We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Rest easy at The Red Cottage in beautiful Black Mountain, NC!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rest easy at The Red Cottage in beautiful Black Mountain, NC!
The Red Cottage at dusk. Relax on the open porch in one of the Cracker Barrel rocking chairs or Amish crafted glider bench
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Rest easy at The Red Cottage in beautiful Black Mountain, NC!
The Red Cottage at dusk.
Relax on the open porch in one of the Cracker Barrel rocking chairs or Amish crafted glider bench
View from the front porch
Main entrance with security lock; driveway is level with the street
Parlor entrance
Fully equipped kitchen; condiments and organic spices
All new appliances! Desktop computer with secure wifi.
A dropleaf mahogany table with setting for 8
Kitchen counter with 4 bar stools and game cabinet
Game cabinet with adults and children activities
Livingroom with wide Sherrill sofa, Lazyboy recliner and antique rocking chair
Brochures and current listing of special events
Living room with 50' Samsung HDTV, sound bar and premium package cable service
Spare room with Daybed with pullout trundle
Spare room with Samsung 40' HDTV, dresser, closet and adjoining bathroom
Small library with books and DVD's for adults and children
Bedroom with queen posterpedic mattress, very comfy linens and bedside shelves
Bedroom with patchwork sewn quilt and antique dresser
Master bedroom with queen size posterpedic mattress and adjoining bathroom
Master bedroom with 40' Samsung HDTV, closet and an antique dresser
Bathroom with shower/tub combo
Bathroom with hair dryer, linens and complementary toiletries
Bathroom with high commode, grab bar and stand-up shower
Bathroom with hair dryer, linens and complementary toiletries
Stacked washer and dryer. Laundry detergent supplied with no dyes or perfumes
Enjoy your stay at 'The Front Porch of WNC' with 'The Best of WNC'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Black Mountain, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FrequentF...
1 review
“The perfect getaway!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Red Cottage was perfect for our annual high school reunion of 6 ladies in their 60's.We enjoyed the porch for morning coffee and evening cocktails as well as all the details provided by Monica and John. We were close to the Biltmore and toured there as well as a day of downtown Asheville. We really loved the Friday evening drum circle. We had every thing we needed in the Red Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
It was a treat to host Beverly and her classmates during their annual high school reunion. We thought it pretty awesome that the 6 of them have stay close friends for so long and we were happy to help them to toast their long standing friendship with champagne. Beverly was very personable and her group took excellent care of the property! We would welcome them back at anytime with open arms!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M
1 review
“Vaca for Niece's Wedding”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage with walk-in accommodations. Friendly, warm atmosphere where all your needs are met when you open the door. Owners have thought of every need and have extras to fit that "ooops I forgot" feeling. Cozy, afghans, pillows at the seating arrangements and the beds are so comfortable (at least the one I slept in). Front porch offers rocker relaxation and back door has grilling if needed. Oh, the area has great views not to mention "Okie Dokie" a nearby barbecue that we enjoyed more than once. Uber & Lyft are available in the area for events that you do not wish to drive to on your own and are extremely reasonable. Go...enjoy yourself!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
We were delighted to serve as hosts to this fun-loving family during their niece's wedding! Michele communicated their needs and responded promptly to emails! They packed a lot into their 3 night stay and we were very happy to know that they took full advantage of their time with us! We highly recommend this family to any vacation rental host and look forward to their next visit to our awesome town!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global142...
1 review
“The Red Cottage was great”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Red Cottage. It was conveniently located to the sites we wished to visit.
The owners Monica and John left us goodies and were easy to get in touch with.
It was all Great!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
We recommend this group to any vacation rental host! They took excellent care of the property and we have absolutely no complaints!
It makes us very happy to know that The Red Cottage continues to meet the high standards that our guests have come to expect from us.
Come back often and take advantage of the 10% discount that we offer to our returning guests! Hope to see you soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
It is such a pleasure to serve as your hosts and to be of assistance in anyway that we can. Black Mountain is a beautiful travel destination and a great place to retire! Good choice -the community is second-to-none!
We want to thank you and your daughter-in-law for being outstanding guests! We have absolutely no complaints, what-so-ever. The property was left in great shape at checked out and we highly recommend this family to any vacation rental host. We would gladly welcome them back at anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nomad6799...
1 review
“The cottage was very clean and exceptionally well equipped.”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It took several days to discover all of the "goodies." Monica has thought of everything and then some. It would have been nice to have read a brief history of the cottage in the information book. Night lights in both bathrooms would be nice for us old folks. I kept looking for a clock in my bedroom on my trips to the bathroom in the night. Also some of the throw rugs were possible trip hazards. (Just some comments for consideration.) Great facility!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Thank you Bob for the 5-Star review of your stay at The Red Cottage! It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and your family, grand-dogs included.
We especially appreciate your comments and suggestions. Our guest's feedback is given careful consideration and helps us to remain listed as one of the top, affordable vacation rentals in the area.
Rest assured that night lights will be added to the bathrooms and all rugs will be checked and secured to the floor for safety. We did opt out for clocks in the bedrooms. Because of the extensive use of personal cellphones for time and alarms -the jury is still out on that one.
Thank you again for the great review and suggestions! As always, a very special thanks to you and your daughter for your many years of service to our country!
We hope to reserve with you and your family again during your next trip to Black Mountain.
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
1 review
“Black Mountain”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife, our small dog and I stayed in the Red Cottage for the month of March. From the moment we walked in, we felt comfortable and "at home". The layout was perfect for us. Everything was labeled and easy to find. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a bottle of wine and chocolates on the table. The backyard is large and plenty of space to walk our dog. We used the outside Weber grill several times. Walking to the center of town is easy with sidewalks all the way. Black Mountain has much to offer with great restaurants, walking trails, Lake Tomahawk and antiquing. It was a great time of year to fly fish on the Davidson River in Brevard and Catawba River in Marion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
We were absolutely thrilled to have Mark, Barbara and their sweet pup stay at The Red Cottage during the month of March! We do not always get the opportunity to meet our guests and we were very happy to get the opportunity to meet the Callahan's. It was fabulous to hear about all the fun that they had during their stay -did we mention fly fishing ;-) This sweet couple was very personable, communicated their needs prior to confirming their reservation and the property was spotless when they checked out! As vacation rental hosts we do our very best to provide our guests with all of the comforts of home. Receiving a 5-Star review from long-term guests is particularly rewarding for us. This indicates to us that as a temporary 'home' your needs were met and our goal was accomplished! We highly recommend the Callahan's to any vacation rental host and would gladly reserve with them again and again during their future visits to the Black Mountain/Asheville area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny P
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have rented vacation homes all over this country for the last 20 years, from Bar Harbor Maine to Lake Arrowhead CA and from the Great Smoky Mountains in North Carolina to the Olympic Peninsula in Washington state, and we have never stayed in a home where the owner put so much thought into making the stay better for the renter. We marveled at all of the little things that were provided in case the renter needed it. What's more, we got to take our twos small dogs along--our first vacation with our pets. It was a pleasure to not have to hire a house sitter. The dogs seemed to enjoy our stay as much as we did. Having a fenced yard was very helpful. The home provides easy access to Black Mountain and the surrounding areas. It should be noted that it is located on one of Black Mountain's busier streets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thank you Sonny for the great review! Receiving compliments from an experienced vacation rental patron of 20 years is very special to us!
We highly recommend Sonny and his family (pups included) to any vacation rental host. The took very good care of The Red Cottage and all of the check-out procedures.
Thank you for choosing The Red Cottage as your vacation home during your week long visit to Black Mountain. We hope to hear from you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing