We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Room Restaurant - CLOSED

Laurel Room Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a over priced, not that good, Thanksgiving dinner. We knew we were in trouble when we walked in the front door and it smelled like 1 week old fish. The Turkey was so over cooked it was like saw dust, how can you screw up turkey on thanksgiving? The balance of the meal was not that good as well. And back to the fish, it was terrible! This is a situation where the management thought they could stick it to you because it was a holiday $130 for two adults and a 8 year old with no drinks! If it would have been good, well Ok, but it was not. Shame on them.

Helpful?
Thank LovinithereinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at Laurel Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We're sorry that you apparently don't enjoy fresh fish, prepared by a true gourmet chef, in fact, a James Beard nominate chef. The fish on our elaborate and extensive Thanksgiving buffet was excellent (as was our freshly roasted turkey) and was delivered by Fisherman's Catch on Wednesday. We served well over 200 dinner guests on that day and yours has been the only complaint. As to the cost, you were informed of the price of the buffet when you reserved, as well as of the automatic 20% gratuity (plus sales tax). We will always include an automatic gratuity on holidays, when our staff give up their holiday with their families so that others can enjoy the day at our restaurant with their own families. Perhaps you should have chosen a different restaurant. Golden Corral, maybe? We're pretty sure that if their buffet offers fish, that it wouldn't smell, at all, since cardboard really doesn't have a smell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laurel room not even close to worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We just wasted our tenth anniversary on a mediocre meal, a waiter who mumbled, hostess who couldn't take the time to notice us because she was on her phone texting, a bread lady who thought that a piece of bread was enough (how cheap not a loaf of bread, but a small piece), the specials we had were not special and very I mean very small portions, while the next table over receive twice the size of meals. We called and even told them that this was our anniversary and what did we get for that....riped off. Note this is an expensive meal plan on spending over 100.00 if you don't listen to this review and go. Nothing award winning here worth trying , not even the award winning halibut which we had. We have eatin at 50% of the restaurants in BR and this one is in my bottom 2.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at Laurel Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
You are quite right about the hostess having been on her cell phone. And, she has been reprimanded. This will never happen again in our restaurant. As to the balance of your review? Dear Ma'am? "A loaf" of bread is not what is served in fine dining, anniversary or no anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Chef James was so nice and warm made us feel like family taking care of our every needs, likes, and dislikes. We ate things we would not have ate before. It was that good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at Laurel Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your meal, and experience! Sounds as though you must have dined at the Chef's Table, inside of his 3500 square foot kitchen, where all of the action takes place. That's a special, and unique experience, for sure. Thanks for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food---short staffed?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Breaktast food was excellent. Seemed like the staff was a little "under"? Waiters/waitresses were also serving as bus-boys, so many were entering with tables uncleared. This didn't happen to US, but we saw it happen to a lot of guests who entered after us. These guests were told to take a seat and that their tables would be cleared shortly, but needless to say this is very unappetizing. Suggest getting 1 or 2 dedicated bus-boys.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lincolntonretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at Laurel Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Staffing is sometimes a problem, so we apologize to anyone who was not seated at a fully cleaned and set table. Seems as though, on this day, the hostess may not have been here, which is unfortunate. Generally, on busy weekends their is a breakfast hostess who will stay on top of directing staff as to when guests have left tables, and also assist in clearing, etc. We'll try to stay more on top of that aspect of our breakfast service, and thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great gourmet dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were blown away by our dinners at this restaurant in the Green Park Hotel. Every dish was unique - from the breads to the salads, entrees, and desserts - in presentation, ingredients, and taste sensations. Everything we ordered was excellent and memorable. It was an adventure and a delectable experience. We will remember our meals there for a long time to come. We hunger to return again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama2More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at Laurel Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Wow, we're so happy that you enjoyed your meal so much. It's great to hear from folks who understand that Chef James' food preparation is in no way "ordinary", and who can appreciate excellent and exciting flavor combinations, aromas, and visual appeal. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel Room Restaurant also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing