We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub

Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belmont NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter and I had lunch at Foggy Rock and enjoyed every bite. She had a delicious cranberry turkey sandwich that had real chunks of turkey instead of deli slices. I had a delicious bowl of chicken pot pie soup and the fried green tomato sliders with pimento cheese and crumbled bacon. The thick sliced green tomatoes were perfectly crisp and delicious. Prices were quite reasonable and the menu looks interesting. I cannot wait to try them again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelmontNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    250
    57
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get the trout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Foggy Rock was so good we ate there twice. The atmosphere is definitely casual. Jeans were the norm. They don't take reservations so expect a wait. It is well worth it. I had the shrimp scampi tortellini and it was superb. My husband had the trout, trout, trout. It was excellent. The second time we ate there we both had the trout. My husband had all three pieces blackened, I had it three different ways. I couldn't pick my favorite. If we go back to Blowing Rock we will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bch2237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“5 Star for food and value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

what is a place like this doing serving 5 star food at 3 star prices? decor is 2 star but the food is great. highly recommneded. I had the tuna my wife had the halibut special. both were great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great taste and wide variety!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Tried this restaurant based on the reviews and the menu available at their website. Of all the places we ate at during this week long vacation in Blowing Rock, this was one of the best. It's not fine dining, so don't expect it to be. But for a family of four, we found it to have a great variety of appetizers, sandwiches and entrees, so there was something to please everyone. It is definitely not like a chain restaurant. Everything we had was very unique and flavorful. I also found the prices to be far better than other similar restaurants in the area (under $100 for four, including two appetizers and two glasses of wine). Overall, this was a very good meal and a good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
255 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“ordinary fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A pub. nothing unusual. same stuff you could get anywhere. no different from chain restaurants. for this we waited 15 minutes to be seated

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluto011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing