We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch, excellent prices, friendly staff”

Fred's Backside Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good lunch, excellent prices, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Over the past 8 years or so while working at various places on Beech Mountain, I have eaten lunch at Fred's on many occasions. I cannot remember a single time that I did feel that I got my money's worth. The sandwiches, soups, salads, and chilli are always excellent. The restaurant is only part of the general store and the shopping after lunch is an extra treat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoneseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“convenient to Beech and not bad food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For a good country breakfast and a break from cooking, Fred's is the only off-season place on Beech. Lunch is OK. They are friendly, could add more flavor to soups. Sandwiches are not bad.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandhopperOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
763 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“We always love Fred's”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not only can you get good food in the deli at a good price but you have the entire general store to shop before and afterward. Fred's has been there for 33 years and is a Beech icon. We were surprised however that on a weekend night in September 2012 they quit serving at 3pm, meaning only breakfast and lunch. So we ended up just having breakfast (waffles, rolls, muffins, etc.) good food at a fair price. Am assuming the close at 3pm is a seasonal thing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good food. And just a really neat place to grab breakfast or lunch.
Always friendly and a lot of early morning activity.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasLuv2Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient inexpensive place to eat when you are staying in Beech Mountain”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband had the Philly Cheese Steak sandwich and I had a Reuben. His sandwich was so so and my Reuben was very good. The day we went it was raining so we couldn't sit out on the back patio, but it looked like it would be nice on a pleasant day (and if you travel with your dog, he can sit out there with you while you eat). We didn't order one, but they did have whole "on site made" pies for about $15 which would be great to take back to your place to enjoy later. Be aware they close middle of the afternoon (we arrived one day around 3 20 and they were already closed)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stilltravellingSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Backside Deli also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fred's Backside Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing