We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an old building”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, and were disappointed that the management is unable to solve their staff problems. Breakfast hours seem to run for the convience of the staff, instead of the customers.We were given a refund because of the poor service, but I would rather have had a good breakfast. This was off season and I can't imagine what it will be like if things get busy.

We have stayed in several historic properties over the years and are willing to overlook peeling paint, creaking floors, etc., since most properties make up for this by offering good service and ambiance. Without this, the property just becomes another old building, with cheap rooms.
Positives: Cleanliness was okay, A/C and plumbing worked fine, and maid service was good.A property begging for better management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandCCharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

This review is simply patently unfair. I invite those of you reading this review to read on, on to the many, many, many compliments that we receive on our breakfast. Yes, this guest stayed 3 nights and, unfortunately, during ONLY ONE breakfast did our morning cook have a problem arriving on schedule (the first time that this has happened in our 2 1/2 years of operation). To suggest that this was or is a constant issue is just inaccurate, and clearly intended to mislead readers.

Finally, I am the General Manager of the Green Park and not only did I authorize a credit to each and every guest on that day (regardless of whether their breakfast was delayed) but, the following morning (on which morning this guest was still staying with us) I personally came in for the breakfast service to ensure that there would be no difficulties. Had this guest had any lingering issues due to the unfortunate circumstance of the prior morning then he had every opportunity to have spoken to me that morning, as I was clearly a manager. In addition, each guest that had checked out that morning was personally contacted by myself, and all of our stay over guests, of which this gentleman was one, received a personal note from our front desk manager, again, apologizing, and informing them that we had processed a courtesy credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 472 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay. The inn was clean and charming.
Our room was quite roomy and the bed comfortable.
Full Breakfast in the dining room was included. The meal was very good and served at our table.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for reviewing and we're happy that you enjoyed yourselves. We also appreciate that you commented on the comfortable bed, since our bedding is all of exceptionally high quality. Lot's of folks don't even realize that. They just know that they had a comfortable night's sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were driving through Blowing Rock, NC and needed a spot for the night. We saw the vacancy sign and stopped in. Great price, tavern with food and restaurant for breakfast. Clean room and large bathroom. While sitting at the bar we met the owner....he was such a gentleman and very proud of this part of the world and the restoration of this inn. The bartenders were great and easy to talk with!

Room Tip: This is the kind of a place you'd want to stay on a road trip! Greeted with friendliness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We love that you found us while driving by, and that you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next road trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We read an article about this Inn in our local newspaper back in the fall. We decided to try it out. IT was a lovely Inn that has been renovated. The rooms were much larger then a standard hotel room. The staff was wonderful. We had dinner at the Tavern that night. The restaurant was closed for renovations. They were very accommodating. I had read reviews about the Chocolate steak and was really wanting to try it. That was not an offering but Marcos the bartender asked the Chef if he could prepare it. He did. I must admit it was not to my liking, but I am sure it was just a me thing. There have been too many rave reviews about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you can appreciate the restoration work that we've undertaken. At over 120 years old this is not an easy old dame to maintain! We're sorry that you the chocolate steak wasn't to your liking, but think it was great of you to try it! We do hope to see you again, soon! Thanks very much for reviewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The recently renovated Green Park Inn was very nice. We spent one night there on a local getaway and were very pleased. It is an old historic Inn and we found our room excellent. Bathroom small but fine....considering the Inn is old, you just deral with that. Staff excellent. Breakfast was excellent. We go to Blowing Rock frequently and the location is also very good to things to do in area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C and L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and love that this was a local getaway. Blowing Rock is a great location for those quick getaways because we're so close to so many major town centers. Thanks for reviewing, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Green Park Inn is conveniently located on a winding mountainside road in Blowing Rock, North Carolina. If you're traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway, you'll find this beautiful inn just minutes from the exit to Blowing Rock. The hotel has undergone a few waves of renovations, mostly to give you a flavor of its original glory.

We were given a very spacious room on a corner that had a hot tub right in the main room. The furniture was classic cherry, king mattress comfortable and sheets crisp. The bathroom featured a ball and claw tub with a shower curtain surrounding it. It's sometimes a bit awkward to take a shower in one of these, but it was perfect for bath time.

The bar downstairs was quiet and relaxing. We took our drinks across the hallway to a sitting room, where we chatted and read in a cozy living room setting. The owner stopped in, answered questions we had about the history of the hotel and was just delightful. We regret it was a bit too chilly to sit on the front porch in the rocking chairs, but there's always next time.

While we love the hotel, there are things to know going in. It's a historic and old hotel, so the floors are not all entirely level and the points where sections of the building were added on in later years are a bit awkward. We did get briefly trapped in the original elevator, but managed to get it going again after pressing a few buttons. But these things are, in my mind, to be expected in an old property. I wouldn't have it any other way.

Room Tip: The second floor corner suite we had featured a jacuzzi. It faces the main roadway and parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanExplorerTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your letting us know you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you stayed in our Victorian Suite-currently the only one in the hotel with the jacuzzi tub. We do try to let everyone know before they book, that there is only a hand held shower in that room because of the classic tub. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our lobby and enjoy a drink, while speaking with the owner about the hotel's history. You pointed out some important information that we try to stress about the hotel-it is historic, and there are things, like uneven floors, that go along with it. You said you wouldn't have it any other way, and neither would we! We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Where to begin? This Inn was outstanding, on our recent trip to Blowing Rock, NC we decided to wait til we got there to find a hotel we had never been there before and wanted to see Blowing Rock itself so we found where to turn to go to Blowing Rock itself and this Inn was sitting right there beckoning us on in so we chose to stay. Love old historic places and this was not a disappointment at all. The front desk was super nice, Golden Retriever Polly was a highlight of the experience at check in and and check out! The room was so warm and comfortable, had a drink in the bar on our first night it was the house specialty quite refreshing and helped us relax.
We missed breakfast as they had already closed the kitchen, they offered to get us a cup of coffee and we most assuredly enjoyed it, it was snowing out so we did not get to go on up to see Blowing Rock but we asked them to keep the light on and we will return and stay here again. Thank you all for a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We chose the King superior overlooking the golf course, we had a porch to sit on and look over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry you missed breakfast, but I am happy that we did what we could, and offered you some coffee. On your next trip, I am sure you'll get a chance to see the Blowing Rock and all of the other nearby attractions. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $119 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing