We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staff was really friendly, motorcycling parking under the canopy in view of the front desk.

If you are coming off the BRP 321 is the direct route but if you are on your motorcycle and like Switchbacks and curves take 221

Rooms were clean, and beds were comfortable. Choices of soft and firm pillows

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
MichaelT

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the tips for fellow bikers that are riding the Blue Ridge Parkway. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    160
    86
    24
    8
See reviews for
169
162
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here on a visit to Blowing Rock. It is in a great location to attractions. However, there is construction in the area. The gym area is small but does offer 2 treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a free weights area. The hotel seems to be a bit old but the staff is friendly and the selection for the continental breakfast is good. The Market area has a nice selection of food and drinks. The rooms do have a microwave and refrigerator in them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
RhondaD

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the area and the many attractions. I will make sure that I pass your comments on to the staff. We try to make sure every guest has a positive experience during their stay, and I am pleased to read that we accomplished this for your stay. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as I had enough free points for a free stay. We also liked the free breakfast option (which was very expansive) and the pool (indoor but small square). It is a bit dated, but clean and staff was friendly. I think the price on the website without points seemed reasonable after stamping especially for high season (July).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lahelsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Iahelsel

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed here several times. A really nice hotel and ideal location for the area if staying with a family. The only thing I will say is that the Gym is looking very outdated and the pool is a bit tatty round the edges. However, that shouldn't take away from it being a lovely hotel and a very nice stay for the price

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
GreenMountain

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you got to enjoy the pool and the surrounding area.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We thought that this motel had a lot of perks. It was close to town and attractions. The breakfast that was included was pretty good. Like most kids, our daughter loved the pool. The view from our room on the third floor included some mountains and rolling hills. Overall, it was fairly quiet and we all slept well. Things here are a bit dated (the pool, bathrooms), but we looked past that for the deal we got and the value for our money. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Take a room on the third floor away from possible noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMountain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
GreenMountain

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you got to enjoy the pool and the surrounding area.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Front desk staff was very friendly and asked us if we had AAA or any other opportunities for discounts when we checked in. The room, however was stuffy and damp feeling. The air conditioner kept turning off by itself if we weren't constantly moving around in the room, so we would come back to a warm and damp room and also woke up a few times during the night with the room too warm. The mattress was very firm and uncomfortable. The room was large and very clean. Construction on the road in front of the hotel makes it tricky to find the entrance, but there wasn't any noise in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoxieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
MoxieDoll

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry to hear that the rest of your stay was less than enjoyable. I apologize that the A/C
would not run all the time and it made your room stuff. I will make sure that I address this with the maintenance department. We get a lot of compliments on the bedding and how comfortable they are. I apologize that you did not find this to be case in your experience. As for the road construction it will be finished in the Spring of next year ,and it will be great when we can get all the entrance signs back up at each entrance. Once again I apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. It is our goal to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay. I hope you will give us another try in the future. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service provided by Byron! Clean room, nice sized room! Convenient to Blue Ridge Parkway! We plan to go to Grandfather Mtn & it's a very accessible hotel! Restaurants nearby hotel! Great base hotel if you are traveling the Blue Ridge Pkwy!
Definitely recommend! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Missy N
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will make sure I pass your kind words on to Byron. I am glad that you also got to enjoy this beautiful area and some of the local attractions. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing