We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Mountain Atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quaint Mountain Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This Inn has individual rooms in the lodge with comfortable decorations and furnishings, and nicely appointed one and two bedroom cabins. Very clean and well organized with cable TV and free wifi internet. GREAT location in downtown Blowing Rock so an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants.
If you're a gardener, you'll love the landscaping and flowers - top quality that would rival The Biltmore or Duke Gardens, just smaller.

Room Tip: Easy to find in downtown Blowing Rock, parking right in front of the rooms. If need quiet, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    74
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
105
247
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love the old motel feeling, I have been several times but this time I shared the experience with someone very special. He feel in love with the place, at night there was a fire burning in the fire pit with plenty of chairs surrounding the warmth. We were able to listen to live music on Friday and Saturday night at a near by motel. One of the best things about this place is the owners, they make you feel so welcomed, like part of the family! We also like being able to walk to shops, restaurants, park and just quiet, hand holding walking.

Others complain about small room..........how large is a motel room suppose to be? Besides we were not there to stay in the room.....................give us the outdoors!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room was small and the bathroom even smaller. The only way to use the mirror over the sink was to open the cabinet to an angle. The shower was very frustrating...hot then ice cold...then eventually it would get hot again. Not at all what I expected after reading some of the reviews. I will say the mattress was very nice and it was clean. But there are no curtains, only blinds right next to a walkway and the lights outside the doors shine in the room all night. It is right around the corner from the main street.

Room Tip: Don't forget your hair-dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah3926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We appreciate the reviews and are proud of our rating on TripAdvisor. We occasionally get a post about the size of our rooms and would like to address this. Our inn and the rooms were built in 1954, and since then, the norm for room sizes in hotels has increased. In order to provide more guest comfort and space in the rooms we have continued our remodeling efforts and actually increased the space of them over the past few months. These include replacing furniture with antique pieces that add a unique feel, that have been specially selected to better utilize space, and upgrading many of our televisions to flat screens.

Many guests have commented that the rooms are much more spacious, comfortable, and each one is unique. They have a special feel compared to more modern hotels. We have identified the specific problems mentioned in the post and have been able to make upgrades to all of our rooms to improve accessibility and comfort.

Thank you all for your reviews; we love all of the feedback as we continue to make improvements and upgrades to our inn and cabins.

And please consider one of our 5 cabins if you are looking for a little more space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is great! The lady in charge is so nice and the way things are setup are wonderful. Though the rooms may be a bit small, the cabins have more than enough room. There is always music on the lawn/fire pit area and good Wifi and Cable TV options. It is also right next to Main Street in Blowing Rock, so you can easily walk to everything good in town. Great place to stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach sc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a great place,walking distance to town,very clean room,family run motel,The grounds were immaculate,nice sitting area by the fire,and best of all our host Deborah was a really wonderful lady who made us feel at home and made sure all of our needs were met.We will be back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This family owned lodge is just what you would expect in a small mountain town. The only thing missing is a good view..! The rooms are cosy and comfortable ....the reception lounge is beautifully decorated...even has movies you can borrow at no cost. There is an awesome breakfast joint opposite the hotel...don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganguliarumay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Family owned, this little lodge was very clean and in an excellent location. It was within walking distance to several shops and restaurants and the staff was very helpful with recommendations. If you are coming down the Blue Ridge Parkway, it is a nice, easy on and off. We definitely recommend staying here if you stop in Blowing Rock!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaRigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.1 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Property: Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing