We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a wedding and honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbor House of Black Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a wedding and honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

My fiance and I were looking for a beautiful and peaceful place to get married in picturesque Black Mountain. We looked at several Bed and Breakfasts in the area but both agreed that Arbor House was the perfect place for us. As soon as you walk in the front door a feeling of relaxation takes over. The tastefully decorated living area is very comfortable (especially the couch beside the fireplace) with an arrage of books and magazines to enjoy. The dining area is surrounded by windows with a breathtaking view of the mountains. When you step out of the deck you are surrounded by the beauty of Carolyn and Dave's lovely garden, the peace of Lake Tomahawk, and the mountains which provide an amazing backdrop. My fiance and I enjoyed several walks around the path of the lake which is only .55 miles once around. Our wedding took place on the back deck and was the perfect peaceful ceremony that we were hoping for. Our room (High Windy) was also wonderfully decorated with a great bed and high quality linens. The large bathroom stocked was stocked with everything we needed including a huge shower with jets on both sides. Last but certainly not least, Dave and Carolyn are WONDERFUL cooks and hosts. Their love for what they do is seen in every aspect of Arbor House, but really comes out in their cookiing. Whether it's blueberry stuffed French Toast, Crepes with eggs and ham, or fruit and scrambled eggs, you'll enjoy every bite. I've stayed at the Inn on Biltmore Estate a few times and it's lovely. But after my Arbor House experience, I can say most certainly that this will be my first choice when visiting the Black Mountain/Asheville area. Thanks Dave and Carolyn for a wonderful wedding (all your help planning!) and the perfect honeymoon! We look forward to seeing you again soon! LIsa and George

  • Liked — Scenery, hosts, food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaC1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossining
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

One of three houses sitting on Lake Tomohawk, Arbor House is truly a slice of heaven on earth. It offers meticulous gardens and panoramic views of the "Seven Sisters" peaks of Black Mountain. It also provides direct access to the walking/jogging path around the lake. The hosts, Carolyn and Dave were warm and informative. The breakfasts were delicious. We plan to book another stay soon.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank MsMLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast for the first time last summer and immediately fell in love with the beautiful house, the glorious surroundings and the charming hosts! We just returned from our second trip to the Arbor House....ENGAGED! My fiance proposed to me on the balcony of the Lookout room, overlooking Lake Tomohawk and the mountains! What a special memory for both of us!

This B+B is truly a delight! The rooms are tasteful and comfortable, the food is amazing and the hosts are delightful! We can't wait for our next trip to the Arbor House!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank md525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Carolyn and Dave have a beautiful place to offer. First time experience at a Bed and Breakfast and it was EXCELLENT! The view, the location, the breakfast and most of all the owners made the trip very worthwhile. Highly Recommend!!

  • Liked — The owners and comfort available.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RGKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

"Perfect getaway" may sound like a cliche, but this place is truly wonderful. My boyfriend brought me here as part of a surprise trip to Asheville, and we could not have been happier with our stay. The rooms are luxurious yet cozy and the decor elegant and unique. The photos simply cannot do justice to the indoor design and the mountain views. Aesthetics aside, breakfast was unbelievably good, and Carolyn and Dave were such generous, friendly and helpful hosts! I would come back to Arbor House in a flash and HIGHLY recommend it to anyone thinking about visiting the area. Plan to stay as long as you can because you won't want to leave once you've arrived!

  • Liked — The atmosphere of luxury and comfort
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank _skreen_name_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

Dave and Carolyn (owners) are among the most friendly and gracious people you will ever meet. The Arbor house has a lovely exterior with large and spacious rooms that are quite tastefully decorated: appealing to both contemporary and traditional styles. Caroloyn's art background is evident in the design and decor of this beautiful B & B.

Set on the banks of a lovely pond and walkway, the Arbor house provides an exceptionally picturesque view of the mountains. Close to some fun shopping, and at the finish line of the Black Mountain Marathon, we couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you for the personalized signs and your Marathon finish line support Carolyn. We will be sure to stay with you again. Maybe next time we will do the Mt. Mitchell Challenge. A couple of wheelchairs might be in order.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank WiseOwl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

The reviews are all true! My wife and I along with friends stayed at the Arbor House and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in the area. The host/hostess, Dave and Carolyn are wonderful people. The facilily has a great view of Lake Tomahawk with the Black Mtns. in the background. All of this is in full view from the back deck and the dining area. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable and each comes with a large bathroom. The commons areas are warm and inviting. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area. I know if we return, and I expect we will someday, we will stay at Arbor House.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing....it was all good.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zeker_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
12.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
11.7 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House of Black Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House of Black Mountain

Property: Arbor House of Black Mountain
Address: 207 Rhododendron Ave, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor House of Black Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be amazed at the beauty at Arbor House of Black Mountain Bed and Breakfast; our craftsman transitional style home. Enjoy impressive views of the Blue Ridge from our back deck and the convenience of being a short stroll from town. Seasonal gardens and a half mile walk along Lake Tomahawk borders outside our door. Prepared to be pampered by Innkeepers, Jim and Theresa who want to make you happy during your stay. Arbor House in North Carolina offers four uniquely decorated bedrooms for you to choose the one to fit your needs. The spacious rooms are named for the area mountains that surround the B&B. Feel the fresh Blue Ridge Mountain breezes that flow freely into each guest room through the large windows. Whether you choose a room with king, queen, or twin beds for that romantic weekend or getaway retreat to NC each includes plush, deep mattresses for you to enjoy a great night's sleep. When you awake, slip into provided soft robes. Each room is decorated in a unique style, featuring an eclectic collection of art, boxes, and pottery. Three rooms have European style armoires and the fourth has built-in cabinetry. All are equipped with TVs and DVDs and guests are invited to choose a movie from our collection for their entertainment. Consider the luxury travel accommodations at Arbor House of Black Mountain, NC, for your North Carolina vacation. The rebuild of this 20th century home was designed by Thomas Lawton Architect. During your stay at Arbor House, you are invited to sit by the fire in the living room with its comfortable large sofa and overstuffed chairs and enjoy a good book from our extensive collection. Spread out your maps and brochures and plan your day at the large game/reading table. There are also DVD's and games for your entertainment. A few steps down the hall, you enter the dining area with its wood-burning, stone fireplace. Here you can enjoy a full, cooked breakfast with each day's menu featuring an entree such as stuffed French toast, Belgian waffles, or muffins with delicious omelets. For the convenience of our guests, a double-butler pantry is complete with a selection of teas. After breakfast, you can start your activities for the day or simply relax and enjoy the gardens of Arbor House with its stone walls and arbor. Walk Sit at the wicker setae on the Verandah, rock gently in the swing on the lawn, or take in the beautiful views from the back deck. You'll be surrounded by gardens of azaleas, rhododendrons and dogwoods in the spring or large shady oaks and roses in the summer and fall. Don't forget the binoculars since nature provides an assortment of songbirds and waterfowl around the lake. The mini-fridge is stocked with water and sodas and after your day's activities relax on the deck or around the table with freshly baked snacks or sweets from the kitchen. We serve coffee, tea, juice, season fruit dishes, breakfast pastries, meats, and a variety of creative entrees. We can cater to dietary needs and cook for our gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan guests. After breakfast hours, a complimentary- self-service stocked butler's pantry is provided along with an afternoon sweet or snack. Samples of entrees served are; Shrimp & Grits Sweet Potato Kale Hash Belgian Waffles -regular or gluten free Pancakes - Oat or gluten free Stuffed French toast with fruit Vegetable Tarts and Frittatas Various Strata Baked or scrambled eggs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Arbor House of Black Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing