We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good pizza”
Review of My Father's Pizza

My Father's Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“pretty good pizza”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Friday night dinner, we had about a 10-15 minute wait (lots of others in town for an event in Black Mtn). We ordered the 12" Skinny Pig (bacon, carmelized onions & asiago topped w/arugula & balsalmic glaze) & added pepperoni & pineapple, which came to $16.20 for the pizza. The crust is thin crust, which we liked, but some people may prefer thicker crust. The waitress was friendly & food came out pretty quickly as well, even though the place was crowded. We also tried 2 different slices of cheesecake (the turtle cheesecake was yummy), but I thought the price for 2 slices was a tad on the high side--$9 (which is odd to think 2 slices of cheesecake cost more than 1/2 of a 12" custom pizza!) Next time I'm up that way I will also try Fresh (another pizza place we heard was good).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1highplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    154
    45
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hits the spot, but thats about it”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We needed to eat supper and this place seemed pretty busy. The staff were marginally attentive. The lasagna and pizza were pretty much average. There is nothing wrong with average when you are hungry :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PineBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Where the locals and tourists go for classic pizza parlor fare...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food is always consistent. We gravitate toward the same top 10 items, and they are all great. Good selection of micro-brews if you like that (great with pizza). The kids menu is a crowd- pleaser, and the staff are kind and helpful, willing to answer questions that you may have about the menu or the surrounding area. Never had a bad experience. Can be very busy during tourist season, so plan on a wait during prime times (people tend to linger on the patio seating area). We are locals, and know it is worth the wait.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good pizza”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our first night in town and we wanted a quick meal. We had the breadsticks to begin with. They come with the homemade spag. sauce. They were warm and soft. We ordered pizza. Their large is only 14 inches so we ordered 2 pies. The pepperoni was crispy, the pizza was saucy, really good. We will go back to check out some of their sandwiches.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jencon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Don't waste your time. We were told there would be a wait of 25 minutes. We waited 1 hour and 5 minutes and when I questioned why we had been skipped twice, they were very rude. We had a party of 6 and they seated a party of 4 and 5 that were there after us. We finally left after 1 hour and 5 minutes. We will never return and would not recommend. Management was rude and told everyone that came in 25 - 30 minutes, I guess that was their standard quote.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Father's Pizza also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to My Father's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing