We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed in the Signature Romance cabin for our 25th anniversary and loved it! Staff (including Boo the cat) was wonderful and accommodated our every request. They even had a surprise waiting for us when we arrived! TVs are not new but we didn't ever want to use them in such a lovely town. Bed was very comfortable! Great location! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erbauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Manager at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing that special time with us. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to celebrating your 26th anniversary with you.
P.S. New TV arriving soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    72
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
99
240
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a great place! We stayed in The Bear Cub - one of their off-site cabins and it was just great. Jim, Deborah and Donna were all so friendly and helpful both on the phone and in person. We will be back and will also recommend!
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sage W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
So glad you enjoyed The Bear Cub Cabin. We all love it too! Nothing is greater than friends recommending friends to stay here. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Paid 200 per night for a koa type cabin , booked over the phone . Was going bye the reviews . Cabin was very small , furnished with flea market or yard sale items . No tv In little bedroom , had 2 very small window unit A/C . No way they could keep it cool on a hot day , thankfully weather was mild when we were there . Unit in bedroom made vibrating noises and kept me up all night . The old sofa swallowed me when I sat down . The comforter on the bed and all the hodge podge of throw pillows smelled and look as if never seen a washing machine . 5 cabins 4 parking spaces need I say more . All cabins squeezed In a tiny lot on top each other right on street

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saltydandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We strive to please all of our guests and truly regret that you were not pleased. What you apparently viewed as “flea market” items we and most of our guests enjoy and value for their eclectic and artistic value. All of our linens are of superior quality and are kept clean. Our cabin beds were custom built of reclaimed barn wood to maintain the authenticity and character of a true cabin. The mission style sofa is not old and we are sorry you found it uncomfortable.

We have had no problems with the window air conditioning units cooling the cabins and are pleased that is was not a problem for you.

We also maintain a designated parking space for each cabin.

Our “in town cabins” are located right on Main Street, enabling our guests to walk to the lovely shops and wonderful restaurants located in downtown. For our guests that prefer an out of town experience we also have cabins located a short distance from town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable, clean, and close to everything in town. Small rooms but very well maintained. Friendly, and helpful staff added to a fantastic stay. Would definitely book a room here next time in Blowing Rock.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for staying here and for taking the time to submit the favorable review. We realize the rooms are small but we make every effort to make them pleasing to our guests. We all look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Rooms are small but spotless. Grounds are beautiful. Staff very helpful. The only negative is that a lot of the guests were sitting outside the rooms to smoke so we couldn't open the windows and of course the smoke wafted into our room anytime we opened the door. Wish they had a designated smoking area that wasn't right in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We have given a lot of consideration to your review. Smokers are a challenge to us and we don't allow smoking in the rooms. Maybe one of the cabins or the queen room on the end of the inn would be better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can not say enough good things about this Hotel. The Owners were so very nice they made you feel so welcome. The rooms were very clean . The outside was so beautiful very well landscaped. It is so cozy and a great get away.

Room Tip: All the rooms were goody he rooms are all on one floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

What more can you ask for? This roadside inn is along Main Street in Blowing Rock - a lovely town. Our room had a small, clean full bath, two double beds, a small desk, dresser, minifridge and nighttable. The beds were beautifully made - pillowed and welcoming. The room was lovely, quiet and there were chairs outside, as well as a garden area where the hosts light a fire in the chiminea style fire pit at night, where guests can sit and chat. We only wish we had more time to explore this town and enjoy this in. We did run the air-conditioner at night which was a bit noisy, but we could have shut it off and opened a (different) window, had we chosen. The inn was walking distance to shops, restaurants, the town park, and a short drive to many sights (which the owners are happy to recommend and describe). There is wifi in the room, though not as strong as up by the office. There are log cabins, also along Main St. we did not visit but the gardens there, like those at the motel, were lovely. Although there is no pool, we were told there is access to the beautiful nearby town pool.

Room Tip: You might want one farther from the road so folks hanging out in the garden don't disturb you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Property: Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing