We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
161
184
95
33
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
184
95
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanpancake machinenice hotelroad constructionthe blue ridge parkwayfree breakfastindoor poolnice stayfront desk staffdiscount ticketsbiscuits and gravycinnamon rollsnice breakfaststay there againtweetsie railroadthird floorgrandfather mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice Hotel. Friendly, helpful hotel staff. Clean, well equipped rooms. Free wi fi. Nice indoor pool. Exellent breakfast choices with adequate seating. Close to downtown Blowing Rock. Easy access to Boone and surrounding locales. No restaurant on premise although very close to eating establishments..
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexxi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

lexxi18

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure and pass your kind words on to the staff.
Thanks again for staying withus, we truly appreciate it,

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice Hotel. Excellent breakfast, courteous staff, clean.The Road construction in front of it on 321 makes it difficult to get into sometimes but not always.Rooms were clean and house keeping was very good. Very convenient to downtown blowing rock and several good restaurants very close.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back, because of road noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for yor review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something that our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to housekeeping.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times while taking our children to Tweetsie Railroad. The indoor pool and free hot breakfast is wonderful with little children. My only complaint is that the weekend rates have gotten quite expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoconnell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Jmoconnell8

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again. The weekends tend to be more expensive because the demand it so high. We do offer some great weekend rates int winter and spring so you might want to take advantage of those weekends.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My son attends App State University and we decided last minute to attend a football game and stay in the area. All the hotels in Boone, NC were booked, so we looked a little further out and found the Holiday Inn Express in Blowing Rock. The hotel rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. We did not eat breakfast however, as my college student wanted to go out to a restaurant. The shower was great. The only downside was not enough plugs near the bed. My husband has sleep apnea and needs to plug his machine in near the bed of course. We had to rearrange a little bit for him to use the plug located in the light, which is nice. The hotel was slightly hard to find as their is road construction happening right in front of the hotel and it is easy to miss. I also find it to be a shame that the room rate doubled because of the event that was occurring at the college.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janellm3441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Janellm3441

Thank you so much fir your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your feedback on ways that we can improve and make some changes that woul;d make your stay more enjoyable.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My first trip back to this hotel in quite a while. While somewhat dated it has been maintained. All one expects from HIX. The Highway Dept. is widening the road and this makes entering a bit of a challenge.
Breakfast was well prepared and presented. Staff is professional and guest-friendly.
As to Blowing Rock, only a short drive/walk to one of my favorite destinations. An ideal get-away location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Alvis-f

Thank you so much for your review of out hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews