We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days in the Jacuzzi Suite just before Thanksgiving. The staff was very welcoming and the hotel was comfortable and quaint. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! However, it took a long time to be served even though there were very few guests. The jacuzzi tub was huge and there was no shortage of hot water. We loved all the little quirks of this historic property: the jolt of the elevator, the slanting floors, and the exposed pipes. The jacuzzi suite is huge and located at the front of the property. There are no rooms above or below, but it is near the main road so there is quite a bit of highway noise. We enjoyed driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and visiting Grandfather Mountain the first day there. The second day it rained, so we visited the original Mast General Store and saw a movie. It began snowing later that night, and the next day the weather continued to deteriorate. It was so beautiful, but we were ready to get on the road home before we got stranded. This was our first stay at The Green Park Inn. We would not hesitate to stay here again, hopefully when weather conditions are more conducive to outdoor activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the Victorian Suite and the breakfast. Some of our breakfast selections do take a bit longer to prepare than others, and we do apologize about any wait you experienced in receiving your meal. It sounds like you got to experience all of the seasons in one short stay! We are happy that you were able to see some of the local attractions before the weather turned. We'd be happy to recommend more places to see during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    142
    52
    23
    10
See reviews for
91
228
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you enjoy historical hotels that have been restored to modern-day comfort, then you'll like The Green Park Inn in Blowing Rock, NC. Our room was very comfortable, though not large by today's hotel standards, but it was beautifully appointed and the bed was amazing! We will definitely stay here again. One of the highlights was "Polly," a gorgeous British Cream Golden Retriever, who greeted us at the front desk. Breakfast, which was included, was excellent and served in the large dining room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Thanksgiving holiday. We are glad you enjoyed your room and found your bed to be comfortable. Polly will be just as excited as we are to see you again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

A quick getaway led us to this hotel because we do enjoy historic sites and the Green Park Inn seemed to fit the bill. I credit the owners for the vision they have to preserve this place. It is lovely in many ways and has great potential so my review is mixed... I'm generally not picky but I think there are standards to be met, and many were not in my experience. Here are some observations which I must also say will not keep me from going back: Hard as a rock mattress; really average food in the Divide Tavern; nice staff; not enough staff; hot water in the shower was great; tiny bathroom; tattered curtains in our room; hotel hallways listed to one side; breakfast was average; worst hash browns on the planet; dining room floor shook and so did our coffee cups (like being on a train); really beautiful word work and panelling; great pianist in the lobby; has nice potential; tall celings and big windows; salt and pepper shakers seemed to be an elusive item as well as teaspoons; nice coffee maker in room; lovely robe in closet; cute dog behind the check-in desk; really nice staff! I would stay there again if I could get a better mattress. For the price...it was fine for one night and Blowing Rock is charming particularly if you like quaint shops!

Room Tip: I'm sure the golf course view is better than the parking lot view but frankly, no room has a mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lasheha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing us at the hotel for your quick getaway. We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations in some ways. We chose our Serta mattresses to be in the firm category, because industry research shows that is the general preference for hotel guests, and we do receive many comments about how comfortable out mattresses are, but we are sorry that you didn't find them to be so. Our hotel Tavern has typical bar fare including burgers, sandwiches, pizza, etc. We reserve our more unique dishes for the Chestnut Grille restaurant. We have received a lot of feedback about our breakfast potatoes. They are actually home fries, and are quite a different taste from hash browns. However, we are considering switching to hash browns, since that does seem to be what our guests prefer. Our hotel is 123 years old and almost entirely constructed of American Chestnut. We consider the uneven floors and hallways to be part of the historic charm of the building, but understand that is not for everyone. Mountain views from hotels in Blowing Rock are not common, and there is actually only one lodging property in the town that does offer a real mountain view. Fortunately, we are located less than 5 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, where mountain views can be enjoyed from the overlooks and parks all day while you are visiting.

We are glad that you did enjoy your amenities, including the Keurig coffee maker and our plush robes. Thank you for complimenting the staff and our favorite 4-legged greeter, Polly. We appreciate your feedback and would love the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, a lot of history and a throw back to past resort accommodations. We stayed on the first floor w/balcony, rooms were large, could have used more furniture, a lot of empty space so surprised a refrigerator/desk wasn't in the room and would have been a nice touch, Bathrooms had some updating but could use more. Shower water was tricky to adjust but hot water never a problem. The food and staff make the hotel. Breakfast is included and excellent options. Bar was well done, but pricey and tables were more for dining then enjoying conversation/watching games. The fireplace is fake and that is a BIG missed opportunity for atmosphere. Had a nice outdoor area w/heat lamp but it wasnt set up and difficult to get to. A hot tub area would also be a bonus for this inn. The property appears to be a work in progress with renovation and updating, but has a lot of potential and I would definitely go back. The owners seem to be really trying to do the right thing. Great location as well for activities/restaurants. Recommend visiting downtown Blowing Rock for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: We have preferred 2nd or 3rd floor rooms for the view. Also 318 is suppose to have a haunted histor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I appreciate the feedback and suggestions. We do highly regard the opinions of our guests, and do take their suggestions into consideration. As you pointed out, we are continuing to update, and some of the updates are more long-term projects than others, depending on the needs of the hotel. We are planning to add more furniture to some of the larger rooms, as well as continuing to update the bathrooms. The Tavern is somewhat sectioned off into the bar area, the dining area, and a back room with couches and chairs for conversation. Thank you for your compliments on the food, and I'm happy the staff made your stay memorable. We'd love to have you back and we continue to update and improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights around Thanksgiving in Room218. This was a Victorian suite in the main building with electric heat and a large soaking tub. The room was nice size and well appointed. This is an historic inn so don't expect complete quiet in the adjoining rooms and hallways, but the atmosphere was neat. Our room overlooked the road, but noise was not a problem. Staff was incredibly competent and friendly. Food and service in the restaurant was very good. They had a pianist in the evening in one of the public rooms. The inn was a nice change of pace from a standard hotel, but be aware it is a bit quircky and may not be everyone's cup of tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you had a good holiday while you were here. We do try to create a warm, comforting atmosphere for our guests that is different from a standard hotel. We love having people in the lobby enjoying the piano playing and socializing with other guests. It gives the hotel that homey feel that we strive for. I'm happy you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We'd love to have you back the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Green Park Inn. The front desk staff was helpful, friendly, and kind. The massages we booked were good. We cannot really recommend the restaurants, though the bartender in the "Tavern" does at least mix a nice drink. The room was nice enough, but there was nowhere to set anything in the bathroom. The heat in the room was intense & we could not figure any way to cool it off, not even by opening a window! The old elevator is quirky & a bit frustrating--we ultimately decided taking the stairs was generally the better option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJ00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your visit! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. There are definitely some quirky things about the hotel, including the elevator that won't move if the button is pressed too soon after stopping. I am sorry to hear you had so much trouble with it. Our staff is usually pretty aware when people are having trouble with the elevator and try to jump in and help. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you! As for the heating in your room, I apologize that it was too warm. Our hotel actually has several different types of heating, and it all depends on which room you are in. A majority of our rooms have units for guests to control their own room's temperature, but it sounds like you had one of the ones that don't have a unit. There are ways to control the heat output in those rooms, and we would have gladly sent someone up to help you adjust it if you had trouble. Thank you for commending our bartender on mixing nice drinks, and for complimenting our front desk staff. As always, we try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, smaller room than we anticipated, but when we made the reservation we were told that they were pretty booked. This was our trip for September 21st weekend as we were celebrating Bills birthday. If one has stayed in a historical hotel like
Raffles in Singapore you would know what to expect from Historical places. This hotel is much above Raffles, but we enjoyed all the renos and mixes of old and new. Customer Service was excellent. Room was clean and appropriate as a hotel room. Dinner was superb and we frequent the restaurant even now, though we may not stay at the hotel as we have a condo in Sugar Mountain to stay. It is a pity that some people are comparing new with old. This is a historical place so we should leave it at that. Breakfast was complimentary and was really good and ASU students are doing a great job filling in though they may not be
pursuing in hospitality industry. Overall we have only good things to say.

Room Tip: Did not know that this was on the haunted list....but we did not experience anything. our room was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49022Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your husband's birthday. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our restoration efforts and the mix of the old with the new. We strive to make improvements that both keep with the historic nature of the building, and maximize guest comfort. Thank you for complimenting the service and restaurant. We'll see you the next time you stop by for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Property: The Green Park Inn
Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing