We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and condo”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in a 3 bedroom condo overlooking the mountains and lake
Our meal at timberlake was first rate
We loved our daily hikes outside of our condo and onto to the National Park

The only problem we had was cell service in condo was very poor but we did have wifi

Blowing Rock is a very upscale area with amazing eats

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gator90gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    174
    56
    20
    10
See reviews for
212
244
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family and I stayed in a two bedroom condo. It was clean, well appointed with spectacular views from the bedroom as well as the large balcony. The Chetola has a very nice fitness center with a heated pool, cardio equipment etc. Also walking/running/hiking trails which are a few steps from the condo. It is definately one of the nicest places we have ever been.

Room Tip: Choose a condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, california, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent one night here while driving south on the Blue Ridge Parkway.A nice room with balcony overlooking a very nice lake with breakfast was a little over $200. A night. The room was nicely outfitted, and my husband enjoyed fishing in the lake for a few hours. We went to the Timberlake restaurant for dinner, and after a short 15 minute wait were seated at a very nice table overlooking the lake. Sharing an appetizer, salad, and two entrees the meal was $70. The food quality was high.We were treated to a complimentary dessert due to our initial wait, which was also appreciated. The wait staff was friendly though a little inexperienced. I would definitely choose both the hotel and restaurant again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake up higher second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughespasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have stayed twice at the chetola, both times in the condos. Compared to all other accommodations in this area, I think this is the best value for your money. The grounds are beautiful and they have plenty for families to do. The condos are always immaculate and well appointed.

Room Tip: If looking for a one bedroom condo, one of the Finch one bedrooms is actually a two bedroom that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This resort borders Moses Cone National Park but the view is only available to a few condos. Most condos have a view of other condos or nearby trees. Our condo was next to the outlet shops. The individual condos are furnished by their owners ,so there is considerable variability. It appears that they were built around the 1980s . Our unit Dove 1 was tastefully decorated although I would get rid of the old tvs and replace them with flat screen tvs. Also, bring toiletries as only a bar of soap was provided. The rec center had an indoor pool and a fitness center. It was not a short walk. The tennis courts were moderately used hard surface. If you want to play tennis I would go to the blowing rock city park where the courts are in better shape and have lights.Chetola lake is more like a big pond but was scenic nonetheless.No adequate trails for hiking were present.Some of the roads in the resort were narrow so be careful especially with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.Then go on line to view the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldocsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently celebrated my mom's 80th birthday and chose Chetola. They were friendly and professional from the earliest inquiries. They were so accommodating. Jessica at Group Relations was very helpful in the planning stages.
We decided to visit at the end of June. We had family members as young as one year and up to 80 (my mom, obviously!). There was something for everyone to do. My nephews and grandson enjoyed paddleboating and fishing. The staff coordinating these activities were very helpful.
One staff member truly shined. Her name was Jenn and she was working in the breakfast room. She was great with my 3 young grandchildren. My nephew is 18 but is severely limited due to autism. He is non-verbal and has difficulty with new settings. He got frustrated at breakfast one morning. Jenn was immediately there to calm the situation. She realized what he wanted and got it. A very uncomfortable situation was averted. Many of the diners didn't understand the scenario, but once Jenn took charge, they relaxed and resumed eating. She was so sweet to my nephew and made us all relax.

Room Tip: Mom's room overlooked the lake and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen_J555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Chetola is an unusual resort in that it has limited recreational facilities. There is a small lake with a few paddle boats and canoes, a small but adequate gym, an indoor pool, and hiking trails. The lack of an outdoor pool in the summer is a disappointment. We took a couple of fitness classes, both of which were quite good but they are in an overhauled conference room that has no water or towels and is on a different floor from the gym and pool where you sign in for the classes. We stayed in the Inn which is more expensive than the other rooms but they are more private, there is a pantry available to you 24/7 with cold/hot drinks and ice cream, and a daily wine and cheese reception. The inn rooms are nice but not luxurious: linoleum on the bathroom floor, plastic sink and vanity. The restaurant was not open when we were there but, if it is, I recommend getting a room on the 2nd floor of the inn. Otherwise you will be right above the restaurant.

Room Tip: If staying in the Inn, choose a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Property: Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing