We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Out of the Way Fun Restaurant”
Review of The String Bean

The String Bean
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Belmont, our building is right on main street. We have our very own parking, conveniently located right beside our newly renovated, large outdoor patio. Just keep an eye out for The String Bean 'green' shade sails.
Bucks County , Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Out of the Way Fun Restaurant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were there the weekend of January 18, 2013. Great music, great atmosphere, 100 craft beers, service was superb, the owner and buyer each spent 20 minutes with us educating us bout their food and history.
You must, and I mean must, eat the Duck French Fries. Forget the fat. It's worth it. And the menu was eclectic. The staff fully understood it. Portions were large. Pricing was moderate. Business casual dress. We're going back. Stay at Robins Nest B&B in Mt. Holly and eat in Belmont. (4 miles away)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    86
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been to String Bean Market several times and was pleased with the food and service. This time however the the service was poor and the food was worse. The staff did not seem to interested in seating us. The waitress had a terrible attitude and acted like she didn't want to be there The food was not served the way it was stated on the menu. Three items were left off the sandwich that were described in the menu. The worst part was they added so much Italian dressing to the sandwich that it was saturated and therefore I was unable to eat it.
I definitely will not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great swoup and sandwich”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had the half Cuban, half potato bacon soup combo for lunch. Both were outstanding. The sandwich was grilled perfectly and had a perfect balance of ingredients. The potato bacon soup was unlike any I have ever tasted with a tarragon spiced broth base. Wow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A find”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gourmet food where you least expect to find it. Good wine selection, menu, upscale deli, and pleasant environment. Bought some fresh scallops, cooked them at the Villa we were staying in and they were great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pilgrimleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“DTNA Legal Team - We're still talking about our event with "The Bean."”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I ventured to The String Bean website while looking for a venue to hold our annual department retreat dinner/event. Our department members from several locations across the U.S. and Mexico would be gathering for their annual team-building/business meeting and it had to be special yet fiscally responsible. Chad Hutcheson, the owner and consummate host, created a fabulous evening going above and beyond what we expected. A beautiful ice sculpture with our company name greeted us as we entered this sophisticated little gem in the heart of Belmont. Chef Carla created a fabulous dinner that was enjoyed by all. Audio-visual equipment was brought in and set up. Long story short, 18 of us walked into the String Bean for an evening dinner meeting and walked out 4 hours later feeling like we’d been taken care of by friends.

The following day, Chad and Chef Carla planned and orchestrated their version of an “Iron Chef” competition at an off-site location. Our department was divided into teams and set about creating dishes with surprise baskets of ingredients. Everyone had a great time cooking together. It was the perfect team-building event.

Chad Hutcheson and Chef Carla created a wonderful event for us. Be sure and check them out when you are in the Charlotte area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The String Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing