We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group of 20/ out of town celebration.”

Meadow Village Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Benson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Group of 20/ out of town celebration.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

A group from my church went out of town to this restaurant cause a few had been before and said it was great. It was about an hour drive. So we get there and they had our room all ready. We chose to have the buffet. It wasn't as big as it was described to me but it was satisfying. The vegetables were scarce but there was a few. The part I loved the most was the fried oysters. I live in Durham so I don't get fried oysters much around these parts and never on a buffet. The fried shrimp was good too. Another great part is their cakes and pies are all homemade. It's not real big or fancy and it's very hard to find at night when you don't know where it is. But it's good food and nice people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeRiggsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, NC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food - long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a small out of the way restaurant with good country cooking. We went here the first week in December before going to see the meadow lights for Christmas. One thing people need to keep in mind is that you will have to wait in a pretty long line if you get there after 5:30. We waited over an hour. Buses come in with reservations and are allowed to go ahead of the people in line. There was a great variety of meats and vegetables, and the deserts were "to die for"!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelover000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Great little Roadhouse"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

When travelling between Wilmington and Raleigh, CH, Greensboro, etc it is suggested we stop occasionally, get out and stretch the legs and fling one's arms a bit to get the circulation going. Getting things moving starts with the heart, but then the stomach starts to whine. This place exists to satisfy anyone's gastro needs. Not to imply that it's for every day, neither is going to the dentist...but ain't it great when they give you a new toothbrush and floss...just as great when you finish off that last piece of 12 layer cake, just after devouring a plate of rutabagers, limas, pork chops, fatback, catfish and 3 glasses of tea. Parking requires a little creativity, and a line might be out the door, but then folks from around Meadows like to talk and as they say....What happens
at the Meadows, stays at the Meadows.................Ya'll come !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Sanitation grade A. This is a very, very clean restaurant, We ate there last night. and as always, it did not disappoint. The food is pure southern country cooking, a splurge that I indulge in once a month. I have eaten there many times and it is always delicious and CLEAN. Whether it is seafood on the weekends or the regular buffet during the week, it is always great. If it was not so good I doubt that there would be so many customers willing to wait in line. Yes they did clean the tables and provided fresh tea and ice for us and all surrounding tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food good, but sanitation...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Decent country cooking. Sat. night buffet has seafood which jacked the price to almost $15/person including drink. Line was wrapped around the bldg, so I high expectations, and it took us an hour to get a seat. Desserts were the highlight. The broiled shrimp was v. good too. Everything else was just standard fare.
Problem: They don't wipe tables down between customers and they leave pitchers of tea, water and bowls of ice on the table for successive families to use. Pretty sure this is a health code violation/contamination risk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadow Village Restaurant also viewed

Benson, North Carolina Coast
Benson, North Carolina Coast
 
Benson, North Carolina Coast
Benson, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Meadow Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing