We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and great inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Ragged Gardens
Ranked #6 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and great inn!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly staff, great breakfasts, wonderful location: this place has it all in Blowing Rock. Evening wine and cheese hour is a good way to meet fellow guests. Gardens are gorgeous and meticulously maintained. Restaurant, The Best Cellar, is first class. We'll return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    26
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
98
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were upgraded to the Inn at Ragged Gardens from their sister B&B Maple Lodge and it was a grand experience. We had a huge suite with outside balcony overlooking the front gardens. On Friday nights the Inn hosts a live concert with talented local mountain rock and folk artists. The service at Inn at Ragged Gardens is impeccable, from the hostess who greets you at check-in to the housekeepers, dining room staff and gardeners. The staff is friendly, welcoming and obviously proud of their establishment. For guests the amenities include a full breakfast in the dining room, hors d'ouevres and wine 5 - 6 pm and a butler's pantry stocked with soda and bottled water, freshly baked cookies, and coffee and tea supplies as well as a microwave and silverware in case (like us) you opt for take-out from one of the many restaurants in Blowing Rock.

We stayed three nights this year and have already decided to extend our stay to 4 nights next year. There are only 12 rooms at the Inn so it feels very intimate. The vintage "lodge look" of the exterior and interior, beautifully restored and maintained, just adds to the ambience.

If you wish to go the the beautiful mountain country of North Carolina for a little retreat, the Inn at Ragged Gardens in the place for you!

Room Tip: The Chinese Magnolia suite is gorgeous and huge but you can hear the footsteps from the suite above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig-Amy624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during a drive down the Blue Ridge Parkway. The weather was atrocious &, because of that, we missed out on some of the advantages of the inn... the inn has attractive gardens & we were looking forward to dinner on the terrace & to the regular Friday night "music on the lawn" neither of which was available.
The inn has a fantastic location. Blowing Rock is a compact town, very close to the BRP, with shops & restaurants literally 2 minutes walk from the inn. The inn itself is a stone & wooden building - old fashioned in a good kind of way. When we got there a gas log fire was burning in one of the sitting areas downstairs with comfortable seats all around - a good first impression.
Our room (Camelot) was at the top of the stairs. The wooden floors creak & groan a bit but it didn't disturb our sleep at all. Camelot has an anteroom with a separate day bed which provided us with plenty of room to spread out into. The bed wasn't the largest we have slept in but was perfectly adequate. There was separate a/c for each room (although a bit noisy). We had no complaints about the room at all.
When we arrived we were greeted by Lesley who we interacted with several times during the break. She was extremely helpful & provided excellent service. There is a complimentary wine & cookies / snack hour for guests each evening which is a welcome touch (although the wine wasn't to my taste). We ate at the inn's restaurant: the Best Cellar & the meal was good.
Breakfast was fine both days. It is served in the restaurant &, although the selection is quite small, they were quite happy to adjust the offering to suit.
Overall, I was very happy with the inn. I would recommend Blowing Rock & the inn to anyone needing to stay in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrssandgrounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains of nc
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently visited the Ragged Garden Inn. The grounds were beautiful upon arrival. The Inn is nice, but the room was not worth the 250.00 not including tax!
If you like windows and light, do not choose the Oakleaf Suite. There is no light in the entire 2-room suite except the door that leads to the paito. And, the patio is shared by the room next door, so if someone is sitting there you don't want your blinds open!
It's just the opposite at night. There is a stained glass window in the sitting area of the suite that opens to the hall. The light from the hallway shines in the room all night and there is no way avoid this unless you were to turn off the hallway light. Then the other guests can't see to their room.
There is only one chair in the sitting area, so not really condusive to cozy sitting. Plus it's so dang dark!
There is no central AC to this room. The only AC is a portable unit next to the bed that is very loud. It is also not very user friendly.
The tub is nice if you want a whirlpool experience, but it is hard to get in and out of. A nice tiled walk-in shower with jets would be much better.
The soaps are fine, but this Inn used to offer shampoo and conditioner, and now it's combined. Not a big deal for most people, but the brand used to be nicer.
The worst part were the sheets. The quality was something I would expect in a 2 star motel. I have seen nicer sheets at the Holiday Inn Express. These were stiff and the thread count could not have been over 250. For a room this expensive, I expect something more in keeping with a 4-star hotel.
There was wine at five, but the kind you find on the bottom shelf of the grocery store.
There was a stocked pantry, which was nice --bottled water and soda's and very good cookies.
The breakfast was very good. A choice of two main items were offered. The wait staff was very pleasant and service was good.
It seems that this Inn is not quite what it used to be. I heard that the owners have other properties or businesses, and this is not their main concern.
I would usually just ignore all this, but for 250.00, one would expect a bit more.

Room Tip: Choose one of the original rooms of the home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmrzwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a nice place! Everything about our night here was great. Had cocktail hour sitting in adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The beds are so comfy. You can control the room temp. Just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in the Tree House- unique room, great atmosphere- lots of cookies, wine and snacks at 5, and the big breakfasts were all excellent...loved all of the plants and flowers...very convenient to Blowing Rock...they are also opening at tavern across the street

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottaplayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best B&B I have ever
Experienced. Stayed in the Magnolia room that had a large outdoor patio. The room was spacious and nicely decorated.
The Inn's staff are cheerful and seem to be genuinely interested in making your stay pleasant and comfortable. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwhtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
603 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Gardens

Property: The Inn at Ragged Gardens
Address: 203 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Gardens Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing