We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel did the job I guess, as we just needed a place to crash for the night and intended to get up very early in the morning to go hiking but I was really not impressed.

The continental breakfast was just okay (the hard-boiled eggs were much too cold in my opinion, and I the selection was very small compared to hotel breakfasts I have seen in the past). I "upgraded" from a room with two queens to a room with a king, and I thought the room was very small and I regretted paying the extra $5. My biggest complaint is that the carpet in our room was wet! I didn't notice when we first checked in, but after dinner when we went to settle in for the night the floor felt disgusting on my feet. I think it was not dirty, but wet from being cleaned... but it was a very unpleasant tactile sensation either way and I had to wear shoes around the room for the whole night until the moment I actually got into bed to sleep. Very annoying. The bathroom was pretty small and the toilet was tucked back under the counter which meant the seat would not stay up. I don't really think that is a big deal, but my boyfriend fount it to be a mild annoyance and a lot of other reviewers here seem to really hate that too.

I think the next time we go to Blowing Rock I would rather pay more money for one of the many places within walking distance of downtown Main Street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Chelsea B.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. The items you have mentioned will be addressed with the director or maintenence and the breakfast bar supervisor. As for the the toilet seats not staying up I have addressed this problem with the owner and we are looking at a way to correct this issue.
Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future. Please contact me at ihgexpressbr@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

First time to this hotel . We booked a King room and were very surprised at how large and beautiful the room was for the price. The décor. down to the linens were coordinated. Our room had no less than five lamps plus ceiling lights. We have traveled and booked many rooms in our life time and this by far was one of the best. The hotel staff are all friendly and keep the place very clean. The morning breakfast was good and again the hostesses were very friendly. We had a great experience at this hotel and would book again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

nanc861

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel so we appreciate and value your feedback.
Thanks sgain for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. I booked this hotel online mainly based on the good price (67.00 a night) & reviews. I have to say that it actually exceeded my expectations. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. We had a room on the 3rd floor on the backside of the motel with a view of the mountains. It was quiet & peaceful. The room black out curtains did an excellent job of keeping the room dark while sleeping. You could close the curtains and not tell if it was 11:00pm or 11:00am. The beds were very comfortable. My wife and daughter said they slept the best away from home that they had in a long time. The free breakfast had an excellent variety. It had everything from sausage and eggs to bagels and cereal. We left around 10:00am each day to go out and see the sights and when we would return around 7:00 or 8:00pm, the room had been cleaned and made up by the maid service. The room had a microwave & small refrigerator which was very convienient. There are several restaurants within a mile or so of the hotel. We ate at the mexican restaurant about 3 doors down which was very good. If you are looking for fast food (other than subway close by) you will have to drive the 8 miles to Boone. As for the negative reviews that I have read on here, all I can say is that you can't please 100% of the people all the time and some people you just can't please no matter what you do! My family & I think we made a great decision by choosing this hotel and we would have no problem choosing it again! Thanks for a great experience and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room on the back is quiet & has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Rob T.

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff.

Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of our annual bike trip to the States. Came into Boone NC but were unable to get a room. The HI in Boone always seems to be booked. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Room was nice, 1st floor at the back. Parked the bikes in the large lot to the rear of the hotel which was well lit. They actually have a bikes only parking area right in front of the hotel and in view of the staff if you want to use it. They will also give you some rags etc to clean your bike if you ask. Nice view of the mountains. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast area was nice, 24 hour coffee. You can be back on the Blue Ridge in less than 5 minutes. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm pleased that your found the staff friendly and motorcyle friendly. We try to accommodate everyone and make them feel welcome. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Didnot like the hotel.
Personal was friendly enough but with little bit stuck up
Little crampy room ...
Everything outside is big but inside the hotel little.
Didnot feel like holliday inn to me
No more blowing rock for us

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amerikafan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Amerikafan53
Thank you very much for taking the to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not like our hotel or the Blowing Rock area . I am sorry that you feel our staff was a little stuck up, normally we get lots of compliments about how friendly and helpful our staff is. I'm sorry you found the rooms small and not what you expected from a Holiday Inn Express. I hope that you will give us another try should your travels bring you back to the area. We do appreciate your feedback and depend on our guest to let us know what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not exactly a Hampton Inn but a good deal for the price. Room was clean, which is my main concern. Negatives were no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the commode lid wouldn't stay up which made things uncomfortable for my husband. Had a light bulb burnt out in the entrance to our room and it was fixed promptly. Nine year old loved the pancake machine and breakfast included fruit which was nice. Overall not a bad place to stay, beds were not the most comfortable either but again, for the price you couldn't beat it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Linda B
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. we know you have lots of choices when it comes to lodging so we appreciate your feedback. We are trying to address the issue with the toilet seats and the vent fans for the bathrooms. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very motorcycle friendly, as many of the guests are riding the Blue Ridge Parkway. Excellent staff, very helpful. The only drawback, no hot tub. After a long day riding, a hot tub would.have been really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

cjewe104
Thank you for your review of our hotel.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing your again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $86 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing