We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real cuisine, not fast food Mexican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole's Guacamoles

Ole's Guacamoles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Real cuisine, not fast food Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is where we take visitors! This is where we meet for lunch! The more common Mexican places in town we USED TO LIKE just don't have the freshness or variety. Generous portions enough to share or take part home on many items but you have to use will power not to consume it all. My favorites are the vegetable soup - you can add chicken, shrimp, or fish, the chile relleno meal, and the avocado burrito with a generous amount of real avocado inside, not just guac. My husband loves the aroz con pollo, locally known as ACP. They feature beef, pork and chicken as well as egg/breakfast type meals, which I hear are great but personally stick with vegetarian or fish. We've been twice this week already.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    61
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fajitas, Generous Guacamole Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I frequent the Black Mountain/Asheville area for long weekends and extended getaways. We've been to OG four times. On only one occasion was the food and service sub-par. This last weekend (4/11/14) we had the chance to dine there al fresco since the spring weather was upon us and it was a cool but pleasant early evening. The brook running across the back of the restaurant served to make the meal much more pleasant. I was absolutely amazed by the speed at which we got our dinners that Friday night even though the restaurant was packed. My wife ordered the guacamole salad. It was huge and covered in avocado heaven. It was the perfect side to the chicken mole. I ordered the combination fajitas (beef, chicken, shrimp). Loved experimenting with with the 12, or so, salsas from the salsa bar. It was very, very good, and like I said earlier, was brought to our table in a flash. To end the meal we tried the fried plantain. Nice and not too sweet. We left super satisfied and with a couple low carb beers, paid just over $40. Happy campers!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamestownRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Dood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a great Mexican lunch at Ole's during a visit to Black Mountain. The salsa bar was well stocked with a variety of delicious choices from mild to hot. The service was good and the food was served hot and tasty. The beans need some work, kind of bland, but everything else was spot on, especially the horchata drink. What a pleasant surprise.

Helpful?
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican soul food . Made with consistent quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

There are very few restaurants I. A small town like Black Mountain that are consistently excellent in the value and quality of the food served. Ole is one of the rare ones that is a gem! Chriopollo is fantastic. Arrozo con pollo mis another!
We eat there once a week!
Fox Watson

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fox5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
211 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Has never impressed me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was in the Black Mtn area for work and friends wanted to go to this restuarant as they like it. I have been here before and wasn't impressed - especially after I found a hunk of hard plastic in my rice. The food is ok but not memorable - at least this time no plastic in the rice. I had taco salad -the veggies needed to be cook more, I really do not care for partially cooked veggies. My friends enjoyed their meal. The service was fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole's Guacamoles also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ole's Guacamoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing