We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great amenities overall, close to charm & recreation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Black Mountain
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great amenities overall, close to charm & recreation”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We love the price & We love the location- feels faraway yet is close to major highways. Located in a cute mountain town, it is walking distance to quaint local eateries and taverns. Amenities that allow me to get away from my job include fast wifi. Originally an older property, it has been remodeled & upgraded- the the beds were comfortable, the newer furniture attractive, the plumbing works like you hope but don't always get even in an expensive hotel ( I hate a slow draining shower) I will be back

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor rear, you have a big mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    147
    91
    84
See reviews for
171
140
65
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. We arrived late after a long drive from Florida. The night desk clerk was pleasant and very helpful. Before taking our bags out of the car, we carefully inspected the room. It was very clean. The room even had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. They advertise a free continental breakfast, but it is all carbs; bread, muffins, danish. So we went down the street for breakfast. If you usually stay at 3 or 4 star hotels, you probably would not be happy here. It is an older motel. You won't find 500 thread count sheets. The TVs are not flat screen, but they do have cable. The WI-FI works well in the room. This is a good deal for $50.00.

Room Tip: If you pay in advance on the Super 8 website, you will get a better price than if you just make a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were a little put off by the negative reviews posted but figured since it is a Wyndham property they would be required to meet minimum corporate standards. We were not disappointed. First, it is an older property which I like but it won't suit everyone. Next it is clean and everything worked and the amenities included a microwave, a mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer ,shampoo, fluffy towels and a strong in-room wifi signal. Breakfast was low end but with coffee at McDonalds at $3 a cup it's nice to have unlimted regular and decaf included in the room rate which BTW was $49 per night for a double. I must say the management and staff were,without exception, wonderful. The property also has a pool and is in walking distance of restuarants and downtown. If you're a fan of budget hotels the Super 8 should be your choice in Black Mountain.

Room Tip: We liked Room 108 close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the years and it's great. No, it's not a 5 star resort but if you're looking for a basic place to stay while enjoying Black Mountain, stay here. The rates are very very reasonable and what's best is that you can walk safely to town to enjoy the sites, restaurants and bars. The staff are friendly and accommodating and it's always a pleasure to go there. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejkopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Clean comfortable place in the heart of Black Mountain and only 15 minutes from Asheville. It's not luxury, but good value for the money. Staff is helful and accomodating. Have stayed many times here and never had a bad experience.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ManofMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here sept 2011, real friendly staff, hotel a bit dated but clean and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: book up stairs non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENGLISHTOURIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in August 2010, (see review and photos), and returned Late September 2011. Everything still satisfactory considering the low price with the coupon. This time we were in building two(?) room 122. We thought the beds were extra comfortable. When traveling by car, as opposed to our motorcycle, I always carry my own pillow to solve the "too thin, too thick"
pillow problem. We will be returning to the Super 8 Black Mountain again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krs33031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
18.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Black Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Black Mountain

Property: Super 8 Black Mountain
Address: 101 Flat Creek Rd, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Black Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Black Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Black Mountain Hotel Black Mountain
Super Eight Black Mountain
Black Mountain Super Eight
Black Mountain Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing