We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I'd hoped”

Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as I'd hoped”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

After reading all the reviews I decided to stop in here with friends last Friday night. There were five of us. Short wait which was great and grabbed a pumpkin beer at the bar. This was great-they added a cinnamon sugar rim, really enjoyed it. After being seated we had the goat cheese pita and eggroll appetizers. The eggrolls were VERY good, the pita bland. There were 5 of us and each had mixed reviews of the food. THe ahi tuna salad was good. I do not understand at all why the veggie burger gets such rave reviews. It was a very thin frozen patty-think morning star. I was extremly disappointed! Especially after just having a delicious veggie burger at Canyons. I would definitely not get it again. THe service was just ok, but I think our server was new. This place was very average, not bad but I would likely not return. Too many other great places in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echostar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    269
    61
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would certainly revisit”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This local resturant was very good and the prices were great. Trout trout trout is one of the reasons for a return visit. Three pieces of trout blackened parmasean encrusted and lightly fried were all delicious. Some of the freshes and best tasting fish in the area. The waitress was wonderful giving us information about the area and great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An Exceptional Meal at Family Friendly Place”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We decided on Foggy Rock based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The menu had lots of great choices, but we both ordered fish. My husband's "Trout,Trout,Trout" consisted of 3 good sized pieces of fish, each prepared a different way. I had the "Cajun Tilapia" that was topped with lump crabmeat and a delicious spicy cream sauce. Both entrees were served with roasted rosemary potatoes and grilled asparagus. Both fish entrees were cooked perfectly and at less than $15 were a great bargain! We would definitely eat here again if we are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Micki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best local restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food - huge selection from appetizers, salads, soups, burgers, sandwiches, and main dishes. Have never been disappointed by the food. Foggy Rock opened a couple years ago and is one of the local's favorites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, Nc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We really enjoy Foggy Rock. The atmosphere is casual but not sloppy. There are relaxed locals in the bar area every time we go that come in for a couple of beers and dinner. The beers are nice and cold with a good selection of maybe 20-25 choices that cover the spectrum nicely. You can have a somewhat intimate meal at the tables in the bar area or take a huge crowd into the separate dining area. We had a group of about 25 and were accomodated quickly on a busy Saturday night. Everything we have had on the menu was well prepared and consistently good. I think it is one of the best places to eat in Blowing Rock.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HighCountryDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing