We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, price and units” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pinnacle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beech Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pinnacle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
716 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Excellent location, price and units”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

One recent review put on here it is old and run down. Well, the location of the Pinnacle is high on Beech and exposed to the weather so one would expect the outside paint to be a bit chipped and some wear and tear here and there. But the individually owned units, if you do your homework, are very nice and spacious for the value you pay ($100 a night in the Fall season for a 2 bedroom/2bath). We have stayed here over the years and just this past weekend stayed in unit 3322. Huge deck. Wonderful view. Very nicely decorated. Super comfortable King Bed in master. The complex has indoor pool, 2 indoor hot tubs, pingpong, vending, steam room and sauna and pool table in the recreation complex, all sparkling clean. They have 2 tennis courts, 2 shuffle board courts, numerous outside grills and a nice gravel path from the complex down to the village of Beech/Fred's deli and store/etc, only about a 1/2 mile or less walk. The units, again if you pick right, and the staff and their website will help you pick, are completely stocked (living/dining/deck/TV's/full kitchen/most with washer-dryers and nice furnishings. You have your choice of studio, 1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms/2 baths. I am also always amazed at how nice they keep up the landscaping around the grounds. Yes there are newer condos on Beech, but none with the amenities or the value you get for the space.

Room Tip: 3322 is great for having 2 decks and great view and an end unit. It is far from the indoor pool how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    21
    10
    16
See reviews for
68
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in unit 3120 for Labor Day Weekend. The complex is in a great location, on top of Beech Mountain. There are many things to do on the grounds, including a playground, tennis courts, shuffle board, putt-putt, and hiking trails.
The complex itself is in pretty bad shape. Peeling paint, rust, and mildew all over the outside. We were looking forward to being able to use the indoor pool, because the forecast was for rain, but the pool was tiny and smelled horrible. Even my teen boys didn't want to get back in.
Our unit was decorated very nicely, but it is in bad need of an update. All of the appliances and utilities are old. The main light in the master bedroom didn't work, the porch swing on the balcony had so much peeling paint it stuck to your clothing, and the pipes in the bathroom made a banging noise every time someone upstairs flushed the toilet. After my boys had a snack, I was ready to load their plates in the dishwasher. When I opened it, I realized that it had not been run since the last tenants. There was a persistent "stale" odor in the condo. I tried lighting candles, but it didn't help much. Everything we brought home with us had to be washed, even the clothes we didn't wear. The floor was dirty when we walked in, and the towels were old and did not dry. We ended up using the beach towels we had brought from home to towel off after showering.
Overall, this complex has great possibilities, and maybe if we had stayed in a renovated condo, the outside condition wouldn't have bothered us so bad. But I cannot recommend this unit to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisacraig615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
technogirltx, Manager at The Pinnacle Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. Had you called the front desk we would have been happy to have moved you to a unit of your choice. We could have addressed of your issues and made your stay much more enjoyable. We are aware of the issues with the paint and are addressing them. It rained almost every day from May through mid-August, making painting repairs difficult to accomplish. Please contact the office as we'd like to make this bad experience a better one. We always aim to make our guests happy, no matter what unit they are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beech Mountain hotels

Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This unit 2111 at The Pinnacle was beautiful, with every amenity you could want. We figured you could see the great scenery outside all day, let's opt for the comfortable inside, rather than the view. good choice here! From the granite counters and brand new appliances to the comfy couches and flat screen tvs, this place was nice! The view is just next to the parking lot with the mountains in the distance... With The Pinnacle you need to be sure you're selecting the unit you want as they are all different. The complex is a bit older, but does have an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, pool table, and DVD vending machine which we used. the condo is close by the little town of Beech Mt with fun, hopping pizza place, Fred's Mercantile, which also has great sandwiches and outdoor seating. Banner Elk is a short drive down the mountain. If you're going to ski, it is close by too... Hope you have 4 wheel drive though!

Room Tip: Be sure to carefully look at the photos online when you pick a unit. I looked for updated furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSportsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel that has everything you need nearby. You definatly get what you pay for here. We got upgrades from a 1br to a suite because we were nice New Yorkers and were staying for a birthday / concert!!

A+ would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautiful up on Beech We been going to the Pinnacle since the 80's. In fact my father in law lived up there for 17 yrs. and My husband and brother in law feel in love with Beech and bought a condo 3 yrs ago.You cannot please everyone and and there are people that going to complain.I do advise you to use a 4 wheel drive if you come up when it snowing. Units are equipped with what you need except food and there are some very nice places to eat on Beech and in Banner Elk.

Room Tip: condo's on mt view side are quieter in the winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is my 3rd summer at the Pinnacle, 2nd in unit #4113. This is a first floor unit with long range view of TN mountains, and has been nicely redecorated. Highly recommended, but won't be available from 6/1 to 10/1, as that is MY time. I now consider myself a part time resident, and like the Pinnacle's security and social get-togethers. This unit is a smaller 2-bedroom, but has a washer-dryer unit and everything you really need. It is close to the ski shuttle pick-up point and close to the office, so would be convenient in winter, as you don't have to drive down and around another builing to get to your parking spot.

Room Tip: Room #s help in determining location. First # is building #, second is floor #. Buildings 1 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtngirl1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Pinnacle Inn many times before purchasing a condo there. The Inn was built back in the 60's but so much has been done to keep it up and it is always a work in progress. The staff is so hard working and anxious for you to have a good experience and all you have to do is ask. It is safe for children to play on the playground and leave your windows open at night. The person needing air conditioning must need their home at below 50 degrees. If you are expecting a 5 star resort you will need to pay more than the Pinnacle charges and you will not find a better place on Beech Mtn. Hope you all come and enjoy "God's Country"!!!

Room Tip: Condos with a view of the long range mountains are great. Great resturant on the mountain is Famous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercyangel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beech Mountain
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
11.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Inn

Property: The Pinnacle Inn
Address: 301 Pinnacle Inn Rd, Beech Mountain, NC 28604-7478
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Beech Mountain
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Inn Resort is centered in the northwestern part of North Carolina in the beautiful High Country area. Located in eastern America's highest resort community, Beech Mountain, with unparalleled scenery and abundance of activities make for an exceptional vacation experience. The Pinnacle Inn Resort is a year round resort property with suites as well as one and two bedroom condominiums. All are complete with full kitchens, cozy living rooms, fireplaces, cable TV, and telephone (some with washer/dryer). All of our condominiums are privately owned so they are individual in taste and style. Our All Seasons Center offers an indoor heated pool, two indoor hot tubs, steam room, dry sauna, exercise room, recreation area (including ping pong, pool table, electronic games and more). For your convenience we also have an on-site laundry room. On our spacious grounds are two tennis courts, miniature golf, shuffleboard and playground. For small business meetings, retreats or groups we have a centrally located meeting room and we can provide fax and copy services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain
Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing