We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat that offers romantic serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The Bob Timberlake Inn is a fabulous place to stay. My husband and I stayed here for two nights in March of this year for a romantic getaway. It was amazing.

The resort itself is beautiful. Driving through it made me feel like I was a wealthy socialite vacationing at my private home. There is a small lake that is full of geese (which makes using the walkway around the lake a bit difficult, as it is impossible to avoid the droppings), and the beautiful trees and fresh air completed the feel of the luxurious mountain resort.

We stayed in the Walter Alexander room at the Bob Timberlake Inn, which was immaculate. The room itself was beautifully decorated with a large window overlooking the lake. I could have sat on the window seat for hours reading (if my husband had not had other plans).

The bed was extremely comfortable, with a comforter than must have weighed fifteen pounds (my husband didn't really like that aspect, but I loved it). There is a fireplace and a flat screen tv. We borrowed a couple of movies from the rec center at the resort and watched them. All the furnishings in the room are very high quality. Nothing cheap.

We opted to have breakfast served in our room each morning. We could have eaten in the restaurant located just below the room, but we liked the privacy of in-room dining, and there was no additional fee for this service (breakfast is included in the room price). The options for breakfast were wonderful and offered something for everyone. I had a delicious version of eggs benedict. There was plenty of food that was beautifully prepared and tasted fabulous.

They offer complimentary wine and cheese at the inn every evening, and my husband and I enjoyed partaking and talking to the innkeeper during these times. There is a guest area with a refrigerator that has as much complimentary soda as you can drink. There were also many choices for complimentary coffee and tea that were available around the clock. Best of all, they had individual containers of Ben and Jerry's ice cream that guests could grab from the freezer any time they wanted. Now that was a treat!

They were doing some construction at the resort, so it was not very crowded, but everything was open, nonetheless. The pool was beautiful. There was a nice play area for kids. They offer fitness classes, also. I took a yoga class one morning that I really enjoyed. The teacher was clearly an expert.

We ate at the resort restaurant one night, and we loved the fact that we did not have to even go outside to get to it from our room. It was just down the stairs. It was very romantic with a fireplace and beautiful views of the lake, and the food was high quality.

We loved our stay here and would love to go back. It is a great place to go if you want to visit the malls or the other sights around the area, but it is also great to just hang out at the resort. I could stay at this place for a week without ever venturing into the town. The only negative thing we found was the goose droppings around the lake, but hey- if you want geese, you've got to take the droppings with them.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaDisneyDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

We had about 50 people for our family reunion and we stayed in 2 bedroom 2 bath condos and one 3 bedroom condo. The resort was like living in a postcard. The condos were large, clean and well-equipped. The resort was an excellent location near many places to visit. The town of blowing rock is nearby, the outlet mall is next door, the equestrian center is just out of town and the beautiful Moses Cone Manor and hiking trails nearby. We went into Boone to the Horn in the West live show which was excellent. The bike ride about an hour and 15 minutes north on the Virginia Creeper Trail was absolutely fabulous - 17 miles of a down sloped bike ride - it crosses about 35 wooden bridges and is spectacular. Check it out ! White water rafting is nearby too. I've planned our family reunions for about 20 years now and I had the most people come up to me and request to come back to Chetola than any other place. We went the week of Fourth of July and the weather was so nice - especially coming from hot Florida.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinnet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in the Bob Timberlake Inn and could not have been happier with our choice. The Inn has a very private feel and is perfect if you want to get away from the world for awhile. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake with a loveseat by the window to enjoy it. The innkeeper immediately made us feel very welcome and she was immensely helpful with her recommendations (and directions) for great dining and hiking. Chetola is a great location, as it both connects to the Moses Cone trails and is also a short walk from all the shops downtown. Even though it rained for part of our stay so we couldn't do all of the hiking we planned to, the comfort of the room made us more than happy to stay in and relax in the room with the gas fireplace, the view, some dvd's from the rec. room, and some ben & jerry's from the pantry.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundancetornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We just came back from a week at Chetola with our extended family (all ages-grandparents through toddlers). It was wonderful. The resort was relaxing, peaceful, and quiet with plenty for everyone to do. We stayed in one of the large condos and it was impeccably decorated, clean and luxurious. We enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the resort, listening to the mountain birds and talking. We also took advantage of the network of walking trails around and within the resort. It was wonderful to be able to go on a hike through the woods directly from our condo without having to drive to a trailhead. The pool was warm and clean. Towels, noodles, other swim gear, a work-out center, jogging stroller rental, and a ping-pong table were available there as well. Although the pool is not outside, there was an outside lounge area for use. The multiple ponds of the resort contained fish and everyone enjoyed catching small sunfish, bass, and catfish. The grounds around the ponds were well manicured with gazebos, bridges, and “wooded paths” which were tremendous fun for the kids that were too young to fish.
We also took advantage of the small events hosted by the resort including a “bonfire” and fishing derby. We had a terrific gourmet meal at the restaurant one night. The staff was very courteous and helpful, although it was clear that some were more educated about the resort than others. There wasn’t internet access in the condo, so one had to go the main lodge, and even then access was hit-or-miss. This was frustrating for those that had some buisness to attend. However, we were there for a vacation and it was surprisingly nice to forgo the Email and internet surfing for a few days. It was a wonderful stay and I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaysfanColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Little pricey but overall very very nice place. Condo was very comfortable. Not that far from town. Staff very helpful. Beautiful grounds. Restaurant was great for lunch and dinner. Only downside is they had one computer, really no biz center and I just read from someone else no outdoor pool.
Bottom line is that if you like blowing rock (which we do) this is the best game in town if you have a child. Very spacious 1 bedroom condo more practical then B&B's in the area

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seenybeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The grounds are well kept and the lake is very pretty. We had a king balcony room overlooking the lake where people fished and there were pedal boats to rent. Our room was spacious and clean. We ate dinner at the Manor House restaurant and it was excellent, with a $21 three-course meal of salad/soup, entree and dessert. Breakfast buffet was included with our room rate and it was also at the Manor House. The restaurant has large windows overlooking the lake. The staff was helpful with directions and information about the surrounding area. The weather was perfect, in the 70s and cool overnight. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingfunplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We rented a four bedroom condo at Chetola for two nights. The unit was very clean, tastefully furnished, had a well stocked kitchen and was HUGE. The grounds and location are beautiful and very well maintained, and I don’t think the website photos do it justice. The only negative I can think of is that the resort is large and hilly, so if you’re unit is in one of the far out locations it really isn’t feasible to walk down to the lake or the recreation area. If you do decide to walk, I would recommend keeping your property map with you at all times b/c if you get lost (on foot) you’ll get exhausted retracing your steps. We didn’t get the chance to take advantage of many of the amenities, but I did look at the indoor pool an it was pretty big and didn’t have that muggy chlorine air you usually find with indoor pools. However, it does seem strange that there is no outdoor pool, given the size and quality of the resort. Overall, I found this to be a great resort if you want to get away, relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlillie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.2 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $142 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing