We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arrival my husband wasn't sure he even wanted to go in but because we had prepaid through a discount online service we didn't have much choice. The front desk people were very friendly and our room was clean, as was the common areas of the hotel. Since we were on vacation we chose to leave the DND tag out each morning until we left for the day. This didn't go well for us at first. On Monday, our room was cleaned but the bathroom was not serviced. I called the front desk and asked for towels and soap. They were delivered in a timely manner. On Tuesday our room was not serviced at all. Both days we were out of the room prior to noon and removed the tag. After speaking with the front desk clerk and the manager, who happened to walk by, the room was cleaned that evening and we waited in the lobby area. A note was made for the cleaning crew that we would be out of the room by noon each day, so they knew when to service it.
We did not eat the breakfast but did enjoy the fruit and beverages available throughout the day.
The workout area was clean but there was no water in the dispenser.
Overall it appeared a bit dated on the outside and is a retro look in the common area. If we return to the area if the price is right I would stay there again, despite the rough start we got off to. We spent 5 nights at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meadows87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Meadows87,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the food and beverages we offer everyday. I would like to apologize for the unacceptable service you received during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. I am also sorry for the issues you had with our fitness center. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 472 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night for a getaway weekend. It was very comforatable and clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet also. It is also convenient to shopping and restaurants. The only inconvience was the road work on 321, but that will hopefully finished soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express is an average hotel of its type. The room was clean and typically appointed. Service was fine. The breakfast was good, with a hot entree and lots of side choices. The location is not directly in town, but it is convenient. I felt that the price was a bit high, but given the area, it was on a par with other establishments. All in all, it would be a good choice to stay in the Blowing Rock area.

Room Tip: There is not much difference in room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my gf on Oct. 12, 2012. It is very clearn and the staff are very friendly. The location is very good close to the main street in Blowing Rock with all the coffee shops and restaurants. The breakfast, though, is very bad! Extremely limited choices and they serve the hot food on paper plates! They do have microwaves in the rooms though so you can bring your own food and heat it in your room. If you don't care much for breakfast, I recommend you stay here. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AR_Travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stopped on our travel down the Blue Ridge Parkway. The hotel offers very roomy rooms , big king side bed, with every thing BUT the view. But the price is very reasonable and we will let the Parkway supply the view.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We decided to take a quick trip to the mountains and holiday inn was cheap. The experience was above my expectations and would definitely stay again when we need a place to crash! There are no views, but we were only at the hotel after dark anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here on a busy Fall weekend to take my child to the Ghost Train. The hotel is nothing fancy, but the lobby and rooms are clean and updated. Our beds were comfortable and we did not hear any road noise. My son had fun in the indoor swimming pool and we all enjoyed the good (albeit carb-heavy) breakfast. Hotel is easily accessible from the highway and near some good restaurants. The quaint downtown area is just down the road and Boone is about 9 miles away. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymanfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
6.3 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $79 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing