We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful vacation in the mountains!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We loved Cheshire Village! It is charming and has all of the amenities we were looking for--walking trails, restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance, fitness center, and we could bring our dog! The treetop house we stayed in was cute, though a little smaller than we would have liked and not conveniently located close to our car. The management (Eddie!) did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

I can't say enough about the Village of Cheshire and the entire Asheville area. We arrived late in the evening, but our kind host (Eddie) waited up for us to direct us to the cabin. We were absolutely blown away by the beautiful surroundings and the cabin itself. It was perfectly rustic and modern. All of the comforts of home (full and well-stocked kitchen), jacuzzi tub, wood burning fireplace, king bed), but still felt like we were in seclusion from the hustle and bustle of our regular city lives.

There is a great cafe and gourmet grocery at the bottom of the hill (two minute walk), as well as a massage therapist and a great diner -- also yoga. A fifteen minute drive from downtown Asheville. When we go back to Asheville we will stay at the Village of Cheshire again and again.

One note :: the Wild Turkey Roost as well as a number of the other cabins are down a hill that might be difficult to navigate for people with limitations.

Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife, our 6-year-old daughter, and I stayed here (Blue Jays Perch) over the July 4th weekend, also my 40th birthday weekend. Our small family routinely vacations in Blowing Rock, Valle Crucis, Banner Elk, Asheville and the surrounding areas and stay where the cabins and food are top notch. We're adventurous foodies who travel to relax and eat casually priced gourmet. Cheshire was something different and we'll definitely return! What a place to relax! The treehouse cabins, given their elevation and placement, gave a feel of being in an actual treehouse after a short bit. The kitchen/place was stocked quality and eco-neat. Two outstanding restaurants--Black Bird Tavern and Morning Glory Cafe--are a short walk across a small, flat meadow from the cabins. There's a serene creek in between that you cross. My daughter and I loved playing in this mountain creek. We discovered old glass marbles, an odd (!) old sculpted rock, interesting minnows and pollywogs. My wife picnicked and read on the grassy knoll behind with our Chihuahua. A great slice of the natural and serene! When we wanted to eat or grab a glass of wine or buy wine or 100% gourmet (yeah, there's a snazzy wine & coffee bar and international market, too), we just popped on over to the line of shops right there. Could they have made unwinding and soaking in the outdoors any easier on us? NO. If you crave peace of mind, have kids who are adventurous, lust nature, or want a romantic something-different this is for you. My wife and I have been married 15 years. We saw young couples and retired friends who looked like they were doing something they hadn't done in forever--relax, catchup, coupledom, reenergize---for one week or one short weekend. And if I have to tell you about Black Mountain's commercial downtown that is a 5-minute drive from Cheshire, this review won't help you at all. Go see it. Sip a local draft beer at the Town Pump and get your kid a Nehi (excellent service). Go antiquing. Spend fewer dollars than you'd imagine for quality merchandise. But let the Village of Cheshire be your spiritual retreat and haven for unwinding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinoEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My family needed a break from the rat race! My husband and I, with our two young adult children found the perfect spot. The Cheshire Cabins are about 20 minutes away from Asheville, NC, which is a great artistic, organic, eco-friendly community. The cabins are in the mountains, and within an hour of amazing hiking (for all fitness levels). Would definitely go back. Great location- clean, contemporary cabins with a full kitchen, great bathroom, nestled in the woods.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaniloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at the cabins the week leading up to our wedding. Our families also stayed in the cabins/treehouse during the weekend festivities. Complete relaxation!! We had a hard time ever leaving the rocking chairs on our front deck! When we did venture out to walk with our dogs, we were pleased with the tranquility of the property, the beauty and the stream that flows just below the cabins. The Blackbird American Tavern is just down the hill and the food is "Farm to Table" fresh and delicious, local beers are on tap and a nice wine selection as well. The cabins are a perfect place for a large family gathering, and the bonus is that everyone still has their own private space at their cabins. The park was perfect for our Welcome Dinner for all of our wedding guests (we had canopy and still plenty of room for a wiffle ball game). Our wedding ceremony was on the future chapel site with amazing views of the mountains and gorgeous green trees all around (easily fit 60 chairs/people). Eddie was very accommodating to all of our requests throughout our stay, whether it was a burned out light bulb or prep for weekend events. Village of Cheshire is the perfect place for a laid back and quiet vacation or an intimate wedding. If you still need the modern amenities, don't worry they have them! Flat screen TV, A/C, and wi-fi and big comfy beds! We can't wait to go back for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainstocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I wouldn't stay anywhere else again. Cabin was lavish. Staff was amazing. Location is brilliant. Dog accepted!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

If you want to stay in a quiet, beautiful mountain setting but enjoy comfortable, beautiful accommodations, this is the place for you.
The rental company is great to work with, friendly and helpful in every way. The cabins and treehouses are incredibly equipped with the highest quality of detailed workmanship and design. The setting is spectacular and this made for a more than comfortable stay in every way. No one wanted to leave and everyone wants to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.8 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Acorn
The Acorn
#7 of 8 in Black Mountain
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals

Address: 7 Cheshire Dr., Black Mountain, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Black Mountain
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals Hotel Black Mountain
Cheshire Cabin And Treehouse Rentals

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing