We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Thai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Decided to take a chance on a Thai restaurant. We were greeted by a very nice gentlemen (the owner?) who was both friendly and entertaining. Although the restaurant is located next to a busy road, the outside court yard is tastefully done in Thai decor. I really liked the outdoor seating. Lots of noodle, curry and rice dish options. Started off with Tofu Tod. For entrees, members of our party ordered the pad Thai, The spicy fried rice (with catfish) and yellow curry. Everyone was pleased with their meal options One of the chef's specials- Bangkok Chicken was light and tasty. This was a good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, FL
Level Contributor
286 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place in Black Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped by on a recommendation and so happy we did. The prices for lunch is very reasonable and it was plenty of food. We had the Tom Kha (coconut soup) with tofu and it was one of the best we have tried. Then we had the Pineapple Curry with tofu and Spicy Veggie with extra veggies. Both were wonderful and we would go back in a heart beat if we lived nearby (we are from FL). Dinner seems a little more expensive but I must say that lunch was a great deal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had the cashew nut chicken (although it's not called that on the menu) and it was very flavorful. My mom had the Tom Yum soup and said it was some of the best she's ever had (and she's been to Thailand!) and the green curry. I'd definitely recommend this place, although maybe not on stuffy days -- the A/C wasn't working when we went and, although the doors were open and a box fan was running, it was quite warm inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived in the early afternoon, and was immediately greeted by a smiling gentleman who appeared to be the owner. He asked if we would like to eat on the patio, which we did. The patio was clean and only partially enclosed, with ceiling fans overhead. We were immediately served ice water, and ordered the Thai iced tea. The tea was creamy and flavorful. We ordered both chicken Satay, and steamed dumplings as appetizers. The chicken was tender and moist with a wonderful peanut sauce, and the dumplings were pork abd ginger with a wonderful dipping sauce. Our waiter/owner continually stood in the doorway watching to see if any patron was in need of something. For entrees, we had both the " Pad Thai with chicken, and Red Curry with pork. The red curry was mildly spicy, with perfectly cooked vegetables, and white rice. The Pad Thai was some of the best I have eaten, wonderful noodles, mildly spiced with peanuts, and a great sauce. The mango and sweet sticky rice with toasted sesame seeds rounded out the meal. All in all a great dining experience. Put this establishment on your itenerary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thai done right. With a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Getting Thai food used to be a challenge. Now the challenge is finding worthwhile Thai. This place is the real deal. I tried the mussels appetizer, more out of curiosity than optimism, and was very peasantly surprised. A touch of broth to steam in, fresh herbs and ginger on top, and fat clean mussels to soak it all in. Sure, the dinner menu hit all the familiar stops. Curries, basil stir fry, and my wife's beloved pad thai w shrimp, spicy! Pedantic? Maybe. But exceptionally well executed. And the man who seemed to be keeping up with all the tables artfully himself was a gem! My order with Tofu "soft, not fried" came out having been somewhere in the middle. Whoever cooked it realized the request AFTER the tofu had gone in the fryer, then yanked it out. The salvaged remains (think little sponges soaked in oil) was brought to me with an attempted explanation by this man, but then he was very understanding/good-natured when it was deemed unfit and promptly had the dish remade for me... perfectly. If you go on the right kind of night, you can sit outside, with a perfect mountain view in the distance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing