We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great education and clean facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doc's Rocks Gem Mine

Doc's Rocks Gem Mine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great education and clean facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Doc's Rocks. We all had a great time. Gem stone mining is a good excuse to play in the mud....and come out with nice rocks. Dont throw anything out. Rubies and Saphires look like regular rocks.....make sure you follow their instructions to let them look at your discards. They will keep you from throwing out valuable goods.

We had a ruby cut for mom from one of our stones. It was beautiful. It was about 3 - 4 carats. We also had amazonite cut with really good results.

My son found an amathyst about the size of his fist.

They do a great job teaching you afterwards what rocks are what and where they came from - and their chemical composition.

Great for education for kids that NC is full of all kinds of industries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank momma_christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    59
    13
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My kids loved Docs and the staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have 3 girls. We are always looking to do something fun everywhere we go. We found this Gem of a place placed right between Boone and Blowing Rock. One word kinda sums up Docs WONDERFUL.

The staff was excellent and knowledgeable the experience was prefect and they had a coffee shop and a amazing shopping aspect without the adventure park prices. A great place for the entire family I highly recommend Docs to everyone.

A high country must go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best there is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The only gem mining I'd even consider in the nc mountains. Great finds and education for novice miners

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancymccallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Blowing Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

A visit to Boone or Blowing Rock just isn't complete without a visit to Doc's Rocks. We visit once or twice each year and love it more with each visit. We have visited other gem mines in the state but none compare to Doc's. Doc and his wife Trina are incredible people. They are almost always on site and always have time for at least a quick visit. The employees are truly amazing. It is obvious that they love their job and they are very knowledgeable about all of the rocks and gemstones. The prices are very fair and if you buy a bucket of ore that doesn't meet their standards for the number of gemstones you should find, they will give you another bucket at no charge. After mining your gems, you sit down with an employee who goes through your treasures and tells you exactly what you have found. They also offer cutting services for an additional charge. I have had stones cut on two occasions and have been very pleased with the results. In the past couple of years they have added a coffee shop, a cutting room (knives/swords) and a birthday party room. Doc's is great! It is indeed THE destination for our family whenever we are in Blowing Rock.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 5 year old loves rocks. This was a great experience for her. Appearances were a little shady. Doc over in the corner talking shop with someone about buying and selling some rocks. Some other staff standing around watching. Just felt sketchy. But that didn't impact our positive experience. The small bucket was plenty for us. Gave us about 15-20 minutes of dirt-sifting fun. The larger buckets aren't discounted so we didn't have to spend a whole lot of time deciding. One scoop is $10, 3 are $30, and 5 are $50. If the $10 turned out to not be enough, we could grab another one or two and not spend any more per bucket than we would have if we had just bought a larger bucket to start with. Our girl didn't care to have any of her stones cut but we appreciated the staff talking us through the process and explaining what rocks we found. They also looked through our rocks when we were done to see if we missed anything.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCoyfamily, Owner at Doc's Rocks Gem Mine, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I apologize for you getting a "sketchy" or "Shady" feeling in our place of business! Our intentions are to make everyone who enters our door feel welcome and like family.
It is our goal to give everyone a positive experience and make them feel like they want to come back again and again. Doc's Rocks is a family run business based on morals which we try to pass on to our children to take care of people and treat everyone like you want to be treated. To have a review calling us shady or sketchy is hurtful and goes against everything that we try to accomplish in our business and lives. Doc's desk in which you referenced to is in the corner because of the cutting machines and is where he conducts all of his buying and selling. This desk is where we do all of our bulk sales and Doc makes it a point to keep all business like this open to the public so that there is NO question of our intentions. We would like to thank you for supporting our family business and we would appreciate you and your family returning to give us a chance to show you how our business works and answer any questions that you may have.
~ Doc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Rocks Gem Mine also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Doc's Rocks Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing