We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage”

Review of Artist Cottage

Artist Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artist Cottage
Backyard Outdoor Seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
4 reviews
Artist Cottage
Backyard
Outdoor Seating
Living Room with gas logs
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Table
Bedroom with Queen
Bedroom with two twins
2nd Bathroom
Bedroom with Double
Bathroom with tub
Bathroom with tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Black Mountain, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZeldaGRoc...
Pittsford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second experience renting through Greybeard Realty, and we have been highly pleased with their service both times.
The Artist Cottage is a charming 1920's cottage nestled in the woods adjacent to the YMCA Blue Ridge Assembly, where some friends were gathering for a reunion. While it is quiet and secluded, the cottage is also just a 2-1/2 mile walk or 5 minute drive into the charming town of Black Mountain, and a 20 minute drive to Asheville.
The cottage itself was clean and well-maintained; although the kitchen is not modern, it is well stocked with all the equipment needed for meal prep.
Three bedrooms and two baths (one with a charming claw foot tub) and lots of storage space made this an ideal place for our small family. The little grandsons loved the spacious backyard and we all enjoyed meals on the front porch (although the porch could have used a bit more cleaning, mostly due to the overhanging pines)
I would recommend Artist Cottage highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and charm
Liked least: cleanliness of outdoor porch
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2015
We appreciate the feedback - happy to hear the stay was good at Artist Cottage. Thanks for being a repeat guest of Greybeard and for the generous compliments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12trvlgir...
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High ick factor”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage could be charming and cozy, but it needs upgrading and serious cleaning. Windows do not open - most of them - so there's no fresh air and no alternate exits in an emergency. The CO2 detector is in the kitchen and no longer works; the heating furnace chimney actually runs through a bedroom. With no way to air out the house, the old shag carpet, the towels, the curtains, and the bedding hold the damp and become smelly. Walls and doors need proper repainting, not just touch ups. The gritty old paint holds dirt and people hair. The light wood kitchen fan has black edges. We left a much longer list for the rental company, in hopes that their cleaning service will do better and the owner can be encouraged to attend to deferred maintenance issues.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. I understand that management has been in touch since receiving your note.

Our housekeeping and maintenance team strive to respond in a timely manner as soon as they learn of issues. There is also an emergency line available 24-7 to report issues that arise during the time of stay.

We do hope that you stay in one of our other vacation rentals and that we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you,
Greybeard Rentals team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Black Mountain hotels

FL
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thank you for the helpful review. We are sorry that you felt like the house was poorly maintained. It is an older house with older furniture and priced accordingly as one of our least expensive homes; however, that is not an excuse for it not be cleaned up to our typical standard. We will discuss with the housekeeper and be sure that attention is given to that. We apologize for your experience with that, as you know that is not typical with our rentals! We do hope you come stay with us again.
Thanks,
Greybeard Rentals Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing