We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Carolina "Q " at fast-food prices.”

Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Quad Cities USA
Level Contributor
285 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Carolina "Q " at fast-food prices.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a quick lunch and didn't want to "settle" for fast food; Phil's didn't disappoint. We both had the pulled pork sandwich with homemade potato chips and vinegar slaw. Pork was moist (although not as smokey as I prefer), chips crisp, slaw tangy. Numerous sauces available on the table. The two gals behind the counter were friendly and helpful. Decor was casual. I'd stop again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    85
    34
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
corpus christi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“East Tennessee Should Take A Lesson From Phil's”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The is the best bar-b-que I have had in a long time. The ribs, brisket and sausage each had it's own taste. There is nothing which comes close to Phil's in East Tennessee area. Not only is the bar-b-que good but so are the portions and the sides. The service is fast and very helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorpusChristiKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff was very friendly, the cashier greeted every person that walked in and explained where menus were and so on. The food was really good, the pork wasnt floating in grease like other places ive been to, the sides were good we had the house chips, okra and beans and they were all good. The prices were a little steep but it is bbq and the taste of the food fully made up for it, the plates also come with a lot. For the pork plate, 2 sides, texas toast, and a drink it was 12.00.
Very good experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_H0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is an hour away from my home. I stop in every chance I get. This is real smoked BBQ. The chopped is great .Baby back ribs are very good. The sweet sauce is my favorite they have six to choose from. This place is worth a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monroe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Go To Place for BBQ”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My family and I eat at Phil's at least once every couple of weeks. We alternate between ordering the pork, baby back ribs, and brisket. All are excellent. Phil has been cooking BBQ for many years, and his experience shows in his product. Brunswick stew is very tasty. Sides are great too...collards, fried okra, and slaw are our favorites. The place is spacious and very clean, and service is friendly and efficient. They have a new draft beer called Phil's Pils made by local Lookout Brewing Co. which we really like. Eat at Phil's. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank debwaync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing