We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time!”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We loved the hotel, the atmosphere, the rooms, the tavern, and all the staff. This is not a state of the art hotel, but the history adds so much more. Since this is an historic hotel, expect to experience the true era and details that keep it historic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who interested in a little bit different, but very elegant, experience.

Room Tip: Although the steam pipe noise did not bother us, a light sleeper should ask for a room that doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    151
    53
    26
    10
See reviews for
98
239
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our third visit to Green Park Inn since it re-opened in 2010. The Inn itself is a beautiful site, this is not your 'Interstate Exit' cookie cutter place to stay, the building has character pre-dating the very road that runs to it! Walking in the front lobby is like stepping back in time. This visit was on Valentine's Day, and the Inn had live piano music in the lobby just outside the restaurant. I think they often have live music.

The staff is always wonderful... they're courteous and prompt just as you'd expect with any hotel, but here they truly enjoy your visit. It's a very personal level of service that you won't find in a large chain. When you're talking to the staff, you feel like a 'person' more than a 'customer'.

The rooms are beautifully restored, with modern enhancements.... yes you get TV!!! We stayed in room 137 with a balcony overlooking the pool. The Inn is located near everything in Blowing Rock. We had dinner at sunset at Canyons Restaurant just down the street, then went down town to visit Kilwin's candy store.

The stay itself was of course what you'd expect (and more) for any hotel with excellent service, but we love to stay at the Green Park Inn because it is unique in a world where everyone else seems to be striving to be only just like everyone else... if you're visiting Blowing Rock, you're probably going there for what the entire town has to offer, and the Green Park Inn is a piece of history you really shouldn't miss while you're there!

-Scott Rigdon

Room Tip: Just ask at the front desk and they'll put you in the room what has what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent the night and had dinner and a breakfast. I absolutely cannot understand any negative reviews (well I do, cause some people you can't please :) and i say that with love). It was clean, the staff was excellent, they went above and beyond. The food was excellent. We will be going back. I would highly recommend, and i saw lots of folks walking around, having dinner, and all were happy.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter, just keep in mind, the inn is old, although it has had a lot of updates, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imac0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I recintly had the pleasure to stay at the greenpark inn an was at first very impressed by the structure itself.then walking thruout the lobby,and thinking to myself,all the famous people who have stayed hereover the last 120yrs.was very cool.the rooms however are up to date in everyway,with all modern amenities.the food,from breakfast to dinner was excellent along with the very competant staff who could`nt be more helpful.I am planning a return trip in the spring. I recommendit highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Upon entering the front door of the hotel which was built in 1892 we were welcomed by the staff of the Green Park Inn. The restoration of this hotel is amazing and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was large, we stayed in room 141 which had a balcony that overlooked the grounds. The room was very clean and large. It was just a lovely, relaxing stay and the staff here in my opinion was first class.

The room had complementary bottled water, coffee and flat screen TV. Bed was very comfortable. We did go to the onsite bar and ate our food was delicious. Your room comes with a complimentary made to order breakfast.

The lobby was gorgeous with grand piano and library shelves around a beautiful fireplace.

We just loved our stay and cant wait to go back soon.

Loved loved the Green Park Inn.

Room Tip: Room 141 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvitLakeNormanNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back, soon! It's funny that, sometimes, reading these reviews we feel as though we're living in a Tale of Two Cities! It was the best of times . . . it was the worst of times! Are there really two different hotels, here? . . .staffed by two entirely different sets of people! Ha! Again, we really appreciate your post, and hope to see you back again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Green Park Inn is a lovely property but the management of this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. My recent stay was a terrible experience and one that I would not wish for anyone. I traveled to Blowing Rock for business and was unfortunately "snowed in" at Green Park. Winds were gusting at 5omph with blowing snow and ice covered road ways. One would think if you were stranded in a hotel accustomed to these type of conditions, the staff would be especially considerate of your dilemma. Not so with the Green Park Inn! I was one of very few guests in the hotel at this unfortunate time. No one called to check on my well being and the housekeeper was unable to travel to the inn to provide the necessary services. The front desk clerk made it very clear (with an annoyed expression) that she "freshened" my room in absence of the housekeeper. The bed was made and fresh towels delivered but no vacuuming or trash removal. The room was very drafty and cool with the in room heater set at 85 degrees. Throughtout the day and evening, doors slammed and loud walking could be heard throughout the hallways and room. I did call and was told maintenance was removing the rocking chairs from the balconies and had to have the doors slam...unbelievable! Unfortunately, I did leave a scarf in the room upon my departure. I emailed Green Park and asked if they would kindly mail the scarf to my home address. The response email included a lengthy explanation regarding their policy and experience with paying for shipment of left items with no regard to my personal need or customer service. The "general manager" finally did agree to pay for shipment of my six ounce scarf! I will say the front desk staff were professional. I do believe with their current management Green Park leaves a lot to be desired! Hope they can stay in business but they have lost mine!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SYTaylor_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Owner at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
As we understand it this reviewer, having driven through a snow storm, and fifty mph winds, was then relieved to arrive at the Green Park Inn and was checked in to a clean and comfortable room as the storm raged outside. We disagree with the reviewer’s position that "someone should have called to check on her well being." We will never invade a guest's privacy, in their room, with a gratuitous call to ask if they are still OK. While there was a snow storm occurring outside, these were not dangerous, or life threatening conditions and all was perfectly well inside of the hotel. The hotel did not lose power, or electricity, or heat or even cable television service. We are located in “the High Country”, the mountains of North Carolina, and winter storms are not uncommon. In fact, we are located less than 5 miles from Appalachian Ski Mountain. Yes, winter is to be expected in the High Country, in fact, we welcome winter snow!

Turning the electronic room thermostat up to 85 degrees from 70 degrees (standard opening temperature) on the brand new, "green" (and we are very proud to say chosen because they are made in the USA) PTAC unit in the room in the mistaken belief that it would get warmer, faster, simply tripped the unit’s thermal breaker. Had this reviewer called the front desk, they would have been advised of the overload created by such actions, and sent someone to reset the unit. We suspect that the reviewer also did not avail themselves of the additional heater in bathroom which would have provided additional circulating heat. Again, had the reviewer reported these circumstances to the Front Desk then any number of remedies would have been undertaken. So, it was under these circumstances that the reviewer found the room "cold and drafty."

It is true that the following day the early shift (morning) housekeeper had difficulty driving “up the mountain”. In her absence the Front Desk clerk on duty (who is cross trained in housekeeping – and the same staff later referred to in the review as “professional”) freshened guest rooms on that day. We are quite sure that she did so happily, and with a smile. We apologize that she may have missed emptying a trash cam. On the other hand, we do not routinely fully vacuum rooms while freshening when the room has been occupied for only one night. We generally find this to be necessary only when children have been staying in the room, and not a single individual person, for only one night. However, had vacuuming been warranted it certainly would have been performed. During this reviewers stay we were also happy to have brought breakfast to a certain guest’s room, each morning, as the guest had requested, even though we do not ordinarily do so. Our complementary, made to order breakfast is generally served in our sunny and lovely “Tea Room” each morning.

A phone call was received early in the afternoon at the Front Desk, during the worst of the wind gusts, regarding banging doors. The caller was advised that Maintenance staff were removing the rocking chairs from the balconies due to the high winds, and that these winds were causing some room doors to slam shut. We apologized for any disturbance, whereupon maintenance was then instructed to close all room doors where they were working before opening the balcony door in that room, thereby eliminating the “draft” that had resulted in a few doors having slammed shut. At no time was anyone told that “maintenance had to have the doors slam”. Excuse us, but, . . . what? Also, no maintenance personnel were present during the evening hours, no work was being done, and no doors were slamming, nor loud noises being made anywhere in the building “throughout the evening” as described. Frankly, this was simply not possible. We are not quite sure what “loud walking” is? So, are hardly prepared to respond to this claim. Loud walking? Again, sorry, but . . . what? . . . exactly? . . .is? . . . loud walking?

Regarding the reviewer’s having left a scarf in the room we have engaged a bonded, professional shipping service to handle the return of items left in rooms, and it is our policy to turn over items requiring shipping to this company. Our policy is not concerned with the weight of items left. Our concerns are with the potential value of items (either dollar value or sentimental value), insurability, packaging, and speed of return desired by the guest. We feel that these personal matters are best left to professional shippers who can work with the guest to determine exactly how the item should be shipped. One might be surprised to hear of the variety items left behind at the hotel, which have included brief cases, jewelry, hearing aids, favorite teddy bears, and even dog crates. We feel that our policy is entirely reasonable, and also a pretty darned good idea.

Finally, we are quite pleased with the efforts of our General Manager who is our General Manager, not our “General Manager” and who, in fact, is the individual who approved breakfast to be served in a guest room (rather than the Tea Room), who ensured that maintenance stopped the wind slamming of doors once this circumstance was reported, who ensured that rooms were freshened (an industry term) even though a staff housekeeper was unable to arrive at work that morning, and finally, who waived any charge for shipping a scarf back to the reviewer. We stand by our hotel, our staff, and our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was a couple of days get away to the mountains and this hotel made it really good to rest after a busy day, quiet and very comfortable rooms, overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.4 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Property: The Green Park Inn
Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing