We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historical hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel has definetely a historical feeling when you walk through its corridor. The service is good but nothing outstanding. It is very close to the city which is what we were looking for. We only spent two nights there and mainly to sleep, so can not comment on other services. The price per night wasn't cheap but that was a very busy weekend for the region and we were luck to find a last minute vacancy in Green Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    144
    52
    23
    10
See reviews for
95
233
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Green Park Inn wanting to see the Fall colors. Other reviewers are correct in that it is right on the main highway, which is currently being widened. The hotel is very charming from the approach to it and the lobby sets the stage for a trip back in time.

The hotel was built in 1882 and had such visitors as Annie Oakley, Jimmy Stewart, Herbert Hoover and more.

We had a room on the first floor overlooking the rear yard. The room itself was good sized and had a nice hardwood floor with an area rug and a flat screen tv.
The bathroom was very dated though with fixtures likely left from a 1977 renovation at the hotel. The lighting was poor with only a single fixture vanity light to illuminate the room.

However if you want to experience a bit of history, it's a minor inconvenience. The staff was very friendly and the complementary full breakfasts were wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We attended a wedding here and loved the ball room and grounds. The antique bird cages hanging from the ceiling and the drinks and service was excellent. Over 100 guests all loved the place was in great shape. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This inn is over 110 years old and has a certain charm for those who enjoy staying in historic, Victorian type hotels. Although the inn was renovated a few years ago, you cannot help but notice the sprinkler pipes hanging down from the hallway ceilings and in the older rooms. Old creaky wood floors, no heat in the cold corridors and the fact that the hotel has seen much better times in the past could discourage some tourists. However, the best feature of the hotel was its friendly and accommodating staff. For example, the first room that we were given overlooked the ugly rooftop of one of the hotel buildings but the front desk went out of its way to find us another room that not only overlooked a golf course but also that was larger and more modern.

We dined at the hotel on the night that we arrived. The food was good but not great, but again, the service was good. Unfortunately, the same could not be said of breakfast the next morning. Breakfast service was terribly confused and lacking. We had to ask several times for proper place settings including basics like forks and spoons - as did guests at two neighboring tables. My order for fried eggs "over easy" was met by eggs hard cooked.

Finding a good, reasonably priced room in Blowing Rock at fall color season is difficult to do. For a AAA rate of $143.10, including breakfast, I am not sorry that we stayed at the Green Park Inn. However, it will not be ranked among my favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend that when making a reservation you specify that you want one of the more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouTag32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 for ASU's Parent Weekend as all rooms in Boone were booked. It turned out to be a pleasant alternative and only 8 miles from Boone, Blowing Rock is a great little town with lots of shops and restaurants but you have to drive to get there from the inn. The inn is in the process of renovating their rooms thus we were the only ones on the third floor. The elevator took forever to get us to the third floor and when the doors opened -- it was totally dark (spooky)! Although that problem was remedied, the elevator remained "quirky" and ultimately a pain! The bar was great. All the personnel was helpful and prompt. the room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was average, but made the cost of the room reasonable. Overall I would definitely consider staying again, but on a lower floor and away from the road which is noisy. Keep in mind there are no mountain views from this hotel!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pick a room on the third floor due to the elevator which is randomly uncooperative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponygirl359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Old stylish hotel but with no patina. Our room was large overlooking the golf course. Bathroom was good. Room was clean. Service was very good and price was reasonable. Restaurant was excellant. Given the fact that staying at a place in the Blowing Rock/Boone area, which would have been materially nicer, would have been much more expensive this was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay. Please feel free to contact our front desk if you have suggestions regarding "patina", as we're not quite sure what you are referring to. Thank you for choosing the Green Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a beautiful, lovely old victorian hotel. HOWEVER, make sure you do not get rooms near the bar. Because this is an old hotel, the walls are paper thin. I was down the hall (about 4 doors) from the bar and they had a band and they also have a juke box. When they were on (and they were on until 2am) you could hear them clearly EVEN WITH EAR PLUGS ON. This is the only reason I rated this the way I did because I got no sleep. I was with a large group and those who were upstairs or at the other end, slept very well. The rooms are excellent and just beautiful but not sleeping was a drag.
If it hadn't been for that I would have rated this place a 5.

Room Tip: See above. Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We really appreciate that you would have rated us a 5, but for the loud and late music. However, we have never had a band playing in the Tavern (it's not large enough for that), and we have never had a jukebox in the bar, or anywhere in the hotel. Never, ever. We see that the date of your stay was October 2011? Given that that was quite some time ago, is it possible that you are thinking of another establishment? We are sorry that you had no sleep, wherever you stayed. But, again, we have never had bands or jukeboxes and our bar has rarely, if ever, been open until 2am. The Tavern is generally closed by 12-12:30am, at the latest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.4 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Property: The Green Park Inn
Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing