We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express is an older hotel. There was a lot of major construction taking place on the road right outside the hotel. We were concerned that it would be noisey, but it was not. Don't let the outside of the hotel scare you as even though it is an older hotel the inside is very nice. The rooms are large, clean with comfortable bedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. Once the constuction is finished I would think the hotel would fix up the outside a bit. The location is great as you are very close to the shopping and the parkway. We would stay here again if in Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    171
    90
    25
    8
See reviews for
180
170
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had to be moved from first room... in between mattress was questionable. The second room was clean but tub wouldn't drain properly. The night staff was not too friendly but the morning crew was helpful. the breakfast was good and well stocked. not sure I would stay there again. Definitely room for much improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Shawn W,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the breakfast served during your stay. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our hotel staff and room accommodations. We truly value comments may it be positive or negative as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was my first visit to Blowing Rock and the hotel was recommended by a friend. Great place to stay! The staff was very attentive, the room was very clean and up-to-date. The breakfast had plenty of variety, the food was fresh and plentiful and the eating area was roomy and clean. For the value, it exceeded my expectations. If I'm back in the area, this is the place I'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend. Because I'm on a special diet, I appreciated the refrigerator in the room. We had 2 queen beds so we could bring our adult daughter with us. Staff were friendly. They have free breakfasts, okay food. Get there early or you won't find a seat. I was disappointed in their gym. They had a stationery bike, 2 ellipticals, and 1 treadmill. The equipment while functional, was very rough to work out on. Nice indoor pool. Although there is major roadwork going on in front of the hotel, we never had a problem with noise, as we had a room in the back of the hotel facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nose4roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one night at this motel until we could get into our condo rental in the area. Staff was very nice and friendly. Our rooms were on the lower level and seemed musty to me. They were clean, but I have stayed at much nicer Expresses. There did seem to be a lot work going on around the hotel. I am wondering if it use to be another brand and recently changed ownership.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room. Avoid the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyBreezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear KentuckyBreezing,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on our staff and the level of service provided. I apologize for the shortcomings you had experienced during your stay and regret that the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love the renovated Holiday Inn Expresses and their priority club rewards so much that we exclusively look for HI now when booking a hotel. I got this night for half off by redeeming some points. The place was booked solid but for one room when we arrived! Nice furnishings, nice place. Very convenient location. We did have some bathroom issues which I told the front desk about upon leaving. The tub didn't drain and the vent didn't work in the bathroom. I might have cared more if we were staying more than one night. I always appreciate the free breakfast. It may not be the greatest in the world, but it's free!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here recently for business, just for one night. I typically stay in Lenoir, about a half hour south, because a room at the Days Inn is about half the price, but every hotel was booked solid because of the Little Miss North Carolina Pageant.
The front desk staff was very nice, the room was very clean. Since my stay was less than 12 hours, it was a little pricey for my needs, but the best I could find on short notice. If I was traveling on vacation and staying a longer time period, I would definitely recommend this hotel, as it is very convenient to downtown Blowing Rock, and a very comfortable, clean stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing