We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place! We really enjoyed the quiet comfort and friendly staff and owner Sue! Highly recommended. Good price too!”
Review of Monte Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monte Vista Hotel
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our friends from Black Mountain suggested this place after a night downtown Asheville. The rooms were clean and peaceful with nicely finished decor. The lounge and restaurant were lovely. A real treat for something that is local, historical, and very comfortable. I hope to visit again soon! A perfect nights sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddlingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Monte Vista Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel has been beautifully renovated. We were upgraded to a king room which was very roomy, light and airy, with wood floors and lots of windows. The bathroom had a retro feel with its black and white tile, but conveniently updated to 2013 standards. The bed was comfortable and the linens were well above average. There were subtle reminders which remained of bygone days, such as the glass door knobs, but nothing about this place is overwhelmingly antique. The lobby was tastefully decorated with art work and some pieces by mountain craftsmen, and was comfortable without creating a "lodge-like" atmosphere. The entire hotel had an open, spacious feeling and was exceptionally clean. The lounge / bar opened onto a lovely courtyard at the back of the hotel, and there was also a large porch on the front. The location is a short and easy walk to downtown restaurants and shops. We were only in Black Mountain for an overnight stay, but look forward to returning to the Monte Vista in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Walking through the front door of this lovely old hotel gives immediately the feeling of being at home. Only it 's better as one does not have to lift a finger. I stayed here about a year ago and happy to learn the careful renovations continue; none of the ambience of the "old days" is being lost. The dining room was not open the night I stayed, but the hotel is a couple short blocks from restaurants and shopping (see separate review for The Trailhead.)
My room was large and was very clean, bed comfy, a/c/htg easily adjusted. This is a wonderul place to stay while exploring a small mountain town as well as the Black Mountain Range as did Andre Michaux in the late 1700s on one of his plant expeditioins. The Blue Ridge Parkway is also nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visted the beautifully renovated Monte Vista Hotel during the weekend of April 27-28,2013. What a wonderful job owners Barney and Sue have done. On arrival, we had a glass of wine and listened to the music being played in the beautiful lobby. We enjoyed looking at the artwork displayed in the lobby and in the hotel restaurant, the Palate. Speaking of the Palate, we had two amazing meals there. On Saturday evening we had steak and salmon which were perfectly prepared. On Sunday, we had what they call "Sunday Supper" . Our suppers consisted of the best fried chicken we ever had and roast beef you could cut with a fork, including salad, fresh vegetables, homemade biscuits, and homemade desert. What a find! Made from scratch dinners and very reasonably priced. Best meals we had during our five day visit. Kudos to the chef! We will definitely go back to the Monte Vista on our next visit to the area in the Fall.

Paul and Donna K, New Market MD

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP5815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped at the Monte Vista in the 1990s and it was like walking through a time portal into an earlier era. And it wasn't quaintsy-waintsy -- it was authentic. We had a delightful time! But if people are unconsciously expecting to have 50-inch flat-screen TVs in their bedrooms, a pulsating showerhead, and a coin-operated snack machine just outside their door, they WILL be disappointed and should head for the nearest Holiday Inn. Me, I loved it just the way it was.

I'm glad to read that it's still doing well and I hope to stop in again before too long.

Room Tip: Pick the one that you find most charming.
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding at nearby Lake Eden. Charming historic inn, but overpriced for what you receive. Rooms are small, no television, no coffee. Included breakfast is minimal to say the least. Sunday brunch, not included in price, was sub par and extremely overpriced. The only saving grace is that you can walk downtown and enjoy wonderful little restaurants that are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulF305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne C, Owner at Monte Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

The Monte Vista is a historic hotel circa 1937 and has been recently renovated. All guest rooms have new , quality bedding, furniture and up to date baths. We do not have televisions but have complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel. Most guests find that the lack of television adds to the peaceful and historic feeling of the hotel. We are now fully air conditioned.
We offer each guest a light continental breakfast every morning and coffee is available starting at 6AM.
Our restaurant, Palate is open for dinner from 5-9PM and on Sundays from 11AM until 9PM, a Sunday Brunch of Home made Quiche or 3 egg Omelet with fresh fruit, potatoes and homebaked biscuits is available for $8. We also offer our 'Sunday Supper' of fried chicken or roast beef, mashed potatoes, vegetables and buiscuits- only on Sunday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On Friday morning my husband ask me, " how long will it take you to get ready for a road trip"....having heard this many times over the last 30+ years, I said, "10 minutes". With just the clothes on our backs and a small over-night bag, we were off into the Wild Blue Yonder....i.e. the North Carolina Mountains. We settled on Black Mountain for the small shops down town and friendly people (the towns folks and travelers both). We were pleasantly surprised to find the Monta Vista open (new owners Sue and Barney ?? and a massive renovation done by them). We immediately booked two nights and settled in for wine, good food, good conversation, cool nights- warm atmosphere around the crackling fire with a bluegrass Art Event on Friday night and a husband/wife musical team called the Blue Moon on Saturday night (they were our personal favorite because they sang and played many 60's songs by our favorite teenage artist- Neil Diamond, Pasty Cline, The Beatles, Johnny Cash, Buddy Holly..etc...All wonderfully done) I even ask Sue ( owner) "if" she would allow me to wash my only outfit in her washer/dryer...I wasn't really prepared to stay two nights anywhere. She offered to do it herself and added she'd leave the washed and dryed items at my door when ready....And she did...At no charge! I offered-she refused! Since we are former guest from years ago, we were so glad to see the new life this wonderful husband and wife team has breathed into this wonderful old historic building. Everyone in town seems to appreciate their efforts too from the comments while shopping Saturday. In closing, we love this old building, and now that Barney and Sue have worked their magic on it- it is now "our" new favorite vacation destination for all those future impromptu "mini road trips" my husband is so famous for. See ya there! You can bet when we do go again, it will incorporate a Saturday night "just" so we can enjoy hearing the Blue Moon again. kelton & Victoria

Room Tip: I enjoy a room on the second or third floor for the views of the mountains. These are the only rooms...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen_of_the_road_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
547 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.8 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vista Hotel

Address: 308 W State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3411
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: $167 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Black Mountain icon. Experience this delightful town in an atmosphere of local art, history and the pure love of the mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Monte Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing