We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual tradition”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Annual tradition”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stay here every year when I pick up my kids from Camps Merrimac and Timberlake in Black Mountain. The Inn keepers are so friendly, and the food is simply fabulous. We usually go to closing ceremonies at the camp, then bring our kids back to dinner with us at the Inn, take them back for one last night at camp, and then enjoy an amazing breakfast the next morning before getting them one last time to head home.

We often see the same families year after year. It wouldn't be a camp summer without our night at the Red Rocker.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're so glad to be part of your annual summer visit. As you may know, we love camp too, and it's great to have so many camp families stay with us as they drop off and pick up their kids for summer camps. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    27
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
138
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg GA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The rooms are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was fantastic. We also had dinner at our own expense. Do have dinner there. The menu is very upscale and the service is excellent. The dinner was delicious. I would definitely go back for a two or three day stay. The little town is very enjoyable. Go to the hardware store. It will take you back in time. By the way, there are no televisions in the room. I actually liked that.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different. Be certain you tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peerke_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is an Inn. If I wanted to stay at the Biltmore House hotel, that's an open option. The Inn is quiet, comfortable and cozy. The Innkeepers make you part of their family. The Dining Room is known in the area as a top spot to eat, and we were delighted. Our room had a King bed and a fireplace, very roomy. I'd like to try the "attic". Stairs can be a problem for older folks, but we're still able to get around. Great spot. I'm making new reservations right now.

Room Tip: Let them know what you're looking for. Tell them what you don't want. Be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettered4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your review! Just a comment to folks.... we do have four first floor rooms, so please ask when you book if climbing stairs is a difficulty for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

All different sizes of rooms. Cute
Country motif. Bathroom's can be small. Ask based on your needs. The restaurant is Fabulous! Breakfast is excellent. 5 star dining. No TV's in room. One old one in front den. It has it benefits! Close to town. Can walk easily to other nice restaurant's and cool shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaC810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the nice review, we're especially glad you enjoyed your meals. Come back again because we're always offering something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Red Rocker Inn in Black Mountain is a place you will return to each time you return to visit the mountains. A large old home converted to an inn, the Red Rocker sits on a quiet street in the small town of Black Mountain. Each room is unique, but all are comfortable and welcoming. The only television is downstairs in the living room, and wireless internet is pretty much confined to that area as well. Some may find that inconvenient; I find it's conducive to a more restful and conversation-filled trip. The best thing about the Red Rocker, besides the hospitality of its hosts and owners, Doug and Jenny, is the first-floor restaurant. Breakfast is served every day, and it's a feast that varies by the day. At supper, you order off a menu. Try the trout, and enjoy their desserts. This is a great spot to relax, and a stroll down the hill from the inn will put you at a pretty little lake used as a walking trail by the locals. The Red Rocker Inn is a great spot to use as home base as you discover all that the mountains of western North Carolina have to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mguerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi! Thanks for coming to The Red Rocker Inn. Your review was a great condensed version of what Red Rocker Inn has to offer. Thanks for writing it and for highly recommending us. We hope we'll see you again soon and we'll be sure to have trout on the menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband & I have been to the Red Rocker Inn many times over the years & I can say without qualification that it is a great value. The owners, Doug & Jenny are terrific & make you feel right at home. The Inn is very well located within walking distance to downtown Black Mountain shops & several restaurants. There is a wonderful small lake with a path around it nearby to take an evening walk around (which you will definitely need) because the food at Red Rocker is absolutely fabulous. Breakfast is truly a feast & is included. The evening menu is just as delicious with desserts to swoon over.

Room Tip: There are only 17 rooms, so you need to book in advance. The upper 2 floors probably more quiet tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! We hope this helps others find a homey, relaxing place to stay while they are visiting in Black Mountain. We love our guests and hope we'll see you again soon! Have you been here in mid June? The evening primroses that grow near the lake give a spectacular show when they bloom, dozens gather every night to watch them. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed overnight in Black Mountain and chose the Red Rocker Inn on a recommendation by a relative. Doug and Jenny were the most gracious hosts and made us feel comfortable and at home immediately. After we checked in, it was just a short walk to downtown Black Mountain where we sat outside and ate lunch while listening to live music. Very comfortable, although somewhat dated, accommodations but the breakfast was delicious! We arrived a bit early (breakfast starts at 8:30) but were able to enjoy a cup of coffee before Doug cooked up orange french toast, bacon, sausage links, cheese grits, Western omelets - too much to remember! Everything was delicious and, naturally, we met some wonderful people while there. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi! Thanks for the nice review. We're sure glad you enjoyed your stay at The Red Rocker Inn and had some time to explore the charming town of Black Mountain. There really is nowhere else quite like it! You mentioned your room was somewhat dated. We agree! So room by room we've been redecorating, and updating, and improving the look and feel of this gracious old house. It's an ongoing process, so next time you come back, we'll have some nice surprises for you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
530 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Property: Red Rocker Inn
Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing