We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Food For Lunch”

Veranda Cafe & Gifts
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Daily plate lunches, six house made soups, unique sandwiches, wraps, Panini's, salads, decadent desserts, and more..
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food For Lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My friends and I had lunch at the Veranda Cafe for the umpty-ump time! Today my choice was the Cuban along with a lemonade/sweet tea to drink. My buddies got the lunch special and said it was some of the best roast beef they had ever eaten. Umbrellas hanging from the wall, waitresses wearing vintage aprons, exposed brick walls, and lively conversation add to the ambience of this place. There's usually a bit of a wait, but it's not long. When in Black Mountain, consider lunch at the Veranda!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    104
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
traveler
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, usually super busy”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My lady loves this place, I think it's just alright as far as the food goes and I usually like to have a beer with lunch and the selection isn't that great, which is unusual for the area. However, the staff is amazing! Super friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home and certain that everything is going swimmingly, even giving out cookies to our little ones as we leave. It's usually crazy busy here though so expect a little wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank clicknathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You May Have a Wait, but It's Worth It!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband & I had stopped here for lunch two years ago and saw it was very popular with the locals. It continues to be popular! This is a medium-sized dining area cheerful decor. The menu offers many sandwich, soup and salad selections. We were all pleased with our sandwich selections…freshly made with different types of bread products. The staff are efficient, but friendly and come by to make sure you are enjoying. Hope I can return soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good and creative sandwiches”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Turkey Berry Brie was fantastic and the pretzel sandwich was one of the better sandwiches I have had (spicy mustard). Kids meals of P B & J were a hit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to go for lunch”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Ive never had anything bad at this restaurant. They have yummy soups, salads, sandwiches and desserts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda Cafe & Gifts also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Veranda Cafe & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing