We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Inn (no longer Comfort Inn) very satisfactory!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just needed a place to perch before a morning rendezvous in Asheville, and the Quality Inn was more than satisfactory. Conveniently located off the interstate and just a few blocks from "downtown" Black Mountain, it had all the amenities and was comfortable, reasonably priced and far enough from the train tracks so that the walls of the room did not shake each time a train went by!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back parking lot, so we had no views of the mountains, but you can get your fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nini807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was too late to go to another hotel!
Prior call directly to hotel to verify sufficient parking for truck and boat trailer, we were told oh yes plenty of parking. That is not the case - we had to go next door to park after getting permission from that business. The hotel host was rude when we ask where we should park - he really didn't care and he couldn't get off his personal call on his cell phone to help us or talk to us. Walkways and stairs were dirty with spilled food & drinks. Room smelled bad - I think the bed linens were clean - I sure checked it out before sleeping in it. Extremely noisy with trains nearby & people walking along the outside walkway. When we were ready to check out - the doors to that area was locked - the hostess lady hollered through the door needing to know what we wanted. She let us in - never said one single word to us.
Do not recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Black Mountain Comfort Inn...and we'll be here the next time we come to town. The rooms are clean, comfortable, roomy - the staff is excellent and friendly - the breakfast, while predictable, has fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, toast...etc...coffee 24/7, popcorn 24/7 - free Wi-Fi - more than enough channels on the TV - plenty of parking - right off I40 - and nicely located in the great little mountain town of Black Mountain. We like to ride the motorcycle up here, and they were extremely accommodating of our motorcycle, truck and trailer. There are stores and restaurants close by...all you need for a comfortable stay. Right now, they are changing from a Comfort Inn to a Quality Inn...and renovating, but we weren't inconvenienced at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moreauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is certainly dated, but it is well kept and comfortable. Exactly what we expected. The included breakfast is adequate and the staff is courteous and helpful.

The hotel gets surprisingly busy during the summer and fall. It's location is excellent with easy access to/from I40 and just a few blocks from downtown Black Mountain. Great restaurants and bars in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side for a nice view of the surrounding moutains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were planning to spend the Labor Day weekend in Asheville, NC, and discovered that all the hotels were full. The Comfort Inn in Black Mountain was reasonably close and fairly priced ($129/night), so I took the chance. The room we were given was very clean and appeared to be recently updated. The towels were nice and thick compared to some hotels in this price range. Breakfast was primarily cold food, cereal, bagels (weak selection) and pastries, but there were some sort of synthetic egg products and and similarly shaped sausages warm. You could also make waffles or toast bread. It is a "motel", the rooms open into walkways outdoors. The area appeared to be safe to me so that was not a problem. You had to go outside to access the breakfast area, which was a little unusual. Overall a good stay and I would have no reservations about staying there again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the back side away from the highway, although the road did not appear to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Okay maybe this isn't a fair rating/title for this review, but we had no intention of spending the night in Blacksburg, NC. Our van broke down at the beginning of the climb up 40W right past Old Fort and here we are... The location off 40 is excellent. Easy access onto the Highway, but not too close to hear traffic. The front desk was very pleasant and fortunately had one double-bed room left to accommodate our family. I personally don't like the motel set-up with room access from the outside and no elevators. We were on the first floor so N/A. The room was "optional smoking". It either is/isn't, but when we entered it wasn't "smoker smelly" just stuffy. Typical motel room set-up. Two full beds against one wall. Built in containing TV and drawers. Nice plus to have microwave and mini-fridge, but again N/A. Another personal dislike is having the sink outside the bathroom in the bedroom. When someone is up early to shower and get ready it's nice to have it all contained in one bathroom. I guess others could argue that if more than one person is up it gives you the option of using the shower/toilet while another can prepare in the outside sink area. I don't like it... Had the slight impression that it may have been recently updated. The built in partially covered a wall mirror and curtain rod in the shower bowed to give you more space, but it still amounted to a typical, small motel room. There is also no vent in the bathroom. There is Wi-Fi access and includes breakfast, but the juice machine was broken :(

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theginster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a nice place. Nice people. The view was nice. Rooms nice and comfy. Wi-Fi. Super small swimming pool but it was never used when we were there so we took advantage of just sitting in the gazebos sipping on drinks watching the view. The motel has a older look (not sure how old it is) but is well maintained. Breakfast room is Super small. Get there at 6 or forget it. We never got breakfast there. Just way too crowded and not enough food. Just left and went to Denny's next door. My only real complaint about the place is the price. The room was 130.00 a night. I have stayed at better places for 90. I believe the problem lies in that this is the only decent motel to stay at in this town so they charge a higher price but everything in this town is high priced except for the beer and gas. Kind of weird. Over all its a nice place to stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monzsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
562 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
11.2 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 585 State Route 9, Black Mountain, NC 28711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range: $91 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Black Mountain
Comfort Inn Black Mountain
Black Mountain Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing