We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveler rating
370
191
60
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
191
60
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbob timberlakebedroom condopaddle boatsoverlooking the lakeindoor poolping pongbreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsmoses coneget awaytanger outletshiking trailsthe main lodgewood burning fireplacechristmas lightsfull kitchenbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 659 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visiting area first time. Wanted an Inn local to the area. Quite a few, Bob Timberlake has some nicely decorated rooms which were different. Saw a Groupon offer in e-mail for this B.T. Inn. Called hotel to see if they had rooms for my mid-week, low demand time stay. Had at least four nice rooms. Bought coupon and called back. Another employee answered, told him my reason for staying there was to stay in one of the nicely appointed rooms, unique. He said he was putting me into Room #6, which he believed was the Second Best room they had at the B.T. Inn. It is hard to get a good picture of these rooms. They usually only have one small picture of each of the several rooms like these. The do not list Rooms 1-6 and show 5 picts of what each room looks like. Room 6 has stairwells or a roof cutting away the ceiling of the room. The closet for clothes is chest high from the floor and you have to duck the ceiling to bend over to open it and get out hang up clothes and the desktop mini-ironing board. The fireplace is on the side next to the bed and from about your shoulders to your knees if you are laying in bed. He said he only had two choices to book me (now that I had bought the Groupon Coupon for a discount) this room had a "slight view" of the lake and the other room had "no view at all" of the lake. Supposedly all the rooms at Bob Timberlake are supposed to have a view of the lake.

I found out all of this after he emailed the confirmation, I found out the room number and was trying to find out if anyone had information or pictures of the room. That is where I found others who had taken pictures of the bland room, no photos, a grey leather like lounge chair, light greyish carpet, no wall paper or trim, and bland paint scheme. If you can tell any color from the few pictures available from other visitors.

I can not take a chance with problems with rooms and make a vacation an unhappy experience. I know Marriott Residence Inn and others can be counted on provide high quality experience, clean bedding and comfortable mattresses, and management that will get things right. Buyer beware of trusting what tell you of what type of room you are getting in the B.T.Inn. when you expect to be staying in one of those nicely decorated rooms.

Room Tip: See first before you reserve to make sure at this place.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank traveladvisor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChetolaResort, Director of Marketing at Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We have to say this is the strangest, most baffling comment we’ve ever read. We systematically receive outstanding reviews and comments from guests who have stayed with us in the Bob Timberlake Inn, but your comments are confounding and completely irrelevant for one predominant reason: You never stayed here.

Your very own headline indicates you cancelled your reservation with us before you ever arrived, and further reading into your complaints tells us that you based your entire review off of photos you found online -- photos that were posted from another guest and were not official Chetola photos. If you had researched further, you would have discovered that those pictures were extremely old and out-of-date, and again, taken without the lighting of a professional photographer. There is no “grey leather chair” and “light greyish carpet.” In fact, the room is decorated in classic, rich earth tones, with two Mission-style Morris chairs and all décor and artwork fully reflecting the style of artist Bob Timberlake. You also said there were “no photos” in the room, by which we infer you mean that there are no pictures on the wall. There is actually one picture hanging, but the reason there are no more is because the walls are angled. You see, the Inn is housed in a historic building known as the Manor House Estate, dating back to 1846. And Room 6 – which directly overlooks the lake, by the way, contrary to your statement -- was part of the original attic. There are only eight rooms in the Bob Timberlake Inn, and each room is gorgeous and unique to its space. We also offer a full breakfast, private wine and cheese social, and 24-hour access to a fully stocked pantry. If you had actually stayed here, you would have seen and experienced all of that. Plus, you wouldn’t have had to measure furniture and calculate the size of your fireplace via a photo.

Now let’s address the fact you were actively searching for an inn local to the area (by which I would suspect you were looking for something with character) and were disappointed when that inn didn’t turn out to have the specifications of a Marriott Residence Inn. You know a bed and breakfast and a Marriott Residence “Inn” are two different entities, right? “Inns” by definition are distinctly unique and intimately charming. If you were searching for a homogenous, cookie-cutter room, you should have started and ended your search with a chain hotel.

Lastly, we have absolutely no idea what you mean by “felt like they took advantage of Groupon offer.” That doesn’t even make sense. You bought a Groupon for the Bob Timberlake Inn, you reserved a room, and you cancelled your reservation. There is no better deal than what you purchased. We’ve had more than 725 Groupons purchased in the last three weeks and had more than 800 purchased for our previous Groupon promotion. We have never had a claim that is even remotely similar to yours, and we can absolutely assure you that this is the only review we have ever had from someone who has never stayed here. You seem to have called once to inquire about booking a room in the Inn and then called back later to actually book the room and, within that timeframe, two of the four rooms had been sold. You were booked into one of the remaining two rooms. All eight of our rooms are beautiful; you weren’t taken advantage of because of Groupon. You were simply booked into one of two remaining available rooms.

There are many fallacies thrown around in your review, but strictly based on the fact that you had the gall to review a room you never even stayed in, much less a resort you never even visited, we consider your complaints completely without merit. We have to wonder if there is a larger agenda at play here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Bob Timberlake Inn and found the room to be similar to a disney set. Our room (#3) overlooked the lake in front of the Chetola Resort and at night the people leaving the bar were very noisy. The room did have a gas fireplace but the bathroom was ordinary and didn't seem to have real tile. The Inn Keeper was a talker and when we went up to enjoy Happy Hour we didn't have a chance to just unwind. The breakfast buffet was ordinary. We will try not to return! Gideon Ridge Inn is just in another class and simply exceptional!

Room Tip: Room 3 is right over the bar and restaurant and can be noisy if late night diners and drinkers leave happy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a great time there to enjoy such a nice and extraordinary experience. We were blessed to utilise such a nice atmosphere. Accomodation, services and the food,etc... In short everything was perfect

Room Tip: I prefer rooms in the higher floors bcoz they were calm and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalai008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have made this Blowing Rock resort an annual destination. We love the cozy yet spacious rooms, the great service, and the fabulous restaurant on site! This time we move to a lake view room and loved the deck. We will come back every winter . . . there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a great balcony overlooking the pond and the swans.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Once again, Chetola Resort staff have provided the best meeting accommodations with technical support and an outstanding menu.The red carpet is always out for 4, 40 or 400. My event planning is eased.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews