We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
131
20
12
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
20
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxation room relais chateaux steam room the main house morning hike the claw foot tub great massage shower curtain mountain vistas manor house wonderful birthday the entire property north carolina piano player fellow guests our honeymoon peace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a weekend here recently and loved it. We had been there several years ago. The beautiful mountain setting is the same but the food was even better. Take advantage of the daily hikes they offer and then go lounge in the spa. We both had a Vichy treatment with a couples massage later. Never had a body wrap before and although it was good, I'm not sure I would do again. The warm stone massage was excellent. The spa menu was light and tasty with snacks and teas to try in between treatments. Back at the main house later for dinner and sunset viewing was casual with southern charm to spare. Formal dinner was well paced with an excellent selection of reasonably priced good wine. Food presentation was beautiful and tasty. Our first night wait staff was not quite up to what I believe the restaurant's standards would want but was more humorous than irritating. The only real downside I would list for the whole weekend is that the rooms are not well sound proofed but still managed to have a delicious romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We definitely appreciate your feedback and will work to resolve the few issues you mentioned. We offer a multitude of services in our Life Enrichment Center and we encourage guests to be adventurous in their selections. On your next stay with us, we might suggest other warm therapies since you especially enjoyed the hot stone massage. Our hiking staff does an outstanding job and this year we have introduced Bespoke Hikes tailored to the individual interests of our guests. These hikes can range from an hour to an all-day excursion. With the multitude of trails surrounding the resort, there is always a new adventure. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We drove to Blowing Rock, NC from Louisville, KY (around 6 hours) to experience what turned out to be this heavenly destination. From the moment we arrived, the staff (Mandy and Bethany et al) were waiting to assist, invariably helpful and friendly. The property is beautifully decorated with appropriate furniture and art that melds comfort with tradition. We enjoyed dinner our first night at the on-property Rowland's (very good overall), and breakfast each morning (included) in the brightly-lit, warm, quiet, inviting sunroom was positively divine.

During dinner, we adjourned our table momentarily (per our server's recommendation) to travel to the west porch (with drinks in hand) and watch as the sun sank below the mountainous horizon in the distance. It was truly a moment to remember.

Our room provided similar luxuries. We stayed in the Portico Suite, with included two bedrooms (one King, one Twin) and one rather small (but sufficient and well-appointed) bathroom. There was also a balcony facing westward, which, of course, was perfect for viewing the sunset. I could hardly imagine many better ways to start my day than awakening each morning with a cup of coffee in hand to the sounds of nature on the balcony—which I did, of course. The sole complaint I had was the rather noisy A/C unit when cycling the fan on/off (I'm a notoriously light sleeper)—but nothing a portable white noise machine or phone app can't fix (and it did).

The spa during our visit was also in a class of its own. We enjoyed several different treatments and were impressed with the variety and skill of the technicians. As many others have mentioned, the relaxation room is a wonderful place to unwind in front of the vast mountain backdrop. I also enjoyed the weight room, and the lower deck is an ideal spot for a nap when it isn't too hot.

Lastly, I'd be remiss not to mention the excellent guided hikes. We participated both mornings (9 am sharp) and they took around 2 hours (including travel time to the trailhead). It was absolutely one of the highlights of our trip, thanks in no small part to the infinitely friendly and informative guides. Don't miss it!

We will be back. This was our first experience at a Relais and Chateaux property as well, but it certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your thorough and detailed review of your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed all of our amenities and got to experience what truly defines Westglow: our talented and caring staff. Each employee of our resort is dedicated to ensuring each guest has a remarkable experience. Our location in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains never disappoints and we encourage our guests to take time to experience not only what our resort has to offer, but to spend time exploring Blowing Rock and the High Country. We hope you'll make future trips back from Louisville and witness the transformation the property experiences with each change of season. Best wishes for continued wellness and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The Lazy Bear Ladies of Boone, NC made our first annual trek to Westglow yesterday. We arrived early to get in a session of pillates before our scheduled stone massages. We bought an all inclusive holiday package which allowed use of all spa amenities for the day, plus our massage and a "perfect, light" 3 course lunch. It was a very relaxing paced day on top of the mountain. The gardens attracted lots of butterflies. There was a short "hiking path" around the property. There was an abundance of "nooks" to sit and enjoy the mountainous vista. The property is in the town of Blowing Rock, however, I did not know that until we left as we came in from the Blue Ridge Parkway route. Nor did I get the feel that we were that close to civilization while on property. The pilates instructor took it easy on us novices and gave great instructions. My massage therapist, Rebecca, was outstanding! Our group arrived around 9:45 and left around 4:00 and we each made the most out of the amenities and property as we desired. I met a woman Greensboro, NC and she and her friends have been making the annual trek for 4 years. I'm hoping the Lazy Bear Ladies have started a new tradition because I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel it is a Resort and we did not stay there
Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank RaynMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you, Lazy Bear Ladies, for your wonderful review of our resort. We were delighted to host your group and look forward to your making this an annual trip. There's no better validation than for a guest to return to a resort and we are proud to say the majority of our guests have been coming to Westglow for years. We are constantly updating the property and adding new services so there's always something new to see and experience. We always remind guests that we are here year round, why limit yourself to just an annual visit!!!
We look forward to seeing your group again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Amazing 3 nights celebrating my daughter's graduation. My mom, daughter and I felt like princesses the entire time. Manor house was beautiful, view over the mountains was amazing, spa fabulous, however our best experience was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had everything needed, greeted us by name, chocolates on our bed, water bottles by bedside, hand written notes daily, truly made our experience one of a life time. Oh and Christa was the best aesthetician, the 2 hour facial was spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenniferbull0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

We were so delighted you chose Westglow to celebrate your daughter's graduation! We truly believe it is our staff that makes our resort so special, along with the spectacular view and amenities we offer. We will certainly pass along your comments to Christa, our staff loves to hear when guests are especially complementary. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Westglow is wonderful—the setting and views, the restaurant, and spa are top-notch. The staff provides a very high level of service. The peace and quiet is calming and this is a good location overlooking Blowing Rock NC.

The rooms in the the huge old manor house are nice, but could use more upgrading. Westglow was built in 1917. Having stayed in some truly *old* buildings—dating back hundreds of years—I know what can be done to create a modern luxury environment inside old buildings. That's not the case here.

Room Negatives: our manor house room suffered from creaky floors, loud banging old windows, and an inadequate tub-converted-to-shower. It was furnished adequately, but not outstandingly.

Room Positives: quiet hvac, comfortable king bed and a balcony with a view to die for.

Room Tip: Portico Suite has a view
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our Manor House is 101 years old and as such has a few creaks and squeaks, we apologize if it disturbed you. Five of our guest rooms have the original clawfoot tubs that were restored during our renovation but have been updated to include rainhead shower fixtures. All of our other rooms have walk-in showers.
We restored the manor house using the finest fabrics and furnishings, area rugs by Stark, Brunschwig & Fils fabrics, period correct lighting fixtures, etc. As our property is a National Trust Historic Property, we felt it appropriate to follow the guidelines established by the Department of Cultural Resources in restoring our elegant Manor House. Again, many thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews