessly clean, and the beds were comfortable. As other reviewers have stated, the walls are paper thin, and you will hear your neighbors talking next door. There were no weddings going on so we were not disturbed by late night party-goers. Except for the ducks quacking, all was quiet.
What we liked: The indoor pool/spa - large, clean - the kids loved it. Proximity to town - we easily walked to restaurants, ice cream, shops, the park. Location - close to Grandfather mountain, Moses Cone Park, Bass Lake. Linville Caverns and Linville Falls is a bit of a drive, but worth it. Boone is 8 miles down the road. Tweetsie and other attractions about 5 mins. away. Breakfast - nothing special here, but something to get your day started, and great for the kids. Friendly staff - helpful with directions, polite, accommodating. The grounds - beautiful flowers, cute pond with ducks and gazebo. The kids loved feeding the ducks.
What can be improved: The decor is in need of an update. Even changing the comforters to something lighter would make a big difference. Fluffier pillows would be nice. Ours seemed flat. Not sure anything can be done about the sound issue. Higher wattage light bulbs would brighten the rooms a bit.
Bottom line: if you are looking for luxury accommodations and plan to spend lots of time in your room, this place may disappoint. If you are coming to town to enjoy the attractions and the great outdoors and need a clean comfortable place to rest, this might be a good choice. Kids will like the indoor pool (not too many places nearby have indoor pools) and the ducks. We were happy with our choice to stay here, and for the price, we would do it again.

Room Tip: There are lots of different types of rooms (even some with private pools) and they vary greatly in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caymanfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night. We live in Charlotte and had a guest in town and wanted to go to the mountains for a night. The hotel is very convenient to walking downtown - just a short walk.

The Inn/Resort was clean but did seem old. We had a two bedrooms - room was clean and our basic needs were met. If the room was updated would of gave a four star. Our room was in the annex building and was very quiet (great for having a baby and concerned with lots of noises). However we really only slept in our room - we were out most of the night and the next morning. The two bedroom is very spacious - king in one room (was able to use a toddler blow up mattresses next to the bed and still plenty of room) and two beds in the other room. However there is only one bathroom. There is a wetbar and also small fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Inn

Address: 711 Main St, P.O. Box 2005, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8278
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $92 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowbrook Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowbrook Inn is located within walking distance of the heart of downtown Blowing Rock, NC, which is the "Southeast's prettiest town", according to Southern Living magazine. Enjoy the short walk to downtown restaurants, shops, boutiques, festivals, and parades.Blowing Rock's 3,600 feet elevation means great summer weather and plenty of wintertime activities. The town is a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Moses Cone Manor, Grandfather Mountain, Appalachian Ski Mountain, Appalachian State University, and to the neighboring town of Boone.Our facilities and the surrounding area make the Meadowbrook Inn the perfect location for family weekends, social gatherings, events, weddings, conferences, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Meadowbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Hotel Blowing Rock
Meadowbrook Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing