We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance second to none” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Boone
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambiance second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the warmest, most gracious welcome to every need accounted for, my overnight stay last week at Chetola was terrific. Staff was attentive and responsive. My favorite is a walk around Chetola Lake. I have a picture of the lake taken in early December 2007 that does not have a hint of snow. I highly recommend Chetola and the surrounding Blowing Rock area with galleries, Ensemble Stage Co, the New Public House, Bistro Roca, Storie Street Grille and more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    172
    56
    18
    10
See reviews for
207
238
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff and resort is superior in every way. I have stayed in the condos and in room 114. The place is relaxing and the service is all you could ask for. The convenience of the Cone Manor trails is one of the best things about the area. But, stay away from room 5. It is the last room rented and there is plenty of reasons. It is right by the doorway that everybody uses to access the Bob Timberlake bed and breakfast part of the inn. People come and go at all hours (as is there right) and the sitting area for the place is right outside the door. When I finally got to sleep at 2 in the morning I was awakened by the breaksfast staff moving food carts from one floor to another. using hallway and elevator by the room! If you take this room out of the the review I would give the place 5 stars. Room so bad I hesitate to give even 3.

Room Tip: any room but room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in Spruce 4 for a week and had a lovely vacation in Blowing Rock. The condo is dated as some of the other reviews said, but overall I thought the space was great for a family of 4, and very convenient. In our two bedroom condo there was a bedroom with two twin beds and a bathroom and a bedroom with a king sized bed and bathroom. It also had a living room, wet bar, separate jacuzzi tub room, fully functioning kitchen unit, laundry room with washer and dryer, and patio looking out over the forest. It was great because we could eat breakfast at the condo and save money instead of eating an expensive breakfast out, and we even ate lunch there a few times. If you wanted you could eat in as much as you want. We didn't use the washer dryer but I think that is a great feature if you want to wash something that gets wet or dirty while you're there. We did eat breakfast out on the patio everyday, which was wonderful, and we did give our kids a bath in the jacuzzi which they loved. The beds were comfortable, and the whole experience was overall great. The resort has a spa which was not extensive, but was nice. I got a package with massage, facial, and mani pedi. All technicians were very polite, professional, and friendly, and it was an enjoyable experience. My husband did a fishing trip that he thoroughly enjoyed and he caught a ton of huge fish. We went to the indoor pool with our kids and they loved it, and I loved the heated hot tub. There is very convenient access to trails with the Bass Lake trail and the Moses Cone Manor trails right there next to the property. We took our children with us and I felt like everyone was very accepting of children there. My family had a wonderful week here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: You'll save money by getting a week that is in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honkeylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sept 17th through Sept 20th, 2013
Stayed in Juniper 6 condo and clearly it needed a significant upgrade. There was an abundance of very unnecessary silk flower arrangements including baskets hanging from the bathroom mirror. Bathroom also has only one sink and there is nothing that would classify the room as anything but very basic. The list of amenities stated there was a flat screen TV which was untrue there were two televisions that had to be at least 5 to 7 years old. The worst part of our visit was dinner on Tuesday night. The dining room is extremely small with limited tables. We were seated adjacent to the kitchen door which was left open during our meal which was really ridiculous. The food was so substandard that we could not wait to finish and leave. If you stay at the resort skip the Timberlake restaurant. Also wanted to mention that every person we saw while at the resort appeared to be over 65 which I am only mentioning so that visitors understand the median age of the resort guests at least while we were there. We will not return to the resort nor would we ever recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't chose Juniper 6 unless you like old silk flower arrangements, even ones attached to your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChetolaResort, Director of Marketing at Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations; however, we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

First, let’s address your comments about your accommodations, Juniper 6, a one-bedroom condominium. You said there was an “abundance of unnecessary silk flower arrangements, including baskets hanging from the bathroom mirror.” While silk flowers may not be suited to everyone’s taste, “an abundance…of arrangements” is an overstatement, and the owner of the condominium has two small arrangements in the top corners of the bathroom mirror which are far from “hanging.” I am happy to share your concerns about the silk arrangements with the owner, but the condominium is decorated tastefully and comfortably, was recently upgraded and is in excellent condition. This unit is also personally requested by several repeat guests. Again, we believe your opinion of the condominium is just a matter of personal taste and preference.

You also noted that the bathroom has only one sink. The condominium you chose is a one-bedroom condominium, so, yes, you’re correct, the bathroom is outfitted with only one sink. All of our condominiums are a 1:1 ratio, one bathroom for every bedroom. The bathroom is a good sized bathroom with two separate entrances: one from the master bedroom and one from the entrance foyer.

As far as your concerns regarding the televisions, they are indeed about five years old. The TV in the living room is a flat-screen tube television, not a flat-panel. The smaller TV in the bedroom is a small tube television. We apologize if you were misled to believe they are flat-panel televisions. The condominiums are furnished by individual owners and the types of televisions they purchase are at the discretion of each owner, although all units have standardized requirements and this unit is in excellent standing. Upon reviewing your comments regarding your lodging, the resort manager visited the condominium, took photos and has posted them under "traveler photos" on the main page of our Trip Advisor listing. They are labeled Juniper 6, one-bedroom condo.

Now, regarding your experience in the restaurant, it is our understanding that at the time you arrived for dinner, there were no other tables available, and you were seated in one of our small dining rooms at a table adjacent to the kitchen. At no time did you mention to your server or to a manager that you were unhappy with your table. The ideal time to do that would be either at the time of being seated or shortly thereafter. You instead waited until the server brought you your check, at which time you not only expressed your displeasure with your table but also with your meal, even though, according to the server, you never complained about any of the food you ordered and ate. Again, while you never expressed any displeasure during your meal, our restaurant manager took your concerns to heart and came to your table to apologize for any inconvenience and to let you know that your alcohol would be complimentary of the restaurant. Instead of accepting his offer graciously and accepting his apology, you admonished him, told him an apology wouldn’t help and told him to go away. He left your newly adjusted bill on the table and walked away at your request.

As for your comment about our clientele all being over 65 and that you’re just letting people know the “median age of resort guests,” I’m not sure what you hope to accomplish with that comment. We welcome and appreciate all of our guests, regardless of age, race, gender, religious affiliation and attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hubby and I booked a lakeside lodge room with balcony and we were not disappointed. The Bob Timberlake furnishings and decorations in the Chetola really set the resort apart from others. Beds were comfortable, room was well laid out, and the balcony gave us a wonderful view of Chetola Lake and some weddings the weekend we were there. Breakfast offerings were plentiful and delicious each day, and we enjoyed the seating near the fire pit one evening. Parking was convenient and we rented 3 DVDs to watch at night, though we ran out of time to do so. I loved walking to Bass Lake in the morning for exercise, and then just around the corner to the Outlet Mall for some afternoon retail therapy one day.

Grandfather Mountain is not far away, we took in the Arts-in-the-Park activities one afternoon, and dined in several local restaurants during our stay. Had a great time and would definitely recommend this lovely lodge and venue to our friends.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms with balcony are wonderful in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place even if your room makes you think you have stepped into 1979. It is nonetheless adequate and they do have wifi now. Plus you can ask for a room with a balcony and what a view! So who cares f the rooms ren't all beige and creamy neo modern design. The restaurant is terrific and you cannot find a more beautiful setting for a dinner on the lawn.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We traded our Marriott for Blowing Rock and loved it. We have traveled enough to know that places like these, small town, limited employees, can't compete with Marriott. In that respect, this place was great!
While in the hot tub a lady told us that our building , the Azalea, was where the timeshare people stayed.."they did those right." Well whatever that meant exactly we did not know. Ours was ok. Clean. They tried to update the place with granite countertops but it was still old. Parquet floors. Worn carpet. But, again, it was the location that really made the weekend. And the grounds were beautiful to come home to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Property: Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing