We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trailhead

The Trailhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great local beers on tap and good selection of health conscious food.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Love how many vegetarian options there are and the imagination that goes into them. The "house hot" wing/tempeh wing sauce is amazingly flavorful!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNCF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    103
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food and Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had lunch there recently, a really nice place, staff super friendly, A great selection of local craft beers if your into that sort of thing, I am, my wife had a Portobello mushroom sandwich, called a "Black Bottom", delicious, I ate half of it, I had a spinach salad topped with grilled ahi tuna. One of the local shopkeepers steered us in the direction of this restaurant, we thanked her on the way back to the car.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstew7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food was terrible! Service was even worse! I will not eat there again! DO NOT ORDER THE CHILLI, SWEET TEA, OR FRIES!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HoratioSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Ate dinner at he Trailhead and was very satisfied. The food was delicious and the price very reasonable. Loved the Mushroom soup! The Beer Batter Chicken and Fish are awesome. Enjoyed with an Ale and Gin & Tonic the evening was complete. Staff was pleasant and extremely friendly. Recommend this eatery to everyone who visits Black Mountain!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub Food and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stopped in for a beer. After seeing food delivered to other tables we decided to order two things. My wife ordered a side order of corn pudding. It was made in a soufflé style with fresh corn and Siri on the grill. Surprisingly delicious. I had the homemade cream of mushroom soup which was really really really homemade and really really really delicious. The table next to us had fish and chips made from hoddock and they were moaning over that as well. Definitely something I would recommend and I'm looking forward to going there again sometime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trailhead also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing