We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This B and B looks directly on a small mountain lake; 2 of the 4 rooms look directly onto the lake with the mountains beyond. Our room, Graybeard, had one wall full of windows to enjoy the garden below and the lake nearby. As the property borders the lake, you can walk out the back gate to the popular lake walking path.
The house is fairly new although decorated in a fairly traditional manner, which we found welcoming and convenient in terms of layout. In the Greybeard room, there is a huge whirlpool tub and separate shower in the bathroom (not in an alcove by the bed, as you see in some places). Plus there are two comfortable reading chairs (or gazing-out-at-the-lake chairs!).
Breakfast was delicious and wonderful, served on different matching china sets each day. I also got a full pot of hot tea every morning (with tea cosy) so I was totally good to go (they have coffee also, of course).
Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the lake. Very romantic!
The Blue Ridge Parkway is nearby (10 or 15 minutes) and Asheville is a little bit further. Black Mountain has a nice restored downtown area...just a few blocks but wonderful shopping for pottery and other artwork. There is even a contemporary handmade jewelry store that is fabulous (Visionsofcreation.com).
This property is not officially "handicapped accessible" but it's very close to being so. (My husband was on crutches at the time of our visit).
I definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet, romantic place with a view. From their photo album, it looks like they have even have weddings in the back yard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolina_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Arbor House Bed and Breakfast in Black Mountain, North Carolina, is that rarity we can search for years to find - a haven of peace and tranquility. Carolyn does her utmost to create a soothing atmosphere as you unwind and drink in the stunning mountain and Lake Tomahawk views. She and Dave serve up delicious breakfasts, ensuring I had my favourite home-made pancakes, first with blueberries, then creamy scrambled eggs and sausages.... Guests can make beverages at any time in a small fully equipped kitchen. The bedrooms are all exquisite with pieces chosen by Carolyn and in many cases restored or upholstered by her too. Four days left me feeling pampered and energised. Go any season - the views are sublime from the verandah at any time of the year.

Room Tip: I enjoyed stunning views and the most comfortable bed in the Greybeard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the Graybeard room in the Arbor House. It was our first B&B experience and I am not sure how it can ever be topped. The room was on the bottom floor of the house and right off the kitchen. Next time we are going to try the lookout room on the 2nd floor for a little extra privacy (yes there will be a next time!!!). Graybeard was a very nice room and the bathroom and jaccuzzi were worth every penny. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. Carolyn was incredibly and tastefully helpful in planning our adventures around Black Mountian. It was a wonderful experience and I cannot imagine a better place to stay while visiting the area!

Room Tip: Graybeard is right off the kitchen- may not bother some but my wife and I would have liked a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Arbor House exceeded my already high expectations. Dave and Carolyn made me feel at home and were very nice. The room was spacious and very clean. Carolyn even drove me to the start of the Black Mountain Marathon and had fresh cookies for me when I returned. The views of the mountains and Lake Tomahawk from the Arbor House were amazing and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited Arbor House and stayed in The Lookout room in early October. I was looking for a nice room with a beatiful view and access to walking areas. The Lookout was perfect. You can sit in the sitting area and see the mountains. A great place to do some reading. On the private deck, you overlook Lake Tomahawk. There is also a larger shared deck. The lake is nice with a backdrop of mountains. There is a path all the way around and benches to sit on and watch the variety of water fowl. Although the leaves were not turning much while I was there, I imagine it is really beautiful there when they are at peak. You feel very safe in this area.

The feel of the B&B is a nice southern home in a small town. The fireplace in the dining room is a nice touch. The pumpkin pancakes were excellent. Carolyn is very nice to talk to and a great host. The chocolate chip cookies and brownies were awesome. It is also nice to have complimentary drinks available. The Lookout room was large and very clean. There are nearby hiking trails as well. I would definately recommond this B&B to anyone wanting to slow down and enjoy the simple things of life.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandNSun704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

By their breakfasts, ye shall know them. The quality of B&B breakfasts ranges pretty widely, but those at the Arbor House are among the best you'll be served anywhere (the pumpkin pancakes are classics). Even for those of us who normally eat brutally healthy breakfasts, these indulgences are worth it. Of course, a B&B must offer far more than good breakfasts--and the Arbor House certainly does. My wife and I had just come from a stay at a top-end luxury resort--and we had a better bed, better sleep, a better bathroom and far more space at the Arbor House (we stayed in the High Windy room, which was great, but would try to book The Lookout next time around--and we hope there will be a next time). And, for us at least, it got even better: The Arbor House is a new construction designed in Craftsman-era style and, although the decor is a bit busier than our minimalist tastes, it's vastly superior to the normal, godawful Victorian horrors cluttering most B&Bs. Then there's the location--not only is the Arbor House located in a quiet neighborhood within a ten-minute walk of the pleasant downtown, but it's perched at the edge of a small lake--and there's a great, lighted half-mile footpath around the water's edge that's perfect for joggers to do laps even in the pre-dawn hours. There's a lovely choice of park-like walks in the immediate neighborhood, hikes in nearby Montreat, and great proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Ashville (we timed it: seventeen minutes from a downtown-Ashville parking space to the B&B). My wife and I very strongly recommend this B&B. (Only complaint? The coffee's wimpy...but that's probably what most guests prefer.) Great innkeepers--and even a great deck above the lake for a quiet glass of wine before evenng chow. Book early.

Room Tip: First choice should be either of the upstairs rooms, The Lookout or High Windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I've spent two consecutive summers at Arbor House for a week on each occasion in part for business as well as restful recreation. My lodging experience was consistently excellent. Restful, peaceful, as well as incredible scenery as the house overlooks a small local Lake Tomahawk.

My personal experience was the equivalent of a stay at an individual retreat center. Dave and Carolyn are welcoming and hospitable hosts who are excellent resources for planning day trips and learning more about the area and current cultural activities. Their attention to detail in the house and surrounding landscaping create a beautiful and serene environment with modern amenities. The porch and gardens are quiet escapes for reading or simply enjoying a nice cup of tea.

The breakfasts alone were memorable culinary occasions. I am very grateful that during my most recent visit that Carolyn was able, with communication prior to my arrival regarding special dietary needs, to still create some outstanding breakfast meals that were worthy of their high standards and reputation. One dish I dubbed especially 'Carolyn's Arbor House Eggs Benedict' - this is a recipe I've brought home with me and continue to use.

The location is very convenient to the many tourist attractions in the Black Mountain and Asheville areas. Or you can simply stay and relax and renew body and soul in the peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jhester65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
135 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 66 in Asheville
1,218 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
13.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House of Black Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House of Black Mountain

Address: 207 Rhododendron Ave, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: $225 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor House of Black Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be amazed at the beauty at Arbor House of Black Mountain Bed and Breakfast; our craftsman transitional style home. Enjoy impressive views of the Blue Ridge from our back deck and the convenience of being a short stroll from town. Seasonal gardens and a half mile walk along Lake Tomahawk borders outside our door. Prepared to be pampered by Innkeepers, Jim and Theresa who want to make you happy during your stay. Arbor House in North Carolina offers four uniquely decorated bedrooms for you to choose the one to fit your needs. The spacious rooms are named for the area mountains that surround the B&B. Feel the fresh Blue Ridge Mountain breezes that flow freely into each guest room through the large windows. Whether you choose a room with king, queen, or twin beds for that romantic weekend or getaway retreat to NC each includes plush, deep mattresses for you to enjoy a great night's sleep. When you awake, slip into provided soft robes. Each room is decorated in a unique style, featuring an eclectic collection of art, boxes, and pottery. Three rooms have European style armoires and the fourth has built-in cabinetry. All are equipped with TVs and DVDs and guests are invited to choose a movie from our collection for their entertainment. Consider the luxury travel accommodations at Arbor House of Black Mountain, NC, for your North Carolina vacation. The rebuild of this 20th century home was designed by Thomas Lawton Architect. During your stay at Arbor House, you are invited to sit by the fire in the living room with its comfortable large sofa and overstuffed chairs and enjoy a good book from our extensive collection. Spread out your maps and brochures and plan your day at the large game/reading table. There are also DVD's and games for your entertainment. A few steps down the hall, you enter the dining area with its wood-burning, stone fireplace. Here you can enjoy a full, cooked breakfast with each day's menu featuring an entree such as stuffed French toast, Belgian waffles, or muffins with delicious omelets. For the convenience of our guests, a double-butler pantry is complete with a selection of teas. After breakfast, you can start your activities for the day or simply relax and enjoy the gardens of Arbor House with its stone walls and arbor. Walk Sit at the wicker setae on the Verandah, rock gently in the swing on the lawn, or take in the beautiful views from the back deck. You'll be surrounded by gardens of azaleas, rhododendrons and dogwoods in the spring or large shady oaks and roses in the summer and fall. Don't forget the binoculars since nature provides an assortment of songbirds and waterfowl around the lake. The mini-fridge is stocked with water and sodas and after your day's activities relax on the deck or around the table with freshly baked snacks or sweets from the kitchen. We serve coffee, tea, juice, season fruit dishes, breakfast pastries, meats, and a variety of creative entrees. We can cater to dietary needs and cook for our gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan guests. After breakfast hours, a complimentary- self-service stocked butler's pantry is provided along with an afternoon sweet or snack. Samples of entrees served are; Shrimp & Grits Sweet Potato Kale Hash Belgian Waffles -regular or gluten free Pancakes - Oat or gluten free Stuffed French toast with fruit Vegetable Tarts and Frittatas Various Strata Baked or scrambled eggs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Arbor House of Black Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing