We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice B&B, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Ragged Gardens
Ranked #6 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very nice B&B, great location”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Very well run B&B. Rooms are extremely nice and the location is awesome. The onsite restaurant is very good too. Beautiful home inside and out. Have stayed in about 7 or so Bed and Breakfasts in the last few years and this is the nicest by far! Location is centrally located. Only downside at all is that you can hear footsteps above you if you are on bottom floor but it really wasnt a big deal to me. The innkeeper was very honest about it when I booked it.

  • Liked — very pretty property
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seenybeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
96
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We had a wonderful two-night stay here. The location is great - the inn is a block or two away from downtown Blowing Rock's restaurants and shops. We stayed in the Oakleaf Suite, which was very large (including an oversize bathroom) and comfortable with a small patio overlooking the gardens. In addition to doing the big things right (good customer service, terrific accommodations, etc.), there were a number of small touches to put this over the top (e.g., free cookies and beverages at all times). Our only minor complaint was that in our room you could hear pretty clearly the comings and goings of other guests using the staircase and floor above. On the whole, however, we would highly recommend this spot to others.

  • Liked — High-quality room and general atmosphere
  • Disliked — Noisy staircase/floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templeheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Inn several times and I am NOT a big Bed and Breakfast fan but must say, this place has gotten my attention. The Innkeeper and staff are fantastic and always make sure ample fresh cookies at night and plenty of cheese and crackers with wine at 5 PM complementary. The Best Cellar Restaurant in the Inn is busy, however the best place to dine with a first class menu in Blowing Rock. We have had our college son and friends join us every time and they love the place. The rooms are large as our favorite is the tree house with a TV so I can get my ESPN updates.
Breakfasts menus change daily and are great and of course are included in the room rate.
Another favorite room of ours is the Monet which has a large terrace to enjoy the cool nights.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank slrenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

My husband and just returned from our annual anniversary trip to Blowing Rock, NC. We have stayed at several Inn's there but, for the past few years have loved The Inn at Ragged Gardens. Unfortuneately, this year the Inn was sold to new owners who are more interested in the Restaurant business than the Inn business. We stayed 2 nights in the most expensive room and were not even given an opportunity to eat in the restaurant(The Best Cellar) that moved there and now owns the Inn. Yes, it was a busy weekend but, we made our reservations in May of this year. The usually quaint lobby is now a mecca for persons waiting for dinner and spill overs from the bar area. There was no personal attention given not even a glass of champagne for our anniversary(the previous owner always left us a chilled bottle in our room when we returned from dinner). The 5 o'clock reception was no more than thawed frozen shrimp and crackers and cheese. There was very little "getting to know" the others there due to the crowds coming in for dinner. Both mornings after breakfast I noticed none of the restrooms or trash and been cleaned from the night before. When we checked out no one even cared to ask if we enjoyed our stay or if everything was okay. We will not return to this Inn again. JC

  • Liked — Location, room
  • Disliked — The new ownership
  • Tips/Secrets — Make dinner reservations early, check restaurant rating.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jcausey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Hands down one of the very best bed and breakfasts we've stayed in. We just needed a weekend away and Ragged Gardens was the perfect getaway with a great location in walking distance to Blowing Rock shops and restaurants. The rooms are beautiful - ours had a fireplace and balcony - and so immaculately cared for, just incredibly clean! Breakfast was delicious. Everything was perfect - we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy7503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

The Inn at Ragged Gardens defines what a bed and breakfast should be. A quiet restful, romantic spot in the North Carolina mountains, the inn is located in downtown Blowing Rock. Each room has a different theme (and price), but all are more than comfortable and all enjoy the same high level of service and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2004

Stayed in the Treehouse Suite in early November, 2004. It was beautiful! Bark covered walls, beams across ceiling were tree branches. Very comfy king bed. 2 sided gas fireplace, jacuzzi, shower and steam shower, and 2 balconies. Host was wonderful. Enjoyed wine and snacks with other guests while 2 fireplaces lit. Dinner next door at Crippens was good, but that place is overrated. Breakfast was wonderful, and they are happy to accomodate special requests. Highly recommend this inn.

Helpful?
5 Thank Aerosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Gardens

Property: The Inn at Ragged Gardens
Address: 203 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Gardens Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing