We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT B&B”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is just the 2nd time I have stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. It was a great experience. I had a room on the third floor - with a private bathroom. It was very roomy and the bathroom had a seperate shower and a clawfoot tub. The decor was pretty in all the rooms that I could peek into. The hosts were friendly and made me feel VERY at home. Breakfast was so good, I went back three times for helpings of the blueberry bread pudding!!!!! They also serve dinner, but we didn't eat there, but I'm sure it would have been great. Jenny was VERY helpful with directions to attractions and even called about Chimney Rock, she knew the elevator had been having trouble and called to see if it was working - over 400 steps if it wasn't. I would recommend this Inn and would MOST CERTAINLY go back there.

Room Tip: I lked this third floor room (Garrett). It had skylights, and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your review! It's fun to help people get to know our great area and guide them in enjoying their time in and near Black Mountain. You'll have to come back some time when the Chimney Rock Park elevator is working, hopefully soon. Thanks again for coming, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful Inn. Doug and Jenny are the perfect hosts. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's like home. The breakfast buffet is out of this world !!! Can't wait to return this fall. I have stayed here many times. Each time more special than the last.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am new to the B&B scene; however, I found Red Rocker Inn to be a pleasant place to stay. Doug and Jenny were eager to accommodate my stay. They have an excellent breakfast! The Restaurant is open for both breakfast and dinner to the public. Red Rocker Inn is in a beautiful setting and is extremely peaceful. The Inn is very quiet at night, in fact there are NO televisions in any of the rooms. I know what you may be thinking, BUT it is actually quite nice not to have a television. Definitely stay at the Red Rocker Inn while visiting Asheville!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stay here every year when I pick up my kids from Camps Merrimac and Timberlake in Black Mountain. The Inn keepers are so friendly, and the food is simply fabulous. We usually go to closing ceremonies at the camp, then bring our kids back to dinner with us at the Inn, take them back for one last night at camp, and then enjoy an amazing breakfast the next morning before getting them one last time to head home.

We often see the same families year after year. It wouldn't be a camp summer without our night at the Red Rocker.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We're so glad to be part of your annual summer visit. As you may know, we love camp too, and it's great to have so many camp families stay with us as they drop off and pick up their kids for summer camps. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The rooms are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was fantastic. We also had dinner at our own expense. Do have dinner there. The menu is very upscale and the service is excellent. The dinner was delicious. I would definitely go back for a two or three day stay. The little town is very enjoyable. Go to the hardware store. It will take you back in time. By the way, there are no televisions in the room. I actually liked that.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different. Be certain you tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_en_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is an Inn. If I wanted to stay at the Biltmore House hotel, that's an open option. The Inn is quiet, comfortable and cozy. The Innkeepers make you part of their family. The Dining Room is known in the area as a top spot to eat, and we were delighted. Our room had a King bed and a fireplace, very roomy. I'd like to try the "attic". Stairs can be a problem for older folks, but we're still able to get around. Great spot. I'm making new reservations right now.

Room Tip: Let them know what you're looking for. Tell them what you don't want. Be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettered4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hi! Thanks for your review! Just a comment to folks.... we do have four first floor rooms, so please ask when you book if climbing stairs is a difficulty for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

All different sizes of rooms. Cute
Country motif. Bathroom's can be small. Ask based on your needs. The restaurant is Fabulous! Breakfast is excellent. 5 star dining. No TV's in room. One old one in front den. It has it benefits! Close to town. Can walk easily to other nice restaurant's and cool shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaC810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for the nice review, we're especially glad you enjoyed your meals. Come back again because we're always offering something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Black Mountain hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Place Inn
My Place Inn
#5 of 8 in Black Mountain
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: $105 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing