We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food!”

The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We ate supper and breakfast at the Red Rocker Inn Restaurant when we stayed there for our 46th wedding anniversary. We were not very hungry after our strawberries and champagne, but we each ordered an entree and shared a bottle of wine. My husband got the trout with mashed sweet potatoes and green beans. I got the entree salad with crab cakes. Everything was perfectly prepared and fresh. Chris brought out two wines for us to try and we chose the Savignon Blanc which was crisp and dry - just right. We didn't save room for dessert, unfortunately. Next time! The next morning, we were the only ones there for breakfast and Doug was willing to prepare anything that they normally have on their buffet. We both chose the homemade granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, biscuits, coffee, and grapefruit juice. Doug was very attentive and kept our coffee cups full and brought out more yogurt. Everything was perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    35
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice Blend of Country Casual and Fine Dining”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sat in the enclosed porch on an evening not long before Christmas. Atmosphere was nice. Chris, our server, was very pleasant. Splurged for a couple of glasses of red wine, which was very nice. Shared the artichoke dip, and it was pretty good. Shared a goat cheese and beet salad, which we enjoyed a lot. Shared the crab cakes, which were surprisingly good. Shared a steak, which was also very good. Had two desserts, the peppermint ice-cream cake and the Italian cake with the orange custard filling. Both were excellent! Had a very nice time here and would love to return to stay for a couple of days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The kindness of the hosts and the simple, pretty furnishings made this place a real treat. It's Southern hospitality and tasty food, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL :”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Food, staff, & ambiance absolutely top shelf. We've taken guests there & each time were very impressed. Service & servers fantastic. Reservations required but we were seated at just about the time of our reservation! [Unusual.] We have been there several times & each time was a real treat! The biscuits are yummy, & the crab cakes are melt-in-your- mouth good. The steaks have been cooked to perfection each time. & the desserts!!! Oooooooooooooh, good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bookworm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing better”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant combines has warm southern hospitality and ffod that can't be beat at reasonable prices. The menu chages seasonally and is rich with local produce. The summer salad was a delightful combination or watermelon, greens, tomatoes with a light dressing. The sides are always yummy - my husband's all time favorite is their blue cheese and bacon mac & cheese. Huge desserts are hard to resist and large enough to share; the humingbird cake is worth the trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing