We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a motel or a dog kennel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is this a motel or a dog kennel”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

If you are a dog lover, this is the place for you. If not, stay away. There were as many dogs here and people. We stayed 3 days and only the final day was not annoyed by barking dogs left unattended in rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazybee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    162
    86
    25
    8
See reviews for
171
163
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is a great hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. The rooms were recently remodeled. The person at the front desk told us the remodel was done about 6 months ago. The only change I would make to the remodel is the toilet. The lid is against a shelf which is restricting. The bed was firm and the hotel provides both firm and soft pillows for you to use depending on your preference. Breakfast had a good selection. There were even different types of eggs to choose from (scrambled or hard boiled). The staff was very courteous. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woowoochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was polite and helpful. We were located close to the downtown area yet within a few miles of The Blowing Rock.

The only negative things we experienced was pillows. While the hotel tries hard to give you a choice of pillows, I would bring my own next time around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarjaq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Good: TV, pool, breakfast, clean, very quiet rooms/halls.
Bad: room ac didn't work well. clicked on and off all night.
Ugly: Bathroom remodel poorly done. Shelf encroaches toilet so that lid cannot stay up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Housekeeping staff here are excellent and very helpful. This is a nice place to stay if you don't want to stay in one of the more cutesy places in Blowing Rock. Much better breakfast and longer hours than some of the smaller motels in town that offer so-called continental breakfasts -- also bigger rooms. HIE is not cheap though on weekends particularly. Some other motels are less expensive but I definitely would stay at this HIE again. For some unknown reason fitness center was closed during our several night stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Level Contributor
182 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

A good value in a beautiful village. When it is HOT in the South it is 20 degrees cooler in the mountains. Blowing Rock is one of the best spots in the U. S. of A. and the Holiday Inn Express met all our needs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I chose this hotel for its central location to several mountain attractions. After a day of hiking and sightseeing, it was nice to return in the evening to a cool, relaxing room. Breakfast was plentiful and good. The friendly, helpful staff were a plus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing