We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay with a family”
Welcome to Cherokee Retreat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cherokee Retreat!
Level parking and 4 steps into house. Large screened porch.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Welcome to Cherokee Retreat!
Level parking and 4 steps into house.
Large screened porch.
Screen porch with fireplace
Screen porch with fire place.
Easy to get to and convenient to downtown.
Lake Tomahawk-
Lake Tomahawk is a block away-
Great room with gas fire place.
Great room w/ high ceilings.
TV & gas logs in great room.
Game table in great room with seating for 4.
Open main level living.
Dining table with seating for 6.
Great room opens into dining area and kitchen.
Full kitchen with all basic amenities.
Amenities include gas range and coffee maker.
Dish washer is also included.
Master bedroom on main level w/ queen bed & TV.
Master bedroom w/ en suite bathroom (shower only).
Master bathroom (shower only).
Master bathroom w/ walk-in shower only.
Queen bedroom on main w/ full hall bath.
Full hall bath on main level w/ shower/tub combo.
Upper level bedroom w/ 2 double beds.
Upper level full hall bath w/ shower/tub combo.
Aerial of downtown Black Mountain-
Aerial of Black Mountain's town square-
Walk to Cherry Street in downtown-
Explore historic Black Mountain-
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Black Mountain, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ddblalock...
Little River, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay with a family”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage with 2 bedrooms on the main floor & 1 bedroom upstairs was perfect for our family of 5. The main floor living room was a perfect gathering spot & the screened in porch with the wood burning fireplace was perfect for relaxing & snores. The cottage was neat & clean. The rental agency was professional & courteous. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace on the porch
Liked least: No TV in the bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Great! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback. - Greybeard Rentals team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ntemmons
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house for a gir's getaway”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four girls that have been traveling together for the last 25 years found this to be one of the best rentals they have rave stayed in.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
That sounds like a great tradition to carry on. Glad you were impressed with Rhododendron. We would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GA
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing