We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality in a fantastic location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpine Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Southern hospitality in a fantastic location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I—along with our K9 companion—have stayed at the Alpine Village Inn twice and we'll definitely be going back again in the future. In fact, the only thing that upsets us when it comes to AVI is that we didn't discover it soon enough. If you're looking for a great value within walking distance to all of Blowing Rock's shopping and dining options, then this is the place for you, especially if you're looking for a pet-friendly option. The Blue Ridge Parkway is also nearby; we had a 15-minute drive and within minutes we were hiking in what felt like a remote location. Though the rooms (and specifically the bathroom) are rather small, for the price and convenience it is not remotely an issue. Aside from its inherent charm, innkeepers Katherine and Charles anre beyond friendly, and always willing to offer local recommendations and advice.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Rooms 1 and 3 and enjoyed both equally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    54
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
108
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying here every time we visit the area. Katherine and Charles have done a wonderful job. You cannot beat the Alpine Village Inn for its location, hospitality, cleanliness, and the cozy comfort and quiet of the rooms. The rooms are small, but that adds to the charm. Staying there places us within easy walking distance from the main street and a short drive to Boone and surrounding attractions. We recently visited the area for our anniversary and Katherine arranged at my request to have flowers and champagne waiting in the room to surprise my wife. As usual, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwhdrk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just came back from a family weekend trip for my wife's birthday. It was our first time in this part of NC and we'll be back if for no other reason than our stay at the Alpine Village Inn. The rooms are cozy and clean and I cannot remember getting a better night's sleep in a hotel and I travel A LOT! It's located dead in the middle of downtown Blowing Rock, and a short drive from all the restaurants you could ever need. The owners, Charlie and Katherine, are Florida transplants who embody Southern hospitality. What a gem of an inn, and we can't wait to come back in the summer.

Room Tip: Two swanky suites are also available, so ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Innkeepers at Alpine Village Inn exemplify southern hospitality. We brought our pooch with us on our ski vacation, and they took the little guy out 3 different times during one of our longer ski days. Where else could you go to get this kind of hospitality? We were blown away.

In addition, the cleaning staff was incredibly friendly and did a great job. Our unit was very clean. We felt right at home in this cozy Inn.

Room Tip: Our bathroom was very small, however the overall experience was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location... only a few blocks from the main street in Blowing Rock. The room was very clean however very small. The bathroom was very small but looks nice and clean. The grounds were nicely landscaped. I would recommend this for the money because of the location.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool nor fitness center. It is a small motel that looks like it has been reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azalea96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpinevillageinn, Manager at Alpine Village Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Would like to let everyone know that we have standard rooms,deluxe rooms and suites. Obviously the standard low price rooms are going to be smaller and are priced accordingly like every other hotel. Our Deluxe rooms and suites are very spacious and have jacuzzis, fireplaces and kitchenettes. Feel free to experience these clean spacious rooms on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are nice and comfy and in walking distance of historic downtown Blowing Rock. Charles & Katherine Smid are gracious hosts and feel like family! They told us of interesting places to eat and "the boys" Max & Harley are fun to hang out with! The cleaning staff, Margie and Patsy were very friendly and do a great job keeping the rooms clean. The linens are top notch!

We will definitely be back again soon!
Beth & Glenda

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BShocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This family run motel is perfect for an overnight stay in a quiet area of Blowing Rock. The bedroom was small, but not cramped; the quilted rugs and country decor were welcoming in the manner that you would expect from Grandma's spare room. It was very clean, and the Queen-sized bed was quite comfortable (if you're OK with sleeping on a single pillow). The bathroom was spotless and well-equipped. In-room coffee was provided; it was no worse than that on offer at most American hotels. All of the "standard cable package" TV channels were available, there was free WiFi, and an itty-bitty refrigerator that you can safely unplug if, like me, your sleep improves when the gurgling and rattling is silenced. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhantomTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Inn

Property: Alpine Village Inn
Address: 297 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alpine Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing