We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Morning Glory Cafe - CLOSED

The Morning Glory Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Just 1/2 mile south of extit 64 of I-40 on route 9
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I checked on the Internet and they are open until 9:30 but. When I got there, looked like they were about to close. I should have left but had good food there before.

Service was awful. No offer of a drink. Just barking to get your order in because the kitchen is closing.

Ordered an heirloom tomato salad. I know my tomatoes and it was just a few sprigs of lettuce and red cherry tomatoes. Awful,

The entree was very good. Sautéed grouper on a bed of creamy risotto. But I could not enjoy it as I was being rushed out the door.

They wanted me to go away so I left as soon as I could.

Some of the food here is really good. But. With so many great restaurants here, who needs this abuse? Go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice eclectic breakfast choices served attractively and attentively. I hope to return before our vacation ends.

Both our breakfast choices were perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is always hopping with folks enjoying good food and service. A lot of their menu is locally sourced. Their presentation is lovely and the menu choices are just right. I am always satisfied with my meal and look forward to returning. My favorite menu item-the smoked trout hash:-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast, adding southern charm to your favorite dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Found this place after making a wrong turn, and glad we did. Has a nice outside patio looking out at the ridges. The menu has all of your typical breakfast items, but with a southern twist. Eggs Benedict on Fried Green Tomatoes is an example, and it was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Black River to attend the Swannanoa Chamber Music Festival, and expected to have to go into Asheville to find a restaurant of this caliber. The food was so fresh, delicious, and served with great southern friendliness. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. A nice surprise for us was that Wednesday was half price wine night. We had a lovely dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyAnne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Morning Glory Cafe also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing